We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Inn in Amherst” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lord Jeffery Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lord Jeffery Inn
Ranked #1 of 12 Amherst B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful Inn in Amherst”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

The Lord Jeffrey Inn offers a beautiful place to stay in Amherst with a sense of history. If you are a business (or leisure) traveler who prefers to stay in someplace that is unique, but also has modern amenities and service, this is a great choice. The rooms are clean and well-appointed, the beds are comfortable, the staff is friendly, and the location is convenient, right on the Amherst town green, with easy walking to shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OllieTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WHGGuestService, Manager at Lord Jeffery Inn, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
I’m so glad to read your complimentary review of The Lord Jeffery Inn, and to hear that you are looking forward to staying with us again in the near future. Thank you for choosing The Lord Jeffery Inn. See you again soon!

Best, Amanda Malone Catering Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    78
    24
    11
    14
See reviews for
196
119
22
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manlius, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Very nice stay. Clean facility and convenient location to UMass Amherst. Would highly recommend this hotel. The outside seating area was clean and relaxing and the service was very good. The rooms and the bathroom were very clean. It is also walking distance from shopping, dining and churches.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ppacini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WHGGuestService, Manager at Lord Jeffery Inn, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you for your complimentary review of our hotel. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our accommodations and services throughout your stay. We look forward to your visit the next time you are in Amherst.

Cheers,

Amanda Malone, Catering Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

The beautiful location on the town square in picturesque Amherst is just the beginning. The Lord Jeffrey Inn is beautifully appointed from the welcoming lobby to the comfortable guest rooms. My room was cool, quiet and included a large, elegant bathroom with glassed-in shower. 30Boltwood may be the best place for fine dining in the area, which has plenty of strong contenders. The staff was friendly, gracious and discreet. This is where I'll stay whenever visiting my daughter at UMass-Amherst!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WHGGuestService, Manager at Lord Jeffery Inn, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear Doug,
We very much appreciate you favorable review on your recent experience at The Lord Jeffery Inn and 30Boltwood. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and for thank you for sharing your positive remarks with the Trip Advisor community.
We will look forward to servicing you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Amanda Malone, Catering Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

What a super hotel! Stayed here while dropping my son off at school this fall and had a great experience. It's clean, comfortable, and had great service. The restaurant is fantastic! They had a great wine list and that's coming from a wine snob so I don't often say that. I overheard the servers talking about how important they thought it was to greet their regulars by name! It seems like they have lots of regulars in the hotel and restaurant and I, too am certain to become one as well when I go to visit!

Not a single complaint from me!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Horseymama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WHGGuestService, Manager at Lord Jeffery Inn, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you for joining us at The Lord Jeffery Inn and 30Boltwood, and for sharing such a favorable review on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and dining experiences. With a son attending one of the Five Colleges, we are even happier to hear that you’ll have the opportunity to join us more often. See you on parent’s weekend!

Cheers,
Amanda Malone, Catering Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

We spent 3 nights and had a wonderfully relaxing stay. The location is terrific - right in the heart of a small town. We had several wonderful meals at the on-site restaurant 30Boltwood, which features farm-fresh local fare. The inn is only a few minutes walk away from a generous selection of restaurants, an art cinema playing 4 different movies, a yoga studio, and even a farmer's market on Saturday. The room was spacious and comfortable, with warm wood floors and an area rug, making it feel much more homey and upscale than the standard wall-to-wall carpeting found most everywhere else. The bathroom was sparkling clean, sporting a vintage vibe with white subway tiles and shiny chrome fixtures. The only issue we had was figuring out the power system; in order to be energy efficient, a room key is required to turn on the power. Like any new technology, it seemed to have some temperamental moments but always worked again if we removed and replaced the key. The staff are friendly and helpful, and offered to send someone from maintenance to check out the power just in case there was something amiss. This was but a small annoyance in a overall tremendously enjoyable visit. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank freedomandchocolate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WHGGuestService, Manager at Lord Jeffery Inn, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with The Lord Jeffery Inn and dine at 30Boltwood on your recent visit to Amherst. We also thank you for sharing you most thorough review of your staying, and highlighting how rich in activity our town of Amherst is. We will be sure to pass along your complimentary remarks to our team.

Sincerely,
Amanda Malone, Catering Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

My daughter and I stayed at The Lord Jeffery Inn before I deposited her for her freshman year at UMass/Amherst. Suffice it to say, she love the place so much she didn't want to stay in her dorm! Our room was a double with a separate living area. Great space and beds. The air conditioner was arctic! The room service and dining at the Boltwood were great. The staff at the front desk were very knowledgable about everything from the colleges in the area to apple picking and shopping. It was truly our oasis during a very stressful time. I know where I will be staying whenever I return to Amherst.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pkberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WHGGuestService, Manager at Lord Jeffery Inn, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Congratulations on your daughter’s first year at UMASS. Aside from the school’s location and proximity to the Inn, UMASS has a special place in many of our hearts, being the Alma Mater of quite a few of The Lord Jeffery Inn’s employees. We thank you for choosing to stay at The Lord Jeffery Inn, and for your favorable review of your experience. We look forward to being your oasis over the next four years. Perhaps a graduation party in the Greenhouse Room, May 2017?

Cheers,
Amanda Malone, Catering Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durham, nc
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Lord Jeff in Aug. 2013 and had a wonderful experience. The inn has been beautifully restored. The staff was very friendly and helpful, rooms were lovely and comfortable, bathroom was new and beautiful. We had several meals in the restaurants, 30 Boltwood, enjoyed the food and especially enjoyed sitting outside on the porch.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stokesnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WHGGuestService, Manager at Lord Jeffery Inn, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
We are so pleased to hear of your pleasant experience at the Lord Jeffery Inn and 30Boltwood, and for sharing your thoughts with future travelers.

My favorite part of the Inn is also the front porch; especially on a Saturday, late afternoon. With the fireplace on and a specialty cocktail in hand, it’s the best place for people watching and to witness all the activity of our buzzing little town.

Thank you for joining us. We hope to serve you again in the near future.

Cheers,
Amanda Malone, Catering Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amherst
1.3 mi away
Hotel UMass
Hotel UMass
#1 of 3 in Amherst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
1.4 mi away
Courtyard Hadley Amherst
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley
6.9 mi away
Hotel Northampton
Hotel Northampton
#2 of 5 in Northampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
7.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Springfield Northampton/Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lord Jeffery Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lord Jeffery Inn

Property: Lord Jeffery Inn
Address: 30 Boltwood Ave, Amherst, MA 01002-2344
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Amherst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Amherst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lord Jeffery Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Amherst College campus, the historic Inn is completely renovated and offers modern amenities including wireless Internet and fitness center. Each room includes LCD HD TV & private baths. Local farm to table cuisine is featured at our full service 3 meal a day restaurant and bar. The Library, Rooftop Terrace & exterior Gardens offer unique settings for relaxing or socializing. Ample function space can accommodate 2 to 250. The Inn is dedicated to environmental sustainability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Lord Jeffery Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Jeffery Hotel Amherst
Lord Jeffery Inn Amherst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing