We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding at the Lord Jeff”
Review of Lord Jeffery Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lord Jeffery Inn
Ranked #1 of 12 Amherst B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 April 2014

My daughter's wedding at the Lord Jeff went beautifully. Everyone tried their best to anticipate all of our unforeseen needs. It is a perfect setting for a wedding and our guests had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WHGGuestService, Manager at Lord Jeffery Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Congratulations on your daughter’s recent nuptials! We are thrilled that we could be part of her special day, and that we were able to exceed her expectations. We are also so pleased to hear that you and your guests enjoyed the celebration. (We love weddings!)

All the best wishes,
Amanda Malone, Catering Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (496)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

329 - 335 of 496 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2014

I have stayed at this inn many times over the past 20 years, and always enjoyed the experience. The only issue we had was with parking. There was some type of loud, crowded event going on on the green and parking spots were nowhere to be found. As a guest of the inn, I would think there would be enough spaces set aside for guests, but that was not the case. For the price we paid, that should be a non-issue. Still, our overall stay was very pleasant.

Room Tip: rooms toward the back of the inn are much more quiet than ones facing the green
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlietrisj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WHGGuestService, Manager at Lord Jeffery Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for your continued support of The Lord Jeffery Inn, and for choosing to stay with us upon your visits to Amherst. We sincerely appreciate your loyalty.

Amherst is a bustling little town, isn’t it? On many weekends throughout the spring and summer, our town green is rich with activity, from fundraising carnivals, books sales, to farmers markets and local festivals. While this does put a strain on town parking, the Inn does maintain a dedicated parking lot for our overnight guests. We will be sure to monitor this lot better for the convenience of our own guests.

We thank you again for visiting us, and for your feedback.
Cheers,
Amanda Malone, Catering Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I was staying here courtesy of Hampshire College. I'd stayed here years ago, and the modern updates are great and welcome. The restaurant, also , has nicely upgraded their menú--we had a dinner and 2 breakfasts here--and the food was great (service a little slow on the second breakfast).

But the room I was assigned (309) felt like a monk's chamber in size. "Cozy", but hard to pull down a window shade--no room to comfortably get to the pull chain. Bed was comfortable; bath amenities were great; but only ONE accessible plug in the whole room, and it didn't work with the hairdryer.

The front desk staff were terrific, and it was charming in decor, but unless you feel like channelling your starving inner artist poet, avoid room 309.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tandys_trainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WHGGuestService, Manager at Lord Jeffery Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Thank you for staying with The Lord Jeffery Inn on your last visit to Amherst, and for leaving a review for future travelers. We appreciate your positive remarks on the cuisine in 30Boltwood, and will be sure to review our staffing procedures during breakfast service to be sure that we are meeting all the needs and expectations of our guests.

We also thank you for your remarks on our overnight interiors. As an Inn that was built in 1926, we have many of the unique qualities being a historic inn. One of which is that each of our rooms has distinct characteristics. No two rooms are alike, some having unexpected stair cases, cozy quarters, and unique architecture. Upon your next visit, please feel free to talk further with our front desk agents, who will be more than happy to personally assist you and your guests in finding the right room that can satisfy all of your needs.

We will look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,
Amanda Malone, Catering Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We had my daughter's bridal shower here and I stayed at the Inn. Staff was very helpful, the sun room was beautiful and the Inn was clean and comfortable. We had vegetarian meals that were delicious and the service was incredible. It was like stepping back in time with modern conveniences. I would recommend the Lord Jeffrey Inn in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WHGGuestService, Manager at Lord Jeffery Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Dear Claire,
Thank you for choosing The Lord Jeffery Inn to host your daughter’s special event! We’re honored that you selected the Inn as the location to host her special day, and are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your experience, start to finish. Best of luck with the rest of the wedding plans! Perhaps we’ll see you back in a few years for a baby shower?

Cheers,
Amanda Malone, Catering Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We were visiting Amherst as part of a college tour of Western New England. I chose the Lord Jeffrey for it's proximity to several colleges, and why not stay in a classic New England Inn when you are in New England. The Lord Jeffrey was a pleasant surprise. The common spaces are elegant and spacious. The lounge with a fire burning was the perfect place for a libation after several walkabouts around college's. I booked a suite thinking the teenage daughter and I would need some space as we spent our days together and we both agree we had more space than we needed! A lovely large bedroom, a very pleasant sitting area with two queen anne chairs by the large windows looking down on Amherst college from which I sipped coffee and watched the most beautiful sunrise in the morning. It was all we needed but we also had a small living room with sofa and television! The service was professional but friendly. We had two meals in the Boltwood Restaurant, a fast lunch and a leisurely dinner. Both were superb. Gourmet food beautifully presented, nothing ye olde inn about it. A great stay, and if all goes well, an inn I hope to return to again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosiesgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WHGGuestService, Manager at Lord Jeffery Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Thank you choosing to stay and dine with The Lord Jeffery Inn on your recent visit to Amherst. Fingers crossed that Amherst will stay on the top of the application list, and you’ll have the opportunity to visit us again over the next few years. We appreciate your positive remarks on our interiors, staff, and cuisine, and thank you for sharing those remarks with future travelers and college tour families.

Best of luck with the rest of the tours and the application process! We hope to see you again soon.

All our best,
Amanda Malone, Catering Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Or maybe the only place…in this small town.
An amazing inn with all the accommodations,a classy atmosphere and warm friendly staff.
Next to Amherst campus.Your top choice if you are visiting the college.
Free wifi.Great common room.Enjoy a coffee and read your newspaper next to the fireplace.
I loved it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IoaMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WHGGuestService, Manager at Lord Jeffery Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

“The place to stay,” with a bold “THE.” We love to hear this, and that you enjoyed everything about your stay! Isn’t the library a great space for coffee and the paper? On any given Saturday morning, you can walk into the library and have all the seats full, but still remain so quiet! We happy to see our guests enjoy all the different spaces the Inn has to offer to them.

Thank you again for all of your remarks; we look forward to hosting you again on your next visit to the area.

Cheers,
Amanda Malone, Catering Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

This Inn has a classic feel and right on the campus on Amherst College. Everyone was warm and friendly. It had a few too many antiques for my teenager's taste, but I found it very comfortable. Breakfast was a little more involved then I would have liked and the coffee in the lobby, while a nice touch, was cold. That and an unannounced visit from housekeeping took our review down a notch, but otherwise this is a lovely place.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathymommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WHGGuestService, Manager at Lord Jeffery Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Dear Kathy,
Thank you for your positive remarks on our interiors, as well as for your constructive feedback regarding your experience during your stay. We appreciate your commentary, as feedback such as yours helps us pinpoint areas that may need improvement. We’ll be sure to review our procedures and practices with our front desk and housekeeping teams to be sure we are giving our guests the best service possible.

Thank you for visiting The Lord Jeffery Inn. We look forward to serving you again in the future (this time with hot coffee!).

Cheers,
Amanda Malone, Catering Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amherst
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Hadley Amherst
1.3 mi away
Hotel UMass
Hotel UMass
#1 of 3 in Amherst
471 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Hotel Northampton
Hotel Northampton
#2 of 5 in Northampton
447 reviews
7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Springfield Northampton/Amherst
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lord Jeffery Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lord Jeffery Inn

Address: 30 Boltwood Ave, Amherst, MA 01002-2344
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Amherst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Amherst
Price Range: £122 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lord Jeffery Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Amherst College campus, the historic Inn is completely updated to offer modern amenities including wireless Internet and fitness center. Each room includes LCD HD TV & private baths. Local farm-to-table cuisine is featured at our full service 3 meal a day restaurant and bar, 30Boltwood. The library, rooftop terrace and exterior gardens offer unique settings for relaxing or socializing. Ample function space can accommodate 2 to 200. The Inn is dedicated to environmental sustainability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Lord Jeffery Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Jeffery Hotel Amherst
Lord Jeffery Inn Amherst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing