We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time for an overhaul at the Lord Jeff”
Review of Lord Jeffery Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lord Jeffery Inn
Ranked #1 of 12 Amherst B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2007

We have just returned from a weekend at the Lord Jeffrrey. We stayed in a king suite, which was a large room, but the bed was lumpy, there was construction noise from a site just behind the hotel, and there was no AC, despite a mid-May heatwave.

The manager was nice enough to take 10% off the total room price, but we didn't sleep at all the first night, and the second night were awakened by the construction site noise.

The Holiday Inn Express, despite its location on Rte. 9, and general blandness, is starting to look good for the money, which is a shame, because with a top to bottom renovation, the Lord Jeff could become again, the best place in town.

Stayed: May 2007
2  Thank WWK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (496)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

483 - 489 of 496 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2007

We had our wedding at the Lord Jeffery Inn in 2006 and it was an amazing and very easy experience!!! The wedding coordinator and entire staff bent over backwards to make the wedding as easy and smooth as possible. They were attentive, flexible, and affordable -- even during high season (June).

The Inn is very charming and in a perfect location for guests to explore downtown Amherst without having to drive. The food was outstanding, the Inn was lovely, and the entire experience was amazing. All my guests had a wonderful time. I cannot recommend it enough. I saw a complaining review from the previous year, so I just had to post my very positive experience.

Good for a charming weekend in the Berkshires, perfect location, good food and good service!

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank gtaphilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2006

I'm always looking for great places to stay when traveling solo with my dog and this place is wonderful. Right on the Common (a nice, dog-friendly park in the middle of the town of Amherst) even though the street traffic can be a bit busy. Perfect location for walking around Amherst (also quite pet-friendly) and checking out the local sights, like the Emily Dickenson Homestead - which is well worth a visit, even if dogs aren't allowed in. At the Lord Jeffrey Inn, our room was lovely and comfortable and on check-out, the hotel sales manager invited my dog into her office for a treat.

  • Stayed: October 2005, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susanscotfry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WHGGuestService, Guest Services at Lord Jeffery Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2015

Thank you so much for your positive feedback about your stay. However, this review from 2006 contains information about our pet policy that no longer exists. Please be advised that we do not allow pets at the Inn. For more information, please visit our website.

Thank you!
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Longmeadow, MA
111
Reviewed 3 March 2006

Had my wedding reception here last summer. No complaints on the Inn, rooms, or food. The food at the reception turned out way above our expections. But really disliked the upper management, specifically: innkeeper, wedding/event planner, and the financial director. Very poorly managed and unorganized. Think twice about having your reception here!! I have heard similar opinions from others as well.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2005

Traditional inn with all the pluses and maybe minuses for some folks that means.Great location,very pretty,near restaurants and shops and with its own good restaurant and also more informal "pub" on site.Food excellent.Clean and comfortable.Staff maybe could be a bit more friendly and just the hint that perhaps the wedding trade is what they really prefer here.Overall,I liked it and would stay again for a day or two and would recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank dongola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
New York, NY
112
Reviewed 5 October 2005

While planning our trip to Amherst, I was a bit apprehensive about booking a room at the Lord Jeffery Inn, considering the comments I found on this website. However, I was in the area looking at colleges with my son, and the Lord Jeff was highly recommended by Amherst College, so I decided to take my chances. I am happy to say that I was nothing but pleased with our room, the staff, and our overall experience we had at this lovely New England Inn. Not only were the rooms darling, the restaurant was great, and the staff--both front desk and dining-- were so welcoming and helpful. I would return without question. Excellent place! Keep up the great work!

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2005

We have just returned from a weekend at the Lord Jeffery Inn. I would not recommend staying here because we felt unwelcomed by the staff. We were there for a wedding. The desk staff were callous and rude even to the point of harassing to the bride and groom, and their guests. One desk staff member even tried to harass the bride right before their ceremony started. They seemed unwilling (or unwanting) to accomodate their guests. They never greeted their guests with a good morning, good afternoon, or a good anything. Someone should tell them that they are in the hospitality business and that hospitality should always be extended to those visiting.

The Room itself felt old and dirty. Our's was on the 3rd floor, down a long hallway, next to the room that held the copier. Not very homey! Although the room was large, the air condition was not adequate for its size.

Public spaces were nice. There was a comfy seating area in the foyer. 4 white rocking chairs were placed on the porch lending a perfect respite after strolling the Amherst area. The outdoor tented area that the wedding reception was held in was quite beautiful. And thankfully, the catering staff was wonderful.

The Inn is located in a nice location of Amherst. The Saturday farmer's market was right across the street.

With some personnel changes and a few updates, the Lord Jeffery Inn would be a much better place to spend some time. Until then, Avoid it!

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank jeffmylene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amherst
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Hadley Amherst
1.3 mi away
Hotel UMass
Hotel UMass
#1 of 3 in Amherst
471 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Hotel Northampton
Hotel Northampton
#2 of 5 in Northampton
447 reviews
7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Springfield Northampton/Amherst
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lord Jeffery Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lord Jeffery Inn

Address: 30 Boltwood Ave, Amherst, MA 01002-2344
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Amherst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Amherst
Price Range: £123 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lord Jeffery Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Amherst College campus, the historic Inn is completely updated to offer modern amenities including wireless Internet and fitness center. Each room includes LCD HD TV & private baths. Local farm-to-table cuisine is featured at our full service 3 meal a day restaurant and bar, 30Boltwood. The library, rooftop terrace and exterior gardens offer unique settings for relaxing or socializing. Ample function space can accommodate 2 to 200. The Inn is dedicated to environmental sustainability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Lord Jeffery Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Jeffery Hotel Amherst
Lord Jeffery Inn Amherst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing