We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting good value stay...”
Review of Hotel UMass

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel UMass
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Amherst
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 26 December 2011

This hotel suited us well. In a tower block in the middle of campus with a wide range of student facilities and the bustle of students all around. But a serious good quality comfortable place to stay. reception staff were particularly pleasant and a wide range of places to eat in and around. I liked the feel of Amherst as a town. To a European much of the experience seemed the best of small town America - a really pleasant and friendly community. The local library - once frequented by Robert Frost - was a really attractive and welcoming community facility. Location suited us and the hotel was great for our purposes.

Room Tip: Al rooms quiet and most seemed to have good views..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DDonSco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (471)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

405 - 411 of 471 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2011

Staff, as one would expect at a Hotel Management School facility, are extremely pleasant and helpful. The rooms are clean and the facility as a whole are very comfortable.
Some deficiencies:
1. no wireless network access. They do provide an ethernet cable and plug-in access but if you have a mobile device, like an iPad, you're out of luck. Also, the login and verification process was irksome for the cabled connection.
2. while there are HD TV's hung from the walls, the cable service was not HD quality, using analog video and stretching it to fit the HD screen format.
3. The clearance between the botom of the door to the room and floor is substantial, about 1.5". This means that sound from the corridor easily enters the room. Soundproofing is an issue not only from the corridor but from adjacent rooms.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank igufn_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2011

Reasonably priced and convenient home base for college visits at Smith, Amherst and Hampshire Colleges

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bbilderback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

I have stayed here twice in the last 4 yrs during technical conferences in October. Renovations occurred a few years back, so the rooms are modern and clean. Bedroom area is fine with an ethernet cable for (not wireless) Internet. Windows can open! Bathrooms are very small but the shower is great, well lighted and roomy. Front desk service is very good and they have a simple but decent continental breakfast. Not that I am a TV nut, but the TV reception and remote response are feeble. It looks like a nice HD TV, but the picture is pretty bad and the remote has a time lag. And this has been the case in different rooms and different dates.

A big plus is that the hotel is dead center in campus and easy to get anywhere. If you want to go into Amherst, you do need a car.

All in all a good place, only suggestion would be to get wireless and find another cable TV supplier.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krtman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Small bathroom. Nice continental breakfast. We were visitng our son and the historic October 2011 Nor' easter struck during our visit. Loss of power was only for 10 hours since the University has its own power plant. Staff delivered flashlights and extra blankets to our room. Will certainly stay there again. Many employees are college students studying Hotel Management - they are GREAT!

Room Tip: Book early to get a room, any room. Since it is in the center of the UMass campus, they fill up ear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

The hotel was convenient. We lost power. They charged me for a replacement parking ticket at the desk. They were reluctant to find out information about roads and airports and unless you asked, they were not going to extend checkout till 3pm. The students running it were sullen and did not extend themselves. The glowing, golden exception to the rule was a STUDENT NAMED AMY WHO WAS TERRIFIC. Patient, sympathetic, etc. The Asian girls running the night desk on the 28th and 30th should be fired.I was there for a conference. The conference organizers were heroic.
The University needs to work seriously with people skills for the students in this program. Despite the hardship of no power, dealing with a pleasant, accommodating staff would have helped ease things.

Room Tip: Go there when the children are not running the place. The grown-ups were helpful, kind, and accomoda...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sweetiedoris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

We stayed at UMass Hotel at the Campus Center last weekend. The room had a cozy decor and a nice, roomy bathroom, but the two double size mattresses were both very uncomfortable. My husband slept on the soft, saggy bed. I chose the bed that felt like a very hard wooden table. I asked for several blankets and an extra mattress pad. The staff kindly brought all the blankets to the door. I folded the blankets in half and created a soft pad to lie on. I would not stay at UMass Hotel again, but I did not rate the room "terrible" because the staff was very thoughtful and concerned.
Another problem was the walls are very thin. We could hear conversation and music in the room next to us.

Room Tip: Just don't go if you have a sensitive back. This is a good hotel for teenagers and people in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elarbolita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
umasshotel123, General Manager at Hotel UMass, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2011

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay here at the UMass Hotel. I am pleased to hear that your experience with our staff was a pleasant and helpful one. We attempt to provide our customers with excellent service. I am disappointed to hear about your experience with the mattresses in the room. Each room has an 8” foam mattress and all have been recently installed. I will look into the situation further. I hope that you allow us another chance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amherst
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley
2.1 mi away
Courtyard Hadley Amherst
5.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in Hadley
184 reviews
7.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Springfield Northampton/Amherst
7.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 5 in Northampton
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel UMass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel UMass

Address: 1 Campus Center Way, University of Massachusetts, Amherst, MA 01003-9243 (Formerly Campus Center Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Amherst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Amherst
Price Range: £92 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel UMass 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rated the best hotel in Amherst, and seated in the center of the picturesque UMass Amherst campus, Hotel UMass blends a tranquil countryside escape with the bustling energy of campus life, making it your ideal destination when staying in the area. During your stay at Hotel UMass, you will have access to the distinctive cultural atmosphere of one of the nation’s top universities, while remaining only minutes to historic downtown Amherst, allowing you to discover the magic of the Pioneer Valley. The breathtaking views from your guestroom alone will allow you to appreciate the natural beauty of scenic New England.During your stay, you will enjoy first-class accommodations and exceptional service. We offer university guests, conference attendees, parents, students, local and corporate travelers and alumni an exceptional Hotel UMass experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel UMass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umass Hotel At The Campus Amherst
Campus Center Amherst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing