We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Umass Hotel - loved it.”
Review of Hotel UMass

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel UMass
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Amherst
GreenLeadersSilver level
Brooklyn, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Umass Hotel - loved it.”
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We stayed here for the UMass Accepted Students Day. Lovely room, very comfortable beds, great view, nice staff, continental breakfast included (good coffee!). Only complaints- we were 3 rooms away from the elevators and could still hear them. Also, very thin walls - you could hear a conversation next door. Luckily, there were no parties or rowdiness while we were there. Overall, if you are visiting the campus, this can't be beat.

Room Tip: Away from the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flatbushfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    168
    61
    11
    7
See reviews for
208
49
22
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamptons, NY
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Stayed overnight while visiting UMass. We found the hotel comfortable, clean, and well appointed. The walls are thin, you will hear people in the other rooms. Overall, it was a great value and a very convenient. The included breakfast is a nice touch, your standard continental fare. It's the perfect place to stay for business or visiting on the campus, but I would not plan a weekend getaway here :).

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hamptons4Health
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
umasshotel123, Manager at Hotel UMass, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
I’m pleased you took the time to let us know about your recent stay at the UMass Hotel. I’m glad you enjoyed the continental breakfast, we are always happy to provide a little something extra for our guest.
Sincerely,
David O'Connor, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Convenient location, modern, comfortable rooms, excellent service, reasonable price.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMA017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
umasshotel123, Manager at Hotel UMass, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Thanks for the taking the time to tell us about your stay! Hope to see you back soon!
Sincerely,
David O'Connor, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern NJ
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Recently stayed here overnight with my son when touring U Mass. We picked this hotel because of its convenient location, but it was such a pleasant surprise.

The room was clean and seemingly brand new. Although it was a little small, it was perfectly fine for our overnight stay. The staff was very nice and despite a short delay at check-in, we couldn't have been happier.

The chocolate chip cookies and coffee waiting in the lobby during check-in were a nice touch and the included breakfast was a good unexpected perk. U Mass labeled bottled water was much appreciated. The attached {and included} underground parking was wonderful.

If we had not had to wait to check-in, this would have been a 5 star review. If U Mass is in our future, this hotel will definitely be our go to spot!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank starbabytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
umasshotel123, Manager at Hotel UMass, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
I apologize that you had a delay in checking in and thank you for your patience. I am very pleased that you were able to enjoy the rest of your stay. Hopefully your son enjoyed himself too and we will see you this summer!
Sincerely,
David O'Connor, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Bedford, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 22 February 2012

This was our 4th visit to the hotel. We were thrilled to have room service now available. The food was good at a reasonable price. We attended the basketball game. Great time at the Mullins even though it was a 1 point loss, and the only home loss this season:(
The lobby has a nice breakfast offering included in your stay. It's nice to eat something besides the DC food with our son! Wish the pond water fountains were still operating....perhaps the number of geese has to do with it?

Room Tip: I like the pond facing rooms better. The sun does beat in however. Keep the shades closed if you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teachwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
umasshotel123, Manager at Hotel UMass, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
It was such a close game! I want to thank you for your loyalty by staying with us 4 times. We love to see parents when they come back, and we feel like they are part of our family too.
Sincerely,
David O'Connor, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

in the heart of the U Mass campus - can't be any closer if you have a reason to be on campus. 10 minute drive to downtown Amherst and Amherst college; 20 minutes to Northampton and Smith.

the building is 60's brutalist poured concrete (what were they thinking?) thats been rennovated recently. lobby is modern and - I thought - attractive. room is also recently redone, good size. bathroom cramped but modern (floor to ceiling glass shower stall, trendy fixtures). liked it.

takes a while to come and go - short walk to gararge, drive around 3 levels to get out.

breakfast below average in quantity, quality and space. only one PC in the lobby (but there is wifi)

Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
umasshotel123, Manager at Hotel UMass, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear Familly44444,
I want to thank you for your letting us know about your recent stay with us. I hope we will have the pleasure of your company in the future. Again thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience so we may continue to improve the quality of our guests’ experiences.
Sincerely,
David O'Connor, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jefferson, Maine
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 February 2012

The hotel was clean, stylish, comfortable and the staff could not have been nicer or more professional. My stay was exceptional. We came for a concert at the Mullins Center, got the room for a low bargain rate on a promotional deal, and enjoyed not only our stay - but also seeing the beautiful town and impressive campus.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebbieD1117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amherst
2.1 mi away
Courtyard Hadley Amherst
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in Hadley
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Amherst Hadley
2.9 mi away
Econo Lodge Hadley
Econo Lodge Hadley
#5 of 7 in Hadley
141 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel UMass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel UMass

Property: Hotel UMass
Address: 1 Campus Center Way, University of Massachusetts, Amherst, MA 01003-9243 (Formerly Campus Center Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Amherst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Amherst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel UMass 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rated the best hotel in Amherst, and seated in the center of the picturesque UMass Amherst campus, Hotel UMass blends a tranquil countryside escape with the bustling energy of campus life, making it your ideal destination when staying in the area. During your stay at Hotel UMass, you will have access to the distinctive cultural atmosphere of one of the nation’s top universities, while remaining only minutes to historic downtown Amherst, allowing you to discover the magic of the Pioneer Valley. The breathtaking views from your guestroom alone will allow you to appreciate the natural beauty of scenic New England.During your stay, you will enjoy first-class accommodations and exceptional service. We offer university guests, conference attendees, parents, students, local and corporate travelers and alumni an exceptional Hotel UMass experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel UMass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umass Hotel At The Campus Amherst
Campus Center Amherst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing