We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent value for money”
Review of Hotel UMass

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel UMass
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Amherst
GreenLeadersSilver level
india
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“excellent value for money”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

stayed here for 6 nights while dropping my son to university.the people at the reception are simply awesome, willing to solve any problem thats put forward.the rooms spotlessly clean,a good bed and the bathroom competes with the room with regards to cleanliness.a simple but tasty breakfast, all in all value for money .will surely stay again if we do visit again

Green Features: the green initiative in this hotel rocks! pl keep it up
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vivektigershark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
umasshotel123, Front Office Manager at Hotel UMass, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear Vivektigershark,
We want to thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience at Hotel UMass. We are so pleased that our staff was able to assist you during your stay. We very much look forward to seeing you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    168
    61
    11
    7
See reviews for
208
49
22
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 23 September 2013

While dropping our daughter off at UMASS, a hotel situated in the middle of campus seemed like a good 'option'. However, that 'option' turned out to be one of the "MOST PLEASANT" hotel stays we have had.

The UMASS hotel excels in all aspects of "hospitality" and sets a high bar for standards. The rooms were very comfortable, impeccably clean and service was par excellence. All staff at the hotel, including student employees, exuded a high degree of professionalism and were extremely helpful, courteous and attentive to our requests.

Ideally located,

There is no question in our minds that we will stay at the same hotel, whenever, visiting the area next.

Room Tip: Once the construction of new classrooms, is complete, rooms facing campus pond are highly recommende...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haider N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
umasshotel123, Front Office Manager at Hotel UMass, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear Haider N,
We want to thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience at Hotel UMass. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay; we very much look forward to seeing you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accra, Ghana
1 review
Reviewed 16 September 2013

The hotel was very clean and well maintained , the staff were very helpful we were able to get a meal at the very modern university eatery as late as 10pm.just had to go downstairs without having to go out. Very very convenient . Very good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gracias65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
umasshotel123, Front Office Manager at Hotel UMass, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear Gracias65,
Thank you for your wonderful review of the hotel. I am so happy you enjoyed your stay and thank you for thinking of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

Great experience at very good value.very enthusiastic and helpful staff.made the move in experience for my daughter very comfortable.the campus location is an added advantage.clean and spacious rooms make the stay very pleasant

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArchanaJainGupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
umasshotel123, Front Office Manager at Hotel UMass, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear ArchanaJainGupta,

Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel. I am so happy you enjoyed your stay. We were so glad to have you with us and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We had a good experience when we stayed at the hotel during the college move in. The rooms very clean and modern and well maintained especially the bathrooms. The staff was friendly and courteous. There is coffee in the lobby pretty much throughout the day.

The WiFi in the rooms is very patchy and could be irritating however the reception is good in the lobby area. It is provided as a 'no guarantee service' which is surprising. The breakfast area is very small and can become crowded in the peak times in the morning. This could be moved to another area in the lobby where there is plenty of space.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Worldtraveller201346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
umasshotel123, Front Office Manager at Hotel UMass, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear Worldtraveller2D1,
I thank you very much for taking the time to let us know about your experiences at our hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and again thank you for your review. Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerville, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I stayed at the UMass hotel because I was getting married in the area. We had saved rooms at other hotels, but when we saw the UMass rooms, we knew it was where we wanted us, and our guests, to stay. The rooms are modern and very comfortable. The staff was extremely helpful and accommodating to our group. I would recommend anyone who needs a hotel in the area to stay at UMass.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
umasshotel123, Front Office Manager at Hotel UMass, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear Andy V,
I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I thank you for taking the time to let us know about your visit Ivery much look forward to seeing you back soon. Best of luck to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This was the second time that I have stayed at the UMass Hotel. Both times the rooms were very clean and the staff was very friendly. It's in the heart of campus and the views can be great (when you aren't facing the construction). I was worried about the construction being loud, but we didn't hear a thing from it. Starting graduate school here for the next ~4 years, and my family will definitely be staying here in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephaniemoe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
umasshotel123, Front Office Manager at Hotel UMass, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear Stephaniemoe1,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of our hotel. I am so pleased you enjoyed yourself and I very much look forward to having you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amherst
2.1 mi away
Courtyard Hadley Amherst
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in Hadley
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Amherst Hadley
2.9 mi away
Econo Lodge Hadley
Econo Lodge Hadley
#6 of 7 in Hadley
141 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel UMass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel UMass

Property: Hotel UMass
Address: 1 Campus Center Way, University of Massachusetts, Amherst, MA 01003-9243 (Formerly Campus Center Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Amherst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Amherst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel UMass 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rated the best hotel in Amherst, and seated in the center of the picturesque UMass Amherst campus, Hotel UMass blends a tranquil countryside escape with the bustling energy of campus life, making it your ideal destination when staying in the area. During your stay at Hotel UMass, you will have access to the distinctive cultural atmosphere of one of the nation’s top universities, while remaining only minutes to historic downtown Amherst, allowing you to discover the magic of the Pioneer Valley. The breathtaking views from your guestroom alone will allow you to appreciate the natural beauty of scenic New England.During your stay, you will enjoy first-class accommodations and exceptional service. We offer university guests, conference attendees, parents, students, local and corporate travelers and alumni an exceptional Hotel UMass experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel UMass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umass Hotel At The Campus Amherst
Campus Center Amherst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing