We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“why stay anywhere else?”
Review of Hotel UMass

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel UMass
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Amherst
GreenLeadersSilver level
Penngrove, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“why stay anywhere else?”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

This is a delightful place! I thought it would be dull and dreary-dorm style, but it was anything but! Given the comfort and convenience, I can't imagine why anyone would stay anywhere else if you want to absorb UMass vibes, which we did. And, close to the main drag with great restaurant options.

Room Tip: all fine. Free refreshments at check-in and breakfast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    167
    61
    11
    7
See reviews for
207
49
21
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toledo, OH
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

First Class staff and very nice and conveniently located Hotel. Comfortable beds. Quick Elevators. Clean rooms. Nice coffee and tea amenities. comfortable work desk. Windows open from top which is nice if you like some fresh air which I do.

Green Features: Recycle bins in room for paper. Drinking water bottles provided free. Notices about water conservation posted clearly in bathroom
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Gus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
182 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Rooms are clean and modern. Staff is EXTREMELY friendly and accommodating. Got room service which arrived quickly. Located right on the campus which is convenient. A bit confusing to get here if you've never been here before but we got it done.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Bankguy1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laconia, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

I was up visiting my son and stayed at the hotel on campus. What a great property the rooms are very well appointed with all the amenities you could ask for and the bathroom is very sharp and the room was very clean. The check-in was very quick and they touched upon all the points you need to know about the hotel. The breakfast was very fresh and an excellent selection and staff there to clean up and refresh. Already have my room booked for graduation this year! Great

Room Tip: I have been there a few times all the rooms are well appointed with views of the campus and it is UM...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 February 2014

I've had business once or twice a year at UMass Amherst for the past 12 years, and Hotel UMass has only gotten better during that time. The rooms were completely updated a couple years back and the standard of service is impeccable. Desk staff always greet me cheerfully and by name, and the breakfast has fresh fruit and wonderful baked goods, along with the best hotel coffee I've had anywhere, which was refreshing. The rooms are very clean and the beds are quite comfortable. If you have business on campus, Hotel UMass won't disappoint.

Green Features: local and organic food--awesome. A pet peeve: Almost every hotel I stay in suggests that you can save water by hanging your towels to indicate you'll re-use them but none follow through, including Hotel UMass--we got all fresh towels every day.
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holbrook, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Another great visit at this hotel. You are greeted with a smile from the moment you enter the building until the moment you leave. Everyone is professional and accommodating. The complimentary coffee, beverages and breakfast is also wonderful. The rooms are clean and spacious. The bed was comfortable too. I have stayed at the Marriott and the Holiday Inn Express before and they are nothing in comparison to UMASS Hotel. Hope to be back again soon!!
Special thanks to Ms. Allen for taking the time to make sure everyone is satisfied with their stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CruGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
262 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I went to Amherst to drop my son for his education. Somebody told me to book umass hotel as it is situated right inside the umass campus. I did so and it was not a wrong choice at all. I was surprised to see that rooms are spacious. Although bathroom is a bit small, but that is fine as long as it is clean. The rooms were also very clean, the best thing is that if you have business or work in umass, then it's just the perfect place to stay as the other hotels like holiday inn express are a little outside a few kilometers away, which can make you lazy if you want to come to the town specially in the winters as it's all snow everywhere. The reception area is very nice, breakfast is average, as they don't have a kitchen inside so they just offer a few basic things. But with the price you pay, that is fine. Whoever, they are trying to work out on the breakfast to upgrade the quality which can be another additional plus point for the hotel on a later stage. The staff is very nice, mostly the students from the university are working a part time and they are very helpful with the guests. Overall, my experience was very good as I stayed there for four days first and went to New York for a day and then came back stayed anther three days. It's just perfect place to stay in a small town like Amherst.

Room Tip: Try to get the Room at a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amherst
2.1 mi away
Courtyard Hadley Amherst
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in Hadley
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst
2.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Amherst Hadley
2.9 mi away
Econo Lodge Hadley
Econo Lodge Hadley
#5 of 7 in Hadley
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel UMass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel UMass

Property: Hotel UMass
Address: 1 Campus Center Way, University of Massachusetts, Amherst, MA 01003-9243 (Formerly Campus Center Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Amherst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Amherst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel UMass 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rated the best hotel in Amherst, and seated in the center of the picturesque UMass Amherst campus, Hotel UMass blends a tranquil countryside escape with the bustling energy of campus life, making it your ideal destination when staying in the area. During your stay at Hotel UMass, you will have access to the distinctive cultural atmosphere of one of the nation’s top universities, while remaining only minutes to historic downtown Amherst, allowing you to discover the magic of the Pioneer Valley. The breathtaking views from your guestroom alone will allow you to appreciate the natural beauty of scenic New England.During your stay, you will enjoy first-class accommodations and exceptional service. We offer university guests, conference attendees, parents, students, local and corporate travelers and alumni an exceptional Hotel UMass experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel UMass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umass Hotel At The Campus Amherst
Campus Center Amherst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing