We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room and great service”
Review of Hotel UMass

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel UMass
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Amherst
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 6 March 2014

The staff was very friendly and welcoming, the service comes with a little extras here and there: fruit all day long, cookies and coffee as well and the breakfast is simple but very good! Our room faced to the North which was nice since there was construction work going on on the south side. The desk chair was highly comfortable!

Room Tip: our room was facing north, there was construction work going on on the south side. other than that p...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MRGW2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (464)
There are newer reviews for Hotel UMass
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 464 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2014

This is a delightful place! I thought it would be dull and dreary-dorm style, but it was anything but! Given the comfort and convenience, I can't imagine why anyone would stay anywhere else if you want to absorb UMass vibes, which we did. And, close to the main drag with great restaurant options.

Room Tip: all fine. Free refreshments at check-in and breakfast!
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

First Class staff and very nice and conveniently located Hotel. Comfortable beds. Quick Elevators. Clean rooms. Nice coffee and tea amenities. comfortable work desk. Windows open from top which is nice if you like some fresh air which I do.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Gus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Rooms are clean and modern. Staff is EXTREMELY friendly and accommodating. Got room service which arrived quickly. Located right on the campus which is convenient. A bit confusing to get here if you've never been here before but we got it done.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank Bankguy1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

I was up visiting my son and stayed at the hotel on campus. What a great property the rooms are very well appointed with all the amenities you could ask for and the bathroom is very sharp and the room was very clean. The check-in was very quick and they touched upon all the points you need to know about the hotel. The breakfast was very fresh and an excellent selection and staff there to clean up and refresh. Already have my room booked for graduation this year! Great

Room Tip: I have been there a few times all the rooms are well appointed with views of the campus and it is UM...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

I've had business once or twice a year at UMass Amherst for the past 12 years, and Hotel UMass has only gotten better during that time. The rooms were completely updated a couple years back and the standard of service is impeccable. Desk staff always greet me cheerfully and by name, and the breakfast has fresh fruit and wonderful baked goods, along with the best hotel coffee I've had anywhere, which was refreshing. The rooms are very clean and the beds are quite comfortable. If you have business on campus, Hotel UMass won't disappoint.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Another great visit at this hotel. You are greeted with a smile from the moment you enter the building until the moment you leave. Everyone is professional and accommodating. The complimentary coffee, beverages and breakfast is also wonderful. The rooms are clean and spacious. The bed was comfortable too. I have stayed at the Marriott and the Holiday Inn Express before and they are nothing in comparison to UMASS Hotel. Hope to be back again soon!!
Special thanks to Ms. Allen for taking the time to make sure everyone is satisfied with their stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CruGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amherst
2.1 mi away
Courtyard Hadley Amherst
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley
5.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in Hadley
179 reviews
2.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Amherst Hadley
7.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Springfield Northampton/Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel UMass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel UMass

Address: 1 Campus Center Way, University of Massachusetts, Amherst, MA 01003-9243 (Formerly Campus Center Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Amherst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Amherst
Price Range: £105 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel UMass 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rated the best hotel in Amherst, and seated in the center of the picturesque UMass Amherst campus, Hotel UMass blends a tranquil countryside escape with the bustling energy of campus life, making it your ideal destination when staying in the area. During your stay at Hotel UMass, you will have access to the distinctive cultural atmosphere of one of the nation’s top universities, while remaining only minutes to historic downtown Amherst, allowing you to discover the magic of the Pioneer Valley. The breathtaking views from your guestroom alone will allow you to appreciate the natural beauty of scenic New England.During your stay, you will enjoy first-class accommodations and exceptional service. We offer university guests, conference attendees, parents, students, local and corporate travelers and alumni an exceptional Hotel UMass experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel UMass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umass Hotel At The Campus Amherst
Campus Center Amherst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing