We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal, quaint setting”

The University Club
Ranked #44 of 116 Restaurants in Amherst
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great meal, quaint setting”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Quaint New England feel in classic home from 18th century. Excellent soup and salad, very interesting appetizers (loved the avocado fries), and the main course...flat iron steak...was also very good and tasty. Overall very good place!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Traveler from M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    9
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amherst, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Quaint New England restaurant--best food on campus”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

I work at UMass and have gone to the University Club for lunch for decades along with occasional dinners. The current hostess is extremely cordial and welcoming and has bent over backwards when we bring my 95-year-old mother-in-law for dinner to make sure Mom has a good time. Private table, sometimes room. Makes salt-free crab cakes especially for her if I give her 24 hours notice. The menu changes regularly with the seasons--for lunch there are always salads to which you can add protein and a good range of sandwiches. There are also some items always on the menu. The hamburger and the Stockbridge club are good but the crab cakes are to die for--even when they are mini's for a reception still moist and tasty. The wait staff are students. The prices are reasonable, especially given they use linen. In the summer on most Friday nights they have an inexpensive buffet/barbecue, sometimes with live music.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
116 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“nice lobster cakes in an old establishment”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

It is worth coming to this place just for the fact that it is a part of the UMASS history. However, the food is very nice, in particular the lobster cakes. Staff are friendly and courteous.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank S C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT, USA
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Why not open on weekends?”
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We enjoyed dinner at this small venue on a week day and were surprised to learn that it is closed weekends (when most parents are visiting the area)

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank travlelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amherst, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
298 reviews
212 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Now one of the best restaurants in Amherst!”
Reviewed 1 May 2013

I live here and have been eating at The University Club for years. We especially like to dine here before a performance at the Fine Arts Center nearby. Last Saturday night we were here with friends and it was one of the best meals we have had in the area. The Gumbo with Fried Statler Chicken Breast was delicious with three perfectly cooked jumbo shrimp, nicely balanced rich roux based sauce, and just the right amount of spice, tomato, and fresh okra, served over rice. The chicken was also perfectly fried in a light batter. Others had the Crab Cakes, and a lady who grew up In Maryland (home of the crab cake) said they reminded her of her youth. The chowder and soups were very good. The wine selection is limited but carefully chosen and we enjoyed a very good Valley of the Moon Pinot Blanc. Dessert was a refreshing and delicious raspberry sorbet. Service is always good, but sometimes they try too hard. Overall, the food is excellent and better than ever, service attentive, atmosphere is unique, antique (in the oldest house in Amherst), and very comfortable. Reservations are recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank merlinslap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The University Club also viewed

Amherst, Hampshire County
Amherst, Hampshire County
 
Amherst, Hampshire County
Amherst, Hampshire County
 
Amherst, Hampshire County
Hadley, Hampshire County
 

Been to The University Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing