We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Emily's Amherst Bed & Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
Hotel UMass(Amherst)
US$159
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$141
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
US$86
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$97
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn(Hadley)
US$108
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$150
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (27)
Filter reviews
27 results
Traveller rating
14
7
0
2
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
14
7
0
2
4
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 27 reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Emily's is a great place to stay. However, if you're into slick boutique hotels or you want the heavy on the chintz, hostess in a frilly apron making fresh pancakes every morning type of New England B&B experience, than perhaps Emily's is not the place for you. It's more a home away from home. There's no fancy cooked breakfast but the owners keep the fridge full of the essentials: continental breakfast treats, cereal, jam, butter, milk, orange juice. A local newspaper appears from time to time as well. The advantage of this arrangement is you get to make a simple breakfast and sit around the table in your pyjamas fully relaxed in preparation for the day ahead. The rooms are spotlessly clean, there's plenty of hot water and there's enough kitchen equipment to make a meal at any other time of the day. It's really self catering with support. My friend and I stayed in the Emily Suite and we had a spacious bedroom with two beds (a double and a single), a large wardrobe (closet) and a large chest of drawers (dresser). All the furniture was antique, but not 'precious'. The other room was a kitchen/sitting room with a extra single bed in the corner which can accommodate one more guest. The bathroom is fully equipped and has a good shower. The owner is approachable and very helpful. We thought it was excellent value for money. Emily's is situated near the town centre but set well enough back from it to be a quiet place to stay. I loved it there and would recommend it highly. I want to go back...soon.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cobml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

If you enjoy spiders in your bathroom, mosquitoes and ants in your room, old mattresses, rock-hard 20-year-old pillows, blankets with rips in them, dust bunnies everywhere, stale supermarket-bought muffins masquerading as "breakfast", then by all means stay at this B&B! On the positive side, the owner is very nice, the garden is lovely and it's steps away from Amherst attractions.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank zaids07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We had a wonderful time staying at Emily's. We stayed on the carriage house, Katherine's room. It is a quiet place. Good beds, good breakfast, you won't regret a stay here!
Room was a bit noisy but no different from most hotels we stayed.

Ryanne en Sven from Holland

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ryanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

As noted, rather more a "guest house." Carriage house (actually, barn) has two bedrooms each with double bed, and a top floor (hayloft of the barn) "suite" with double bed, two twins, sitting area, screens for privacy if needed. Self-serve breakfast; we have always found ample, fresh food with considerable variety (small pastries, English muffins, fruit, cereal, coffee, milk, juice, etc.). Common sitting/breakfast area. We have stayed here before as a couple (one room), and, variously, been the sole guests, or shared the common area with other guests. This time we had several family members with us, so had the entire carriage house, which was ideal for our needs. The location is ideal to downtown (2 blocks), the setting is beautiful (especially in spring!), the rooms are clean, comfortable, and attractive.
Negatives: Must prepay, and no credit cards accepted. Parking very limited, and may require some coordination. And, not necessarily a negative, church bells nearby ring every morning at 8 (we found that rather charming, actually). No TV (again, not a negative for us.)
Huge collection of books, most with local reference (e.g., history of tobacco barns in Connecticut river valley). Recommend looking at the photo book (in the common area) of the renovations - easy to underestimate the amount of work and forethought that went into creating the environment both inside and out. We have stayed in local hotels as well, and in doing so have paid as much or more for typical austere motel accommodations.

Room Tip: Both single rooms look out on very attractive (different) rock garden/sitting areas.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Malcolm B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

we thought from reviews that Emily's would be a good choice, especially its
location in Amherst proper. WRONG!!! For breakfast , we found a stale
package of English Muffins , stale mini muffins and 2 small pastries under
plastic wrap and fruit (2 bananas, 2 small bruised apples and twelve grapes)
THIS WAS BREAKFAST? at the priciest B & B on the list? also, NO PARKING
facilities (we were disturbed @ 10:30 at night to move our car since it was
blocking another. Emily herself is rude toward guests. Have stayed in three
other Bed & Breakfasts in the area with superb facilities and delicious home
cooked breakfasts of eggs, pancakes, yogurt, fresh coffee, etc.
ISB, NYC

Room Tip: Buyer Beware! Do not go to EMILY'S B & B
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ISBNyc_Ny_Usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews