We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One Minor MIss Among a Bunch of Hits!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pasta E Basta

Pasta E Basta
Ranked #11 of 116 Restaurants in Amherst
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$17
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
95 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“One Minor MIss Among a Bunch of Hits!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We just ate here for the first time last weekend. I have to say my dish (Butter Parmasan) was disappointing, but still it was OK - I still finished it! Everyone else (we were a group of 12) had fabulous food. My wife had the angel hair with bolognese sauce and it was fabulous.

This is a quaint little restaurant, that is actually bigger than it appears from outside, so don't be fooled by it's seemingly small front; it has three levels, and plenty of seating, and very fast kitchen, and great serving staff. I would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DFM_58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    44
    11
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Mixed Opinions”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

This popular Italian restaurant is centrally located in a college town which makes it a popular draw. We found it crowded on a Sunday evening but they accommodated us in the downstairs cafe -- same food, less formal service. My dining partner enjoyed his spaghetti Bolagnese while the ravioli I was served resembled shoe leather. He would like a return visit while I am dubious!
The fresh foccacia bread was great we both agree!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gretchen_Friend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Really good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

I tend to eat here every time I'm in Amherst and it never disappoints...good food, excellent service, nice and friendly place. Good for families too. The only problem is the steep stairs up to the dining rooms. Its difficult for older folks to get up there or even to climb up to the restrooms. No problem for me but a little problem for the older folks with me. Nevertheless I will continue going there when I'm in town. The roasted veggies are a delicious side dish, as is the Crazy Pasta Alfredo.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alinguist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ware, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place. Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Went with my two daughters (3 & 2). Upstairs was perfect area for them. Food was great and prices were good too. The people working were very friendly and helpful to us. We would definitely go back.

Helpful?
Thank Troy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
407 reviews
303 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
“OKAY Food for the area”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

But nothing to write home about. The food was just OK, the prices were great, the service was neither bad nor remarkable --- just OKAY all around.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank MikeLudin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pasta E Basta also viewed

Amherst, Hampshire County
Amherst, Hampshire County
 
Amherst, Hampshire County
Amherst, Hampshire County
 
Amherst, Hampshire County
Amherst, Hampshire County
 

Been to Pasta E Basta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing