We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint New England Charm”
Review of Amherst Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amherst Inn
Ranked #3 of 12 Amherst B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Plainview, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quaint New England Charm”
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We planned our New England trip to include visiting the Emily Dickinson Museum/Homestead. I was thrilled to find that we could stay at the Inn right across the street! The Inn was delightful and the perfect place to stay to experience Amherst. Lots of dining choices were in walking distance, there were two lovely outdoor areas (side yard and back yard) at the Inn to sit while my husband enjoyed his cigar. We strolled around the neighborhood at sunset, and enjoyed chatting with the young lady gardening. Our bed was AMAZING! Very comfortable with high quality sheets and coverlets. Windows were open as we arrived with wonderful fresh air throughout. Breakfast was charming with blueberry pancakes, herbed eggs, muffins, sausage, several juices.... I wish we were close enough to go there often. We will definitely recommend it!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marci O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    38
    7
    8
    4
See reviews for
78
75
44
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2013

I was visiting Amherst with my son for the college tour. We had not planned to stay in Amherst, but having driven from JFK I was exhausted. I asked for a hotel recommendation at a local bakery and the proprietor said "Amherst Inn." I called and got voicemail, so I was a bit unsure, but 2 minutes later, Ann called me back and said that they had a room for us. The place was literally across the street from Emily Dickinson's home (exciting for me as a Lit major), and although I concede that the décor and furnishings would not be to everyone's taste, for me it was perfect as a love Victoriana and old crap. This place is full of old, heavy, dark wood furnishings ... it's very late 18th - early 19th century in feel. Think Trollope.

The bathroom en suite was tiny, tiny, tiny, but serviceable. The best thing of all was the BED. Oh my gosh, simply the most comfortable bed in the entire world. Although they kindly brought a rollaway in for my son, we ended up both falling asleep on the bed while we were watching TV on his laptop - the bed was that great.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JO E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Hopatcong
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2013

This historical inn is right across from the Emily Dickinson homestead. Literary enthusiasts will love to look out their windows and actually see Emily's room, in addition to hearing historical anecdotes about the inn and its relationship to the Dicksinson household.

The inn is run by a husband and wife team who are so warm and friedly. Our first night, the husband (whose name I forget - my apologies!) even offered to take us to a local tavern to hang out and hear live music! Ann has painstakingly decorated the inn, which contains antiques original to the inn, with her absolutely amazing stencil work which will delight antique/historic home lovers. The elaborate stencil work and orignial antiques made this guest feel as though she were sleeping in a museum!

The homey breakfast was absolutely delicious and the portions were generous. This inn was simply a delight from beginning to end!! We can't thank our innkeepers enough!

Room Tip: If you are an Emily fan, before reserving your room, ask which ones have a view of the homestead. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
Reviewed 20 May 2013

First of all, I am so grateful for my friend listing this on her wedding invitation as an option to stay at, even though she was getting married in Hadley (about a 30 minute drive away)!
I absolutely loved it. I met both Ann (the inn keeper) and her husband. Ann offered to pick me up from the Amtrak station and brought me to the Inn. She was so friendly and accomodating and was just extremely warm and genuine. I stayed in the Ivy Room, which had 2 full sized beds in it (I only needed one, but it was nice to have such a big room). The price was exceptional-in fact, it was cheaper than the other 6 options, including Econolodge and others in Northampton. (It was also about a 5 minute walk to the center of Amherst, where there was a big farmers market going on and many people walking around, laying on the grass, or shopping). According to the other wedding guests, I think I got the best deal and the best service.
I didnt wake up in time for breakfast, but Ann made me whatever I wanted when I did wake up. She was lovely to sit and chat with, but also gave me the space to be alone if I wanted to. It was really a wonderful stay and I just cant sing their praises enough! If you like comfort, warmth, and a beautiful enviornment without breaking the bank, you should consider staying here.

Room Tip: I stayed in the Ivy Room and it was absolutely wonderful. Quiet and had a view of the street, where...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jumana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berwyn, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
Reviewed 11 May 2013

I stayed at the Amherst Inn in May to visit my daughter at Amherst College. The Inn is a short walk from the Amtrak station, the college, and downtown Amherst. It is also next to the Emily Dickenson Museum. Ann, Innkeeper, was congenial and helpful. Breakfast was hearty. The room was clean, quiet, and fully functional. This Inn has been wonderfully restored, and I enjoyed sitting on the patio and living room. Overall, a five star experience!

Room Tip: Napolean room gets afternoon sun and windows face wooded area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

I stayed at the Inn for two days while attending a conference. It is a beautifully restored old building with lots of attention to detail. The breakfast was lovely and the staff was very supportive and accommodating. The Inn is a short stroll away from the center of town and thus a perfect location for a visit to Amherst.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MPPSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calais,VT
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

I stayed at the Amherst Inn this week, and it was good. Very nice room and bathroom, beautifully restored and authentically decorated house, big, tasty breakfast, gracious host, excellent close to downtown location, and right across the street from Emily Dickinson's house. The only minus was that the outlet that powers the lighting for one side of the room I stayed in (Emily's Room) was out, thus no lighting for the desk or two chairs in that corner of the room. Any reading had to be done in bed- no problem for me, but not OK for my elderly mother. I trust the owners will fix this small glitch soon. Stay there when you're in Amhert!

Room Tip: I eeked into all that were unoccupied- all beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amherst
1.3 mi away
Hotel UMass
Hotel UMass
#1 of 3 in Amherst
455 reviews
1.6 mi away
Courtyard Hadley Amherst
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst
3.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in Hadley
168 reviews
2.5 mi away
Econo Lodge Hadley
Econo Lodge Hadley
#5 of 7 in Hadley
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amherst Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amherst Inn

Property: Amherst Inn
Address: 257 Main St, Amherst, MA 01002-2335
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Amherst
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Amherst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Amherst Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amherst Hotel Amherst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing