We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful B&B in great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Amherst Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amherst
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Amherst Inn
Ranked #3 of 12 Amherst B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful B&B in great location”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

The Amherst Inn is a warm and welcoming B&B in a great location just minutes from downtown Amherst. We were visiting Amherst to visit UMass Amherst and to see a cousin in a local play so location was very important. To be honest, we are not really B&B people and prefer all the comforts of a hotel; however, the Amherst Inn won me over. The room was very roomy and comfortable for me, my husband and my 17 year old son. We really enjoyed the fresh home made breakfast and meeting Ann, the owner. I would highly recommend the Amherst Inn to families visiting the University and/or couple's looking for a romantic get away.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbiener_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    38
    7
    8
    4
See reviews for
76
73
43
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Amherst Inn is an intimate B&B, directly across the street, from the Emily Dickinsnon's House, and a two minute walk from Amherst College and the town center. The rooms are charming, beds are great. It is everything a remodeled Victorian B&B could be. It is very quiet within. Ann, the owner is delightful.
We just booked our son's graduation day in 2015, need I say more.

Room Tip: We viewed them all, so we could have "the best" for 2015, but they're all great. S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Greenwich, Rhode Island
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2014

My husband and I just returned from a stay at the Amherst Inn and had a wonderful time! As soon as you enter, you are enveloped in warmth from the beautiful decor and Ann's hospitality. The bed was so comfortable too. I highly recommend staying here if you are looking for a peaceful getaway to rejuvenate. We will return soon.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slm980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I recently stayed at the Amherst B&B at 257 Main Street, Amherst MA. I have nothing but GREAT things to say about the house and staff. Pat and Ann were gracious hosts. They really take great pride in the property and taking care of their guests. The home is absolutely gorgeous. Being from Mississippi, I am used to seeing wonderful Victorian homes. This one did not let me down. I have traveled the world and this experience was one of my favs. Thanks again guys for making my stay an enjoyable one. See you guys on my next trip to the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mill9908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

My wife and I spent two nights here on Thanksgiving weekend, feeling like real "guests" in an impeccably decorated and exceptionally comfortable room (incongruously but handily equipped with wireless internet) in this spacious, beautiful Victorian home. Our innkeeper, Ann, was very friendly, helpful and welcoming and served us two delicious breakfasts in the similarly splendid dining room, where we enjoyed meeting and talking with other guests. We couldn't have found a better place to stay, and at such reasonable cost.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank PJA_in_Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We planned our trip to see the play "Detroit" in Umass Amherst Fine Arts Center. They have such a great theater department, so I found this bed and breakfast on Tripadvisor. When I called to book it, Ann was very accommodating and pleasant on the phone. She gave us a charming Cyrus Room on the 2nd Floor. Her housekeeper Pam is just a fabulous person, who helped us out when we arrived on Saturday, 11-23-13. Ann made a delicious breakfast for us in the morning and let us check out later, which made our stay more relaxing. On Sunday we visited Emily Dickinson museum across the street, which we enjoyed very much. We'll definitely come back to Amherst Inn, when we plan our next trip to this area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
Reviewed 20 November 2013

A wonderful Period style Victorian with gracious, fun owners. This place is like stepping back in time and the beautiful surroundings such as Emily Dickinson's house across the street, the shops two blocks away and Amherst college also two blocks south makes this the perfect getaway. My wife and I stayed in the Turret room which I highly recommend. Ann and Alan are kind and generous souls and help you to feel like you're at home.

Room Tip: Turret Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amherst
1.3 mi away
Hotel UMass
Hotel UMass
#1 of 3 in Amherst
446 reviews
1.6 mi away
Courtyard Hadley Amherst
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst
1.9 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Amherst Hadley
3.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in Hadley
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amherst Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amherst Inn

Property: Amherst Inn
Address: 257 Main St, Amherst, MA 01002-2335
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Amherst
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Amherst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Amherst Hotel Amherst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing