We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience and feeling!”
Review of Amherst Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amherst Inn
Ranked #3 of 12 Amherst B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Verona, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great experience and feeling!”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I spent a night at the Amherst Inn under a snowstorm...! They accomodate me even if I ring the bell at 11.00pm..! Very cozy Inn, super clean and warm. I love the room, bed are great and very welcoming. They help me the day after to remove a ton of snow from my car to gain access to the street. I really appreciate this! I highly recommend Amherst Inn if you are in town.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WilkieRules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    39
    7
    8
    4
See reviews for
79
76
45
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Great weekend in Amherst at the Inn. Very comfortable rooms, fabulous breakfasts, Ann and staff were extremely gracious and welcoming. Appreciated decor and common areas to visit with friends. Would highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JTC33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

The Amherst Inn is truly a step back in time, lovingly decorated by Ann, who is there to cook individual breakfasts for the guest - hot full breakfast! The inn has 9 rooms, all with private baths and all immaculately decorated. The bed was very comfortable and the room was very nice. The Inn is within walking distance to Amherst College which my daughter attends so it is very convenient. My only regret is that I didn't discover this gem until now when she is a senior! Highly recommend.

Room Tip: I was in the Lions Den on the first floor - nice but a little noisy in the morning because of breakf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

My family stayed here when I was still attending Amherst College, and they recommended it when I returned to visit the college with my boyfriend. We stayed in one of the second floor rooms with a queen-sized bed, and it was perfect--cozy and warm in the middle of winter. The decor is lovely, and the hostess was very welcoming and made us a delicious breakfast in the morning. We plan to return in the spring!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dcao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I stay here periodically when I'm in Amherst for work. Great location and wonderful house. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Rooms are large and quiet, with free wifi. For the summer months, there's also a lovely back porch and garden to enjoy.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pchunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 January 2014

The Amherst Inn is a warm and welcoming B&B in a great location just minutes from downtown Amherst. We were visiting Amherst to visit UMass Amherst and to see a cousin in a local play so location was very important. To be honest, we are not really B&B people and prefer all the comforts of a hotel; however, the Amherst Inn won me over. The room was very roomy and comfortable for me, my husband and my 17 year old son. We really enjoyed the fresh home made breakfast and meeting Ann, the owner. I would highly recommend the Amherst Inn to families visiting the University and/or couple's looking for a romantic get away.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbiener_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Amherst Inn is an intimate B&B, directly across the street, from the Emily Dickinsnon's House, and a two minute walk from Amherst College and the town center. The rooms are charming, beds are great. It is everything a remodeled Victorian B&B could be. It is very quiet within. Ann, the owner is delightful.
We just booked our son's graduation day in 2015, need I say more.

Room Tip: We viewed them all, so we could have "the best" for 2015, but they're all great. S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amherst
1.6 mi away
Courtyard Hadley Amherst
1.3 mi away
Hotel UMass
Hotel UMass
#1 of 3 in Amherst
460 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in Hadley
172 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst
7.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Springfield Northampton/Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amherst Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amherst Inn

Property: Amherst Inn
Address: 257 Main St, Amherst, MA 01002-2335
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Amherst
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Amherst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Amherst Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amherst Hotel Amherst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing