We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to view movies from across the world!”

Amherst Cinema Arts Center
Ranked #1 of 1 Fun & Games in Amherst
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Amherst Cinema is a non-profit, independent theater. Our mission is to inspire, inform and entertain through the universal language of cinema arts and to serve as a cultural and educational resource for all. The core of our programming at Amherst Cinema is first-run independent film and classic repertory. We show over 120 superb films each year - most are first-run gems not even considered by commercial cineplexes. Decisions about film selection are made by our programming experts who know film and who know our audiences, not - as with many multiplex theaters - by a central office in a distant location. HISTORY 1926: The Amherst Theater opened in a renovated livery building in downtown Amherst, MA. It screened many classic films and hosted occasional stage performances. 1955: the theater was sold to Samuel Goldstein and renamed Amherst Cinema. Through the 1990s, the building deteriorated due to a lack of basic maintenance. The theater closed in 1999. 2000: a group of local film buffs and arts lovers formed the nonprofit Amherst Cinema entity to save the historic structure from the auction block. With substantial help from hundreds of individuals, institutions and businesses, the group raised funds and developed plans for a cinema center. 2006: With help from hundreds of supporters, we raised nearly $3,000,000 for the Amherst Cinema's home. In May 2006, our nonprofit organization broke ground to build a new, state-of-the-art, three-screen cinema. The Amherst Cinema opened November 22, 2006. 2013: A new studio theater was opened adjacent to the main building.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great place to view movies from across the world!”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This is a fabulous place to view current movies that are not necessarily on the Hollywood track. We go here specifically because of the types of movies shown.Most will not be found in the major movie cinemas. Thought provoking, Intelligent,different from the mainstream. Throw in all the wonderful restaurants in the local area and it completes the package!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 2panhandlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    18
    3
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amherst, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“The Best Ave Raris”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The picture indicates the quality and cleanliness of the cinema, but it can't display what is most important. This theater consistently runs the best Indie, Foreign, and even popular films, though the last is often run before they become popular. In a day when Hollywood eschews everything that doesn't explode or is loaded with CGI, this little gem consistently shows good stuff. This really isn't elitist, it is just about good films that don't often make into the 'chains'. This is the kind of place that shows "My Big Fat Greek Wedding" long before it becomes well known.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank OmenWesternMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cummington,ma
Level Contributor
90 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Traveling to Amherst? If you live nearby, you already know”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

A must for any movie lover. Interesting series, cool movies, no Spiderman. Three theaters in one building and a cozy second screening room a few doors down. Upscale concession stand with wine!
I am telling all visitors to the Pioneer Valley to make this cinema a stop on their travels.
Then go to Oriental Flavor for yummy food. A good time will be had by all.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank p.zindler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pelham, MA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hometown theater”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I love this theater, small and intimate with lots of charm and terrific and often thought provoking movies.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank JoLeslie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Maybe I'll have to move to Amherst”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I would like to move in to the Amherst Cinema, and just see every film they show. They have nice beer and wine options, as well as a good selection of teas. But the concession stand still smells like popcorn, as a movie lobby should.
We happened upon the Amherst Cinema on a one-night visit to town, during a college tour. What a great place.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank eightsgoeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Amherst Cinema Arts Center also viewed

Amherst, Hampshire County
Amherst, Hampshire County
 
Amherst, Hampshire County
Amherst, Hampshire County
 

Been to Amherst Cinema Arts Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing