We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amherst
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stone House Farm Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 12 Amherst B&B and Inns
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Delightful”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We travelled from Australia to see particular sites in Amherst and chose this place for a three night stay. We did not regret it. This is a great place to spend a few days. We chose the downstairs room, and even though we could occasionally hear people walking around upstairs, they were quiet and did not bother us at all.
Our hostess was cordial and laid-back, while being judiciously attentive to our needs.
Spending a couple of quiet hours in the magnificent garden of a late afternoon was a delight. Breakfasts were healthy, substantive and delicious.
The room was beautiful and quaint, in keeping with the overall style of the premises. Apart from being situated close to a roadway which is moderately busy during the daylight hours, we didn't notice the traffic at all.
We also enjoyed the company of Bruce and Sophie, the owner's two cats. We hope that Bruce's paw, which was in plaster while we were there, has mended well.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
24
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Fabulous breakfasts: delicious home made granola, scrumptious omelette with vegetables from owner's magnificent
garden, amazing sauce made from cherry dogwood tree in garden, puff pancakes to die for....
Very comfortable cozy room. I was initially worried traffic noise might be bothersome (B&B is close to fairly major road) but it wasn't an issue--quiet at night. Owner is talented in many things, thoughtful, interesting, and a delight.
Goat and chickens on the premises--
Also a highly intelligent cat!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mamamutti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

There are places and people that make me feel at home and I felt it when I arrived at Stone House Farm. We entered through a picket fence to a small garden blooming and scented with spring. Then onto a porch where we would have breakfast the next two mornings. Our suite had a dining/living room and a lovely bedroom, a very nice bathroom with shower and a wee kitchen in a closet...just enough...a small fridge, a microwave and coffee maker...all the essentials. Breakfast on the porch was wonderful! A full breakfast looking out over the gardens which are magnificent...a labor of love of nearly 20 years I think, by Candace, our host. Shaded paths, an stone smokehouse, an original corn crib, an old barn, 12 fancy chickens, three goats, and raised bed vegtable garden all just a mile or two out of downtown Amherst. I would love to go back and see the gardens in another season, or maybe in the spring again. It's all good.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sallymcwally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Bedford, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2013

My wife and I are fairly new to the B&B scene and this was our first stay at the Stonehouse Farm. What a unique gem. Not a diamond in the rough, this place truly is a gem. Warm, inviting, friendly, clean (impeccable, really!) and lovingly decorated. Our hostess, Candi, is a great lady and a class act who really appreciates the beauty of nature...we really admire that. Although not yet fully in bloom, the grounds and the gardens are absolutely outstanding! We stayed in the first floor suite, which was perfect, and the front porch was a natural extension of our living area. The breakfast portion of this B&B did not disappoint either. Fresh fruit, farm fresh yogurt, homemade granola and whole wheat bread...delicious with a healthy twist. And the puff pancake...out of this world! We stayed for two nights, but wish it could have been longer. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We brought our one and a half year old son with us to Stay at Stone House Farm last October for three nights. The Hostess was very nice, informative, and open. She even had someone set up a pack-n-play at no charge for our son. AND, she put it in the second room (that we didn't need and weren't paying for) which was very generous. Breakfasts were brought up in shifts, as she's cooking them and serving them, so the first morning we thought the first bit of yogurt was all we were getting (but we just needed to be patient)! She made delicious breakfasts! The farm was a great bonus for our son.

There were a few small issues. First I would have liked if she would have taken our trash before the last day--we had dirty diapers, but a small thing. Second, I needed an iron to iron the dress I was wearing to the wedding and unfortunately the hostess was out and it seems that the rooms share an iron. I went into the downstairs room (which happened to be empty and unlocked) searching, and found one, which leads me to why I was frustated with this place. While the space upstairs is fantastic, there is no actual door to the dwelling. The outside door (generally kept unlocked) leads right up to our space and our sleeping baby. As people checked in and out (at all hours) we loudly heard their entry, their welcome, their room tour, etc. It was oddly loud and I worried that my son would wake up. It also felt funny that the hostess and anyone, for that matter, could come up and into our space without knocking since there was a curtain and no actual door. Granted, we could close our bedroom door, but I wanted to be able to hear my son since there was no door!

Finally, the heat was very confusing. We spent a lot of time trying to decide if it would ever actually come on. Once it did though, it got very warm.

The space was great, the bathroom large and clean, the amenities were fantastic (snacks/kitchen/shampoo/pack-n-play), and the farm was very fun. Unless they get a door at the bottom of the stairs, I probably won't stay here again, at least not with any kids--but the price was very fair.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank airmail218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
happypaddler11, Owner at Stone House Farm Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
I’m so sorry. Thank you so much for your comments…they will help me be a better innkeeper in the future. It gives me great joy to meet my guests needs and desires and to share my farm and B+B with them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

The surroundings are lovely, hostess Candy and cats Bruce and Sophie most welcoming. (Cats are not allowed in guest suites, but are available for socilaizing). The two B&B suites are beautifully furnished and filled with everything imaginable to make guests comfortable--including in-room single cup coffee maker and nibbles. (Even the bathroom is stocked with all manner of items one might need or want.) Breakfast is elegantly served in one's suite. The grounds are exceedingly well kept, and are shared with 3 goats, several chickens, a couple of ducks, and a rooster. all in all, a most memorable and delightful experience.

Room Tip: Either suite is superb, the upstairs one having two bedrooms to accommodate up to 4 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank junecarol5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

We stayed here two nights on a recent visit to the Amherst area. We were very pleased with the B&B and are happy to recommend it. We had the whole upstairs to ourselves, which meant we had a sitting room and bathroom for our exclusive use (folks wanting an en-suite bathroom need to check on whether the other upstairs bedroom will be occupied). There was no noise audible from the guest couple downstairs, but the B&B is not far from the street and one does hear the noise of the cars driving past, although we didn't find that a problem. The traffic pretty much died away by the time we were ready for bed. Candi, the hostess, was charming, and prepared lovely breakfasts. She's also an ace gardener and the B&B's extensive grounds had a large quantity and variety of blooms to admire.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vaoenophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
happypaddler11, Owner at Stone House Farm Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
Thank you so much for your review. Please be confident that the suites and bathrooms are private. I would never place two unrelated guests in the upstairs suite. It is a two bedroom suite, but occasionally we rent it as a one bedroom suite, and simply close the other door.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amherst
1.0 mi away
Hotel UMass
Hotel UMass
#1 of 3 in Amherst
455 reviews
3.0 mi away
Courtyard Hadley Amherst
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in Hadley
169 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst
3.9 mi away
Econo Lodge Hadley
Econo Lodge Hadley
#5 of 7 in Hadley
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone House Farm Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone House Farm Bed & Breakfast

Property: Stone House Farm Bed & Breakfast
Address: 649 E Pleasant St, Amherst, MA 01002-1594
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Amherst
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Amherst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stone House Farm is beautifully restored 110 year old farm-stead just two miles from Amherst center amidst almost 2 acres of beautifully landscaped gardens. The upstairs two bedroom suite and downstairs one bedroom suite feature a private entrance, fresh flowers, sitting rooms with books, cable tv, dvd, wifi, microwave, coffeemaker and refrigerator. Full gourmet breakfast served in the privacy of your suite, featuring our own eggs, fruits and vegetables. Winner of the Amherst Historical Preservation Award. Rates: $175 - $250. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing