We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (190)
Filter reviews
190 results
Traveller rating
158
27
3
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
158
27
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbill's roomhomemade breadeggssausage and baconnew englandwood stovefederal stylebreakfast was amazingbed and breakfastwonderful experiencewonderful roomamherst collegeboth morningsnice bathroomromantic getawaymy sonmarie
Filter
Updating list...
93 - 98 of 190 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We have stayed at the Black Walnut Inn since my daughter was in high school checking out colleges. Luckily for us, she chose a school in the Pioneer Valley so we have been staying at the Black Walnut Inn for five years. We just love it. Marie is friendly and always helpful. She even managed to feed all her guests a delicious breakfast during commencement weekend when the inn was completely booked with families anxious to get to their ceremonies. The rooms are big and comfortably furnished. Breakfast is a delight. The inn is well-located to get to any of the schools in the area, but is a little out of the way so quiet. We will miss our regular visits to the Black Walnut now that our daughter has graduated, but I'm sure we will manage to find our way back.

Room Tip: The Carhart room is amazing--the original farm family's sleeping loft. The rooms on the first floor are very convenient if you don't want stairs as they are right off the parking lot, but the upstairs rooms have more charm.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuigiCorgi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We have stayed at the Black Walnut Inn for the past four years while attending school events for our son. It is an absolutely wonderful bed & breakfast experience. The folks in charge are friendly and helpful. The Inn has very spacious and comfortable rooms. Breakfasts are delicious, with a wide choice of options. Marie makes some sort of tasty homemade coffee cake or muffins, along with a seasonal fruit to accompany the meal. I will always have fond memories of my many stays at the Black Walnut Inn and will definitely return if my travels bring me to the area. I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the second floor of the main house. There is only one room on the main floor, which is great but it is a bit noisier as it is directly beneath an upstairs room.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donnafromsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

We stayed at the Black Walnut Inn for three days for our daughter's commencement in Northampton along with our son and daughter's godparents. Our room (#2) and the godparents' room (#1) in the main house were both lovely and well appointed. Breakfast was excellent with eggs, pancakes, fresh baked goods, etc., at times of your choosing. The inn is outside of downtown Amherst in a quite part of the town and convenient to Rt. 9 without going through downtown or UMass. All the staff we friendly and helpful. We recommend the Black Walnut Inn most highly.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main house are the prettiest. All rooms we saw are pleasant.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

The Black Walnut Inn with its friendly innkeeper and spacious rooms was a great choice for us. It was our base of operations for biking both the Norwottuck & Manhan Rail Trails. These flat trails w/no cars were a perfect way to explore. Big rivers, wildflowers galore, and mountain views combined to make it a wonderful vacation. A big bonus was, those days we didn't bike, we enjoyed all that Amherst, Northampton and Easthampton have to offer, Great restaurants, interesting shops, several college museums. A highlight was attending an opera workshop at UMass-incredible voices, full costumes and only $5.00. The best part of traveling is discoveries like this!

Room Tip: Our room (the Mulberry Room) was at the front of the Inn. If you'd like to be further from the road, request a different one.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dwaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

The BWI takes a pretty laid back approach. We arrived late Friday afternoon to find the instructions to locate our key and room taped to the door. Breakfast is served between 7 and 10 and it's pretty much anything you want (eggs, pancakes, etc.) and very well prepared. I really like this approach as opposed to the kind of rigidity you often find in B&Bs. The only downside was that the pilot light had gone off on the in-room heating and the room was quite cold. Since the owners were out at a family event, we had a couple of hours of shivering before they got home and were able to restart the stove. They were quite apologetic about it, and it didn't ruin the experience at all.

Best of all was our room. We stayed in the Kelleher room and I can't wait to go back. A huge room with 1 1/2 baths (wow!) One end has a sofa, comfy chair and coffee table for hanging out, and the other end is the sleeping area with a comfortable king size bed, bench and window seats. Very well appointed, and Lindt chocolates every day were a treat!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WBird66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews