We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All Round Nice Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Black Walnut Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amherst
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Black Walnut Inn
Ranked #2 of 12 Amherst B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Franklin Park, NJ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“All Round Nice Experience”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We've visited before and will probably visit again. The rooms have just the right touches:homey and very clean. The included breakfast is outstanding as each person's preference is made to order. The baked goods are my favorite. Marie always makes us feel welcomed and cared for.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    27
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
81
45
12
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Excellent place: Nice house, easy to find and to park the car, and nice room, very quiet (centralized air conditioning and room on the backyard), outstanding breakfast, friendly host. The best B&B we had during our tour in the East cost.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PierreT_Paris_France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bourne, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We come to Amherst at least once a year with family and a Bed & Breakfast is not our usual accommodation of choice but are we glad the other places in the area were booked this year because we stumbled upon a little gem of a B&B. We can't say enough nice things about The Black Walnut Inn. The rooms are beautifully appointed with everything you might need in your stay home away from home not to mention how clean and neat they are. Our breakfast, which couldn't have been better, was a choice of homemade blueberry muffins, sour cream coffee cake, apple turnovers, pancakes, eggs, bacon and sausage from a local smoke house, even homemade gluten free items if you desire.
The inn keeper Marie and her staff are very attentive to your needs. They want to make your stay relaxing and enjoyable and they certainly succeed. If you have the privilege of staying in this wonderful Bed & Breakfast don't forget to purchase one of Marie's homemade jams as a nice keepsake to take home with you.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bourne, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2013

My 19 year old daughter and I stayed at the Black Walnut Inn, after my sister and her husband gave it a raving review.... And we are so glad that we did.
The entire staff was attentive and made us feel right at home. what especially impressed us was the sincere personal interest that Marie took in every one of her guests, going above and beyond to make sure everyone had an exceptional stay.
Our room was immaculate, comfortable, and quiet. the homemade breakfast was amazing.
This was by far the nicest B&B we have ever stayed at. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garrison, NY
Level Contributor
80 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We spent one night at the Black Walnut Inn during a short vacation to the Amherst area and were very pleased that we did. The Poet's room was very quiet and had both a comfortable bed and a couch. The entire inn was extremely clean and beautifully furnished. The best part of the stay was the huge breakfast, including eggs, bacon, sausage, pancakes, French toast, homemade bread pudding and homemade muffins with homemade jam. Tricia was our wonderful, welcoming cook/waitress at breakfast, and Marie, the hard-working innkeeper. Another plus was the central air-conditioning in our room upstairs. We will definitely stay at the Black Walnut if we return to Amherst.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bandlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centreville, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Over the July 4th weekend, we spent an evening at the Black Walnut Inn. A very pleasant experience. We were a party of three, and our room was spacious and comfortable, with two large queen beds. The Inn is in North Amherst, and very convenient to the colleges (Amherst, Mount Holyoke and Smith) we were visiting on our trip. Breakfast was marvelous, and the inn owner explained to us at length about her methods for making the preserves, the centerpiece of our morning meal. One of the jams was made of mulberries, which I had never tried. (The jams were for sale, so we loaded up with several jars.) We highly recommend this bed and breakfast: a nice, historic property with exceptionally friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donnagha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mendota Heights, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2013

My husband and I just returned from our vacation in Amherst, MA and are eager to spread the word about Black Walnut Inn. The hospitality we received was wonderful - matched by the amazing home-baked breads/muffins and wonderful jams of our host, Marie! Our room was lovely with the couch set apart from the bed which nicely accommodated our disparate bedtime schedules. The home was very clean and orderly, while at the same time, welcoming and available for use by the guests. Black Walnut Inn felt safe and inviting and was our home-away-from-home. I can't imagine anyone being less than pleased with Black Walnut Inn.

Deb & Steve

Room Tip: The "Poets" room was quiet with good natural lighting and private bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MendotaNice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amherst
1.3 mi away
Hotel UMass
Hotel UMass
#1 of 3 in Amherst
446 reviews
3.3 mi away
Courtyard Hadley Amherst
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in Hadley
166 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst
8.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Springfield Northampton/Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Walnut Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Walnut Inn

Property: Black Walnut Inn
Address: 1184 N Pleasant St, Amherst, MA 01002-1328
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Amherst
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Amherst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Walnut Inn, fronted by a stately Federal style brick home built in 1820, sits on acres of lawn shaded by tall black walnut trees. Located in historic North Amherst, we're just a few minutes from Amherst College, Deerfield Academy, UMass, and Hampshire College. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing