We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Calm and peaceful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black Walnut Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amherst
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Black Walnut Inn
Ranked #3 of 12 Amherst B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Calm and peaceful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

This is a perfect place to relax and recharge. The oldest part of the building dates back to 1745. The front house was built in 1821. Both have been beautifully restored and furnished with antiques, and include modern amenities. When we walked into the dining area each morning we were greeted with soft music and breakfast made to order, including freshly baked goods and local sausage and bacon. What a delightful place to stay!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank jeanied4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    27
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
76
45
12
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

We rented 3 rooms for a wedding in this B & B and were pleasantly surprised! Not being too experienced with B & B's outside of several 5 star properties in New Zealand, we found the accommodations to be great. Our room was among the largest and had 1.5 bathrooms and a very comfy king bed. Twin ceiling fans did a great job keeping us comfy without having to switch on the A/C. Unfortunately, the A/C unit was also a great conduit for road noise from the trucks heading along the adjacent street. The other two rooms were smaller and a little dark as they were on the ground level, but provided good accommodation for our extended family. The high point was the owners and staff!! They provided us a fabulous home cooked custom order breakfast every morning, and accommodated our late attendance at the dining room graciously! They were friendly and helped out above and beyond the call of duty! Would definitely stay there again if ever in this part of the country!

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are larger and sunnier and look over the beautiful grass yard with the huge black wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
india
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

visiting our son who studies at amherst we decided to stay at the black walnut inn.to us it turned out to be a home away from home.cosy rooms great bfast.two lovely dogs and most importantly Ms Burbine and her team are fantastic hosts.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vivektigershark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

I stayed 3 nights at the Black Walnut Inn while in the area for a wedding. The Inn has beautiful rooms, comfortable beds, and is very quiet. I especially enjoyed the individually-prepared delicious breakfasts and conversations with the owner and several guests. If I'm in the area again, I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The rooms are pictured on the website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhyllisHW746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Pros:
Superb home cooked breakfasts and sharing it with other interesting guests.
Marie and staff superb hosts. Friendly and helpful.
Spotless rooms with quaint touches
Perfect location for colleges.

Cons:
We would have liked coffee/tea making facilities in the room.
AND a modern television. We had a very old one, the kind with a large cathode ray tube. When we did get it to work, we could only get one channel.
We noticed that some if not all of the other bedrooms had the same type. Modern flat screen televisions are not expensive.
Recent magazines please and/or books. Some of the latter were local library discards .

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charles093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

It's not easy to find a B&B room for a family of four, but the Black Walnut Inn welcomed us. It was quiet, and the kids loved having a big lawn and swings to let off steam after a day of travel and college visiting. The breakfast was fantastic. The room was fine.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank AustinTexasMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

My daughter and I stayed here in april while visiting the university . The room was very comfortable, clean and cozy. The breakfast was served at a large table in the dining room. It was very good food and it was nice to visit with the other guests. I would stay here again and the cost is about the same as one of the hotels in town.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amherst
1.3 mi away
Hotel UMass
Hotel UMass
#1 of 3 in Amherst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
3.3 mi away
Courtyard Hadley Amherst
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst
4.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in Hadley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
8.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Springfield Northampton/Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Walnut Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Walnut Inn

Property: Black Walnut Inn
Address: 1184 N Pleasant St, Amherst, MA 01002-1328
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Amherst
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Amherst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Walnut Inn, fronted by a stately Federal style brick home built in 1820, sits on acres of lawn shaded by tall black walnut trees. Located in historic North Amherst, we're just a few minutes from Amherst College, Deerfield Academy, UMass, and Hampshire College. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing