We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (191)
Filter reviews
191 results
Traveller rating
159
27
3
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
159
27
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bill's room homemade bread eggs sausage and bacon new england wood stove federal style breakfast was amazing bed and breakfast wonderful experience wonderful room amherst college both mornings nice bathroom romantic getaway my son marie
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 191 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile

Amazing!!!! The room was beautiful!!! It was clean and very welcoming!! The breakfast and the staff were wonderful!! I had family come and there was enough seating in our room to comfortably fit 7 adults for drinks and snacks!!!! I love the black walnut inn!!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Skeeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2017

I stayed in Uncle Bill's room - huge second floor room not in the main Inn. It has a wood stove (although the temperature was in the 90's) which would be great in winter!
The breakfast was made to order, and Amanda is very charming and accommodating. Two of us were there for a meeting at Amherst College, and Amanda printed out walking maps for us and offered some great suggestions. I am going to the same meeting next year, and look forward to another visit! The Inn is 5 minutes from Amherst College and family owned.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms not in the main building are very quiet.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mainegirl759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017

We spent a night at the Black Walnut Inn, which is a beautifully restored Federal style brick mansion! The decor is warm and inviting and the rooms were very comfortable! Beds were terrific (I'm a bit fussy about that: read soft firmness) and the location is quiet. The breakfast was absolutely delicious, and a wonderful way to begin the day!

Room Tip: The Norwottuck Room is cozy for two! The Kelleher Room is a room in which you can spread out or meet for drinks before dinner!
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2017

We stayed in the Carhart Room to celebrate an anniversary and birthday. The room is large and comfortable, and dates back to the 1700s. The Inn has been thoroughly and lovingly restored. Innkeeper Marie is a warm hostess. Wonderful baked goods at breakfast! Despite the Inn being at a busy intersection in Amherst, it maintains a country feel and charm. The Black Walnut is a perfect headquarters for exploring the Amherst/Northampton area.

Room Tip: Rooms vary in size and location; call to inquire about best choice for your needs.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank psmjr2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2017

Very good room, great breakfast, convenient location. We stayed for couple nights during our college shopping trip, and both mornings had very enlightening conversations at the table with fellow college shoppers, as well as with UMass faculty and their visitors. Obviously this play is a go-to list when UMass need to reserve lodging for their guests.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vassili S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews