We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I live here”
Review of Jacob's Ladder

Jacob's Ladder
Book In Advance
More Info
US$74.00*
and up
Full-Day Trip to Mount Washington from Boston
Ranked #1 of 8 things to do in Jamestown
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This narrow set of 399 steps is the only path out of the seaward end of Jamestown.
st helena island
1 review
“I live here”
Reviewed 6 January 2012

It's 699 steps by the way...and i run down it at least once a day...(missing a step, or 'skip stepping' as they call it). - takes less than 5 minutes.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank SaintStHelenaIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    20
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
BLACKWELL, UK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“ST HELENA JOYS”
Reviewed 28 November 2011

I loved the people. Friendly, open and polite. Everyone says hello!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank ROY D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamloops, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
Reviewed 3 April 2011

Jacob's Ladder is not for everyone however the view from the top after you have struggled to the top makes it that much more spectacular. If you find the stairs too steep to go back down you can walk down ladder hill road. Keep your eyes open for the plaque the commemorating locals who died in 1890 land slide and enjoy the views of jamestown.
Don't forget to obtain your certificate from the Jamestown Museum after your climb. There is a small charge of 2 pounds.

There is a W/C at the bottom and the top of the ladder.

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank BSAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wareham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“I rose to the challenge and conquered Jacob's Ladder”
Reviewed 22 August 2010

The climb of 699 steps is a must for the finest views of Jamestown! It's a steep climb but a real sense of achievement when you get to the top (recognised by the certificate you can get from the museum).

Helpful?
1 Thank holiday1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cardif
2 reviews
“climbing jacobs ladder”
Reviewed 8 September 2009

I was lucky enough to stay in Jamestown June/July this year and finally plucked up the courage to climb jacobs ladder. It is actually 699 steps and very steep. Not being the fittest person, i found it hard but felt very proud to finish the climb.
St Helena itself is a wonderful experience, some of the best scenery in the world i think, if you like to walk. The people are amongst the friendliest i have ever met. 18 days i shall never forget!

Helpful?
Thank suefitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jacob's Ladder also viewed

Jamestown, St Helena Island
Jamestown, St Helena Island
 
Jamestown, St Helena Island
Jamestown, St Helena Island
 

Been to Jacob's Ladder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing