We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A night out”

Palmers Restaurant & Tavern
Ranked #9 of 66 Restaurants in Andover
Price range: US$8 - US$36
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
North Andover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
126 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A night out”
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Visited Palmers for the first time (wife has been there before). The menu was very creative, lots of different options. If you enjoy craft beer, this isn't the place for you at all. Everything poured is pretty much your bar normals. Ordered the Sam Adams mussel appetizer, flavor was good, mussels were sandy and it didn't really have any broth to dip the two pieces of bread in. For a main course, I got a pastrami sandwich with French fries, at $13 it wasn't a bad value. My wife ordered lobster ravioli, with a small side of lobster claw. At $25 it broke down to $5 per ravioli. From what she mentioned flavor was ok.

Service itself was ok, waiter wasn't extremely attentive, granted it was a slow night and traffic was booming, so maybe they had a bunch of tables to attend too. When we walked in it had a strange smell I couldn't wrap my finger around. We wanted to sit outside, but everything is first come first serve through out the restaurant. Walking out the door, that smell was back. My wife then mentioned it was formerly a funeral home, so jump to your own conclusions. Granted it's a safe restaurant, I'll give it another shot.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    49
    19
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Go to for Drinks and Apps”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Never been disappointed. Sit on deck on a nice day, or inside the screened in porch area. Bar area can get noisy so be prepared to talk loudly. Favorite app is the chips with dip.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mahj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
143 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Varied menu, good food, nice presentation”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I have had many a dinner here, for business and for personal. Never been disappointed, never had trouble finding something I would like. Service has always been excellent. The steaks are excellent and cooked to what you order (unlike many restaurants that always seem to under cook them). Seafood, consistently good to excellent. Good wine list, good coffee and good desserts. I think it is the best restaurant in Andover and surrounding towns. If they were just a bit more adventurous with their food I would bump it up to excellent.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atkinson, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“An Andover gathering place for locals”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Have been to Palmers tavern plenty of times. Its a good place to have a drink and also listen to live music. There really is no dance floor (for they move away a few tables) to speak of. Food is good. It is though a very loud place if you are looking to have conversation so be forewarned. It is has a cozy atmosphere and is casual place for a night out with the girls or guys.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nhtigercat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
80 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great Experience in Andover”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Finally after several years of struggling to find a good place to eat, we experienced this place.

Good service and great food. Much much better than other places in Andover area. Slightly more pricey but not too much, very comparable prices but much better food. We found our food to be really good, service very efficient and a great place to sit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JunkTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Palmers Restaurant & Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Palmers Restaurant & Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing