We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average at best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Andover
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Andover
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“average at best”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Was just okay. Everything seemed out of date - was probably a nicer hotel in the past. The bed was okay. Seemed a little pricey for what you get. The breakfast was great, though, so I left happy :-) This was the first time I've seen a pancake machine at a hotel breakfast - very nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveSmithUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    132
    68
    56
    51
See reviews for
177
82
30
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for one night after an event. Upon check-in, the front desk staff were very nice and helpful. The hotel is a little run down, but it was the closest to the Wyndham and since they were fully booked we decided to stay here. The room was nice; comfortable bed and a flat screen television so I was happy. The room also featured a desk area, dresser, and lounge chair.

The bathroom was average; great water pressure though. We did go for a dip in the pool which was nice and enjoyable. Additionally, parking was ample, air conditioning worked great, and WiFi worked good as well which I was concerned about seeing as we were in the back building.

The hotel is set among various business parks. It does sit literally on 93 which is convenient. There is a gas station and a couple restaurants around, but pretty much the rest is hotels, businesses, and apartments.

The next morning, we checked out and were going to just get breakfast elsewhere, but decided to go with the breakfast at the hotel and were pleasantly surpised. Usually complimentary breakfasts are average and abismal at best, but breakfast was great and again the staff was a joy.

Overall a good stay and I would stay here again if need be.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrittyBearBoston2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2013

I am an avid La Quinta visitor because it's pet friendly and offers nice military discounts but was disappointed in this one. Don't get me wrong, the rooms are standard La Quinta rooms with microwave and mini-fridge (always a plus) and I loved the desk with multiple outlets. However, upon arrival, I was informed that the pool was closed and had been closed for almost two weeks. I think some notice on the website would be courteous. Then my room was the last room on the main level and near an exterior exit door. However, this exterior door had a broken lock which allows anybody to waltz in and out as they pleased. After informing the staff, they made little to no effort to actually fix it. Thus, anyone can still walk in and out unnoticed. I hope La Quinta management and higher ups can start holding their hotels to a little higher standard.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank ncrump2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collingswood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Conveniently located off I 93, one exit north of I 495, the hotel is convenient to both Boston and its northern suburbs. It is apparently regular used by groups as evidenced by a large number of Chinese teenagers and a girls' softball team. A Chili's and a Chateau Italian Restaurant are adjacent.

Having stayed at too many midrange hotels to count, I would rate it average. Rooms are clean, relatively large, have small refrigerators, a recliner, and a desk with built-in power outlets ( a definite plus). The noise level was low, and the breakfast was fine. The hotel looked a bit tired and the indoor pool was closed without explanation.

Room Tip: pick a room on the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013 via mobile

Nice big rooms. Great breakfast. Pool wasn't working that one night but we didn't care. Room was bin smoking but smelled of smoke. That was the only problem. A tad expensive but comparable for the area. Good clean. No druggies, smells or anything bad like one other review suggested.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherrietexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, New York
Level Contributor
69 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I've stayed at a number of LaQuintas, and even joined the rewards program. Up and down the eastern seaboard, and even in the middle of Arkansas, I've been happy with them. That's why this surprised me. I stay at LQ because it's clean and modern. At least it was clean.

We walked in to find the hotel hot and muggy, feeling almost exactly like the outside. Elevator was the same. Room was the same. The A/C unit was very old, and sounded like a jet engine. Had to wake up once in the middle of the night to switch it off... and later again to switch it on... and had to take a sleeping pill to get to sleep, despite my exhaustion, because of the noise.

We walked in and the person at the front desk told us that the pool was closed that day. When we came back later, it was to see people coming out of the pool, wrapped in towels, heading back to their room. When we asked the new person at the desk about it, he was more interested in cracking jokes. When we asked him about vending machines, more jokes. I decided to just wander the halls to find them instead. Finally found them. They were very old, and looked like the food had been sitting there for a long while. I'm going to go out on a limb and just assume that the beds were clean. So disappointed.

If you're looking to stay near Boston, pay the extra money and stay at the Somerville location. It's much, much better. I'll be staying at that one, exclusively, from now on.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
1 Thank gbbloom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Andover hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Andover
0.2 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Andover
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Andover
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Boston Andover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Boston/Andover
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Andover North - Lawrence
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Boston Andover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Andover? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Andover

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Andover
Address: 131 River Rd, Andover, MA 01810-1005
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Andover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Andover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Andover 2.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LaQuinta, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Andover reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites Andover Hotel Andover
La Quinta Inn And Suites Andover
La Quinta Hotel Andover
La Quinta Andover
Andover La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing