We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok for a short stay”
Review of Art-Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Art-Hostel
Ranked #20 of 59 Speciality Lodging in Skopje
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ok for a short stay”
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Staff is real nice, but it cannot compensate the state of the facilities. Furniture is old, there only one shower and all the (common) rooms could use a facelift. At least there is wifi. For a short stay it is ok.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mathieurop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    12
    6
    4
    6
See reviews for
Families
0
10
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We stayed here for a couple of nights in May 2012. Its a quirky place set down a back street not far from the bus station or the city centre. We were out of season so it was nice and quiet - had a dorm to ourself and met a couple of american travellers over breakfast.

The girls who ran the place were pleasant and helpful. The place does only have one toilet and shower so I can imagine it gets a bit much if the place is full. The building is a bit ramshackle - some windows were broken and not the safest of places - no lockers or locks although staff assured us there is always someone on reception! They have tried to make it quirky by painting the walls with murals and putting up some posters including Benny Hill and Chuck Norris! All in all a bit like a students apartment.

We are pretty easygoing and have stayed in worse places - as a place to get a nights sleep in a city it was fine - wouldnt really stay longer than a few nights though. It is cheap enough and a good base to explore the city from and get your bus or train for onward journeys.

Room Tip: All the dorms seemed a reasonable size - be warned there is only one toilet and shower in the whole...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denlutay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012 via mobile

I cannot recommend this hostel to anyone. It's dirty, doors have crappy locks, only one toilet and one shower for everyone, no airco, etc. Go next door to the Iguana hostel which is much better for the same price.

I am a frequent backpacker and have been to many different low budget hostels and I dont mind to sleep in bad conditions. This however was too bad for an unfair price. It's seems like it used to be one of the many abandoned communist buildings in that area, but then renovated by only painting the walls. And now it uses every little space for accommodation and not much seems to be spend to make it a pleasant stay for the guest. My room was on ground floor, but the windows didnt have a lock so anyone could basically enter it from the outside. A worrying detail is that money was stolen that day from guests and the reception... Some unfortunate observations: 1 - The sheets didnt look clean and were too small for the dirty matrass, 2 - the room was boiling (no airco) and 3 - it was extremely noisy (even the silent conversations of other guests came straight through the walls). A room with only one of these 3 characteristics would be no problem for me, but the combination of it is not pleasant for anyone. Add to this that you have to share with everyone (my estimation is 15 people) only one bathroom. The few times i needed to be there i had to wait next to the toilet for my turn. And the fact that they dont sell any drinks or offer a breakfast (or at least i wasnt told there was one) were the least of the problems i had with this hostel.

Out of curiousity i checked the Iguana hostel next door. This hostel is the opposite of the Art hostel! And the price is the same (around € 13 per person). If i wouldnt have felt bad towards the art hostel that reserved the bed especially for me, i would have immediately switched Art for Iguana.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SalarTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Skopje hotels

Paris, France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

It's located around 50 meters from the popular Shanti Hostel, and a lot of people end up here when Shanti is full. I was positively surprised. Factilities are good (except the fact that there is only one shower and one toilet), breakfast is included in the price (the cheapest beds are 8 euros) and the staff's very helpful. It is located very close to the main railway and bus station, and a 10-15 -minute walk from the old bridge in the city center.

It also has a little "terrace" outside where you can sit in the evening and in the morning when the heat makes life indoors unbearable. I liked it. Its small size ensures that you'll meet people and the proximity to the railway station makes it ideal for people travelling through the region.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Björn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Joseph, Michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

This hostel is tucked away in Skopje, but is not too far from the main attractions. However in order to get the hostel you have to walk down some back allies, not a great in the dark as the ally is not lit. The hostel is on the small side with only one toilet and shower.

Also, I'm an early riser and could not access the kitchen/common area because the host slept in there.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelby, North Carolina
Level Contributor
121 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

This was a little hard to find from the directions given. It is on a back street but it it is close to a huge Vero mall and easy walking distance from the bus station. Breakfast was late but OK if you wait for it. Staff was helpful and friendly. The price was excellent!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pperrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2012

If you have no place to sleep you can go there. That's it!

Room Tip: Do not take the big room !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Menelaos S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skopje hotels
1.2 mi away
Hi Skopje Hostel
Hi Skopje Hostel
#2 of 59 in Skopje
5.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.0 mi away
Shanti Hostel
Shanti Hostel
#1 of 59 in Skopje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Anja
Hotel Anja
#40 of 68 in Skopje
3.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Get Inn Skopje Hostel
Get Inn Skopje Hostel
#3 of 59 in Skopje
5.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostel Kej
Hostel Kej
#13 of 59 in Skopje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
0.7 mi away
Skopje Marriott Hotel
Skopje Marriott Hotel
#1 of 68 in Skopje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art-Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art-Hostel

Property: Art-Hostel
Address: Ante Hadzimitkov 5, Skopje 1000, Republic of Macedonia
Region: Republic of Macedonia > Skopje Region > Skopje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 59 Speciality Lodging in Skopje
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hostel suited for every taste and every pocket. With a friendly, positive atmosphere and unique artistic style, Art-Hostel will guarantee you a pleasant and unforgettable experience during your stay in Skopje. The location is just perfect, in the heart of the city, in a quiet, relaxing neighborhood, just by the river of Vardar, just 5 walk to the City Square, and 5 min. to the Central Bus and Train Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Art-Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Hotel Skopje

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing