We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't do it!!”
Review of Art-Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Art-Hostel
Ranked #25 of 76 Speciality Lodging in Skopje
Reviewed 11 December 2012

I am a big believer of not saying anything if I have nothing nice to say, but in respect of this hostel, I really feel that I should say my piece if only to give any unsuspecting travellers a heads up before they arrive. I have summarised in bullet points, otherwise this would never end.

• Terrible directions to hostel.
• Very tired looking room, inclusive of its own mould patched ceiling
• Bedding too small for bed, linen threadbare to the point you could read a book through it.
• Room not clean, dust, old socks and rubbish under beds.
• Passports left out in hallway unattended instead of being handed back in person.
• Double room with broken lock and stolen key, no way to secure.
• Complete lack of security, presented with an open front door, night shift asleep on sofa and open bedroom door at 1am return.
• One toilet and one shower to ALL guests.
• Toilet complete with over-flowing used toilet paper bin.

• The staff weren’t unfriendly, but not particularly helpful and had the distinct impression we were keeping them from something else whenever we spoke to them. They didn’t even seem aware that we had booked to stay there.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClaireM1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
There are newer reviews for Art-Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2012

I arrived at 5am. in the morning here, and the friendly but tired woman happily checked me in at no extra charge, which is the best early check in I've ever had.

I stayed a couple of days and it was really nice. Very cosmopolitan guests, full age ranges and from all over. Sometimes it would be local youngsters who'd sit and informally play a bit of music.

The breakfast was free and as much as you liked. Plus you could self cater. There was always someone around to sit and talk to. I ended up coming back here and staying for more than two weeks. Definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: There are two singles, one downstairs, on upstairs, the upstairs one is a bit nicer, plus it had a h...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lifemagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Staff is real nice, but it cannot compensate the state of the facilities. Furniture is old, there only one shower and all the (common) rooms could use a facelift. At least there is wifi. For a short stay it is ok.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mathieurop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We stayed here for a couple of nights in May 2012. Its a quirky place set down a back street not far from the bus station or the city centre. We were out of season so it was nice and quiet - had a dorm to ourself and met a couple of american travellers over breakfast.

The girls who ran the place were pleasant and helpful. The place does only have one toilet and shower so I can imagine it gets a bit much if the place is full. The building is a bit ramshackle - some windows were broken and not the safest of places - no lockers or locks although staff assured us there is always someone on reception! They have tried to make it quirky by painting the walls with murals and putting up some posters including Benny Hill and Chuck Norris! All in all a bit like a students apartment.

We are pretty easygoing and have stayed in worse places - as a place to get a nights sleep in a city it was fine - wouldnt really stay longer than a few nights though. It is cheap enough and a good base to explore the city from and get your bus or train for onward journeys.

Room Tip: All the dorms seemed a reasonable size - be warned there is only one toilet and shower in the whole...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denlutay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012 via mobile

I cannot recommend this hostel to anyone. It's dirty, doors have crappy locks, only one toilet and one shower for everyone, no airco, etc. Go next door to the Iguana hostel which is much better for the same price.

I am a frequent backpacker and have been to many different low budget hostels and I dont mind to sleep in bad conditions. This however was too bad for an unfair price. It's seems like it used to be one of the many abandoned communist buildings in that area, but then renovated by only painting the walls. And now it uses every little space for accommodation and not much seems to be spend to make it a pleasant stay for the guest. My room was on ground floor, but the windows didnt have a lock so anyone could basically enter it from the outside. A worrying detail is that money was stolen that day from guests and the reception... Some unfortunate observations: 1 - The sheets didnt look clean and were too small for the dirty matrass, 2 - the room was boiling (no airco) and 3 - it was extremely noisy (even the silent conversations of other guests came straight through the walls). A room with only one of these 3 characteristics would be no problem for me, but the combination of it is not pleasant for anyone. Add to this that you have to share with everyone (my estimation is 15 people) only one bathroom. The few times i needed to be there i had to wait next to the toilet for my turn. And the fact that they dont sell any drinks or offer a breakfast (or at least i wasnt told there was one) were the least of the problems i had with this hostel.

Out of curiousity i checked the Iguana hostel next door. This hostel is the opposite of the Art hostel! And the price is the same (around € 13 per person). If i wouldnt have felt bad towards the art hostel that reserved the bed especially for me, i would have immediately switched Art for Iguana.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SalarTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

It's located around 50 meters from the popular Shanti Hostel, and a lot of people end up here when Shanti is full. I was positively surprised. Factilities are good (except the fact that there is only one shower and one toilet), breakfast is included in the price (the cheapest beds are 8 euros) and the staff's very helpful. It is located very close to the main railway and bus station, and a 10-15 -minute walk from the old bridge in the city center.

It also has a little "terrace" outside where you can sit in the evening and in the morning when the heat makes life indoors unbearable. I liked it. Its small size ensures that you'll meet people and the proximity to the railway station makes it ideal for people travelling through the region.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Björn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

This hostel is tucked away in Skopje, but is not too far from the main attractions. However in order to get the hostel you have to walk down some back allies, not a great in the dark as the ally is not lit. The hostel is on the small side with only one toilet and shower.

Also, I'm an early riser and could not access the kitchen/common area because the host slept in there.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skopje hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel De KOKA
Hotel De KOKA
#9 of 71 in Skopje
199 reviews
0.0 mi away
Shanti Hostel
Shanti Hostel
#2 of 76 in Skopje
187 reviews
0.7 mi away
Skopje Marriott Hotel
Skopje Marriott Hotel
#1 of 71 in Skopje
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
City Hostel Skopje
City Hostel Skopje
#31 of 76 in Skopje
59 reviews
0.0 mi away
City Boutique Hotel
City Boutique Hotel
#8 of 73 in Skopje
18 reviews
0.1 mi away
Motel Le Village
Motel Le Village
#46 of 71 in Skopje
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art-Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art-Hostel

Address: Ante Hadzimitkov 5, Skopje 1000, Republic of Macedonia
Region: Republic of Macedonia > Skopje Region > Skopje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 76 Speciality Lodging in Skopje
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hostel suited for every taste and every pocket. With a friendly, positive atmosphere and unique artistic style, Art-Hostel will guarantee you a pleasant and unforgettable experience during your stay in Skopje. The location is just perfect, in the heart of the city, in a quiet, relaxing neighborhood, just by the river of Vardar, just 5 walk to the City Square, and 5 min. to the Central Bus and Train Station. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Art Hotel Skopje

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing