We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, crappy & dirty”
Review of Hotel Ani

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Ani
Ranked #52 of 72 Hotels in Skopje
Reviewed 12 August 2009

The hotel is hard to find if it was not ffor the Greek embassy across the street it would have been impossible not even the taxi driver knew the way.
Arriving at the hotel was big dissapointment. It was nothing like discribed.
It looks and feels worn out, dark and dirty.

Our reservation did not exist in the book (no fancy computer) even though we had made the reservation directly with the hotel. The combined bartender and hotel host did not care but could give us 2 rooms any way. Since we had less than a day to explore Skopje we took the rooms.

The rooms was just as big a dissapointment as the rest of the hotel.
We got a renovated room at first floor and an old room at the third floor.
Non of the rooms seed ever to have been really finished after any construction or paint job. Wires hanging out of the wall seems to be standard here.

The rooms were extremely dirty. The floors must have been cleaned with the same bucket of water for the last decade. You could see your footsteps walking over the floor. We sweept over the laminate floors with a wet towel. I doubt that it will ever be clean again. The bathroom were just as dirty as the rest. Old toothpaste spit out in the toothbrush cup. Old dirty soap at the shelves. Pee on the toilet seat. It looked like it had not been cleaned properly for years.

The persons working there in tha afternoon and evening could not care less. They miscalculated everything like on purpose. Gave everybody a wrong Euro to Denar rate. In the morning they were quite better.

Price wise it is absolutely not a bargain. We paid €47 pr. room, up front - including avery basic breakfast. The wireless was €5 extra - surprise. (compared to our week in Ohrid in a luxoury room double the size, at €40 incl. first row lake wiew and free wireless)

On tripadvisor they claim theses things that is NOT present: room service, city maps, luggage room, tourist information, private parking, airport shuttle service, restaurant.

Positive things: Very close to center square, Outdoor bar, air conditioning.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SkyDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2009

Hotel is Cheap, Clean and Cheerful
Its situated in what feels a safe area of the city directly accross from the Greek Embassy.
Breakfast is basic... better to buy some burek from a bakery.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SurreyMargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2008

Even armed with all the maps in the world, I don't think it is possible to find this, or any other, hotel on your own in this city. There are no signs in Macedonia--I don't know what that is all about, but I eventually came to it when I told people I was looking for the Greek embassy (it is right across the street from the embassy).

The hotel was clean, and you get the idea that the guys who run it (I saw no women) don't have a ton of experience, since I did not find them to be top-notch professionals. However, I don't mean that in a negative way--I felt more like a friend going home than a customer, and they were very friendly--although not invasive. When I got there I didn't even show my passport, they knew exactly who I was.

Breakfast is included, but was the smallest I have ever encountered--a cup of coffee, some bread, and some jam. It does the job for filling you up though, and for the price of the hotel you certainly cannot complain.

Overall I rather liked this place, and would stay here again if I happen to be headed to Skopje.

  • Stayed: October 2005, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Canuckker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Rosyaldo2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank serginho68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wizz Tours
Thank FerdiOe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
Thank luca p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skopje hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rose Diplomatique
Hotel Rose Diplomatique
#15 of 72 in Skopje
88 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kapistec
Kapistec
#25 of 72 in Skopje
60 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Vlaho
Hotel Vlaho
#17 of 72 in Skopje
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
ibis Skopje City Center
0.6 mi away
Hotel Senigallia
Hotel Senigallia
#2 of 72 in Skopje
132 reviews
0.4 mi away
Skopje Marriott Hotel
Skopje Marriott Hotel
#1 of 72 in Skopje
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ani

Address: Str. Borka Talevski 5, Skopje 1000, Republic of Macedonia
Region: Republic of Macedonia > Skopje Region > Skopje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 72 Hotels in Skopje
Price Range: £24 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ani 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Ani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing