We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location, very comfortable bed, friendly staff”
Review of Hotel Super 8

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Super 8
Ranked #11 of 71 Hotels in Skopje
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2013

i knew nothing about Macedonia and Skopje before going so opted for a safe option in the centre of the capital.
Im very glad i chose this hotel. Reasonably prioced, within a short 10minute walk to the main square so the location was excellent. Adding to that staff at the front desk who were always courteous and the room which was very comfortable with a nice little balcony, i would highly recommend the place. Breakfast was limited to a continental option, but that is often the way of the continent.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank londonmammal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2013

Very nice hotel located on just 5 minuten walking from the old town and near the old bazaar. Verry friendly and helpfull staff! There is a bus stop in front of the hotel and the International bus and railway station are only 15min walking from the hotel. This hotel really gives you good value for you're money! i would definetly recomend this hotel to everyone that wants to travel to Skopje and is searching for a nice not to expensive hotel!

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank Rutger R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

A big thank you to Frosina and collegues who made my stay in this hotell so memorable.
Great service from all the staff.
Breakfast was good, on the top floor with a nice wiew, too much cakes and chocolate, but thats probably normal in Balkan.
The room was very clean and quite spacious, for the prize, 40Euro per night its probably one of the best hotells I`ve stayed in, bathroom was ok, but a big minus since there was no shower curtain there, so I had to use towels to dry the floor several times.
A little noise from the hall, but no problem, I use earplugs no mattter where I am.
I missed a minibar, but it wasnt a problem, I just went down to the lobby and took whatever I wanted in the refrigerator there. (I told them offcourse that I took it)
2 good restaurants just outside the hotell, they didnt belong to the hotell.
Location was excellent, only a 5 minutes walk from the city centre and 3 minutes walk to the old bazars.
I am sure I will go back to Skopje, hopefully soon. and I will definetly stay in this hotell.

Room Tip: Get a room in front of the hotell, very good wiew.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jericho J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

nice breakfast, got room 13 then due to broken shower holder got room 207 on top floor which was great! stayed 4 nights in total. staff very friendly and helpful. good location next to old town and 10 minutes walk to city centre shops and places to eat and drink. hotel restaurant food was very good.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lee a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2012

This is a great option for Skopje, for lots of important reasons.

Pros:
- Location is fantastic; on one of the main north/south drags and 2 minutes to the Old Town, 5 to the Fortress, and perhaps 10-15 to the Stone Bridge and onward to the center.
- Free coffee/tea, free wifi, free computers and printers.
- Overall very helpful staff.
- Room is well-furnished, well-lit, and quiet (at least mine was, #208).
- The place is almost impossibly clean for the region - every glass surface spotless, and no dust anywhere.

The cons are minor niggles, but add up to make the place less than ideal.

Cons:
- The desk insists on keeping your passport, even if you offer to pay in advance. Passports are kept in open cubbies in full sight of passers by, and the desk is not always manned, which seems risky.
- The staff is in league with one or more of the taxi cartels, and will charge an exorbitant rate (2-3x the normal rate) to the airport. Fully 10x the rate of the official airport bus, which is a short 10 min walk south to the Holiday Inn. They actively discourage use of the airport bus in support of this cartel. Taxis can be hailed for the going rate just outside the hotel, or late at night in front of the Holiday Inn.
- The same seems to be true of restaurant recommendations. They recommend the adjoining restaurants (neither of which are even decent) and a Macedonian restaurant due south that is outrageously expensive for the area, and not particularly good.
- At least in my room, the drain would occasionally belch up water from another room and let up sewer gas, leading to a foul odor and less than clean floors.
- The combination heater/AC did not produce heat in my room, so I had to use an electric heater (provided).
- Though prices are quoted in Euro, they are charged in Denars. If paid on a credit card, even though Denars are supposedly pegged to the Euro, the exchange rate you will get is much worse, leading to up to a 15% premium on the stated price depending on what card you pay with.

Room Tip: Get the corner room on the top floor for maximum daylight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank raiaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012

Wandering around Skopje late in the day and (having planned poorly) hoping to stumble across an affordable and pleasant hotel, we saw the sign for Hotel Super 8 in the distance and made our way there through the somewhat chaotic traffic outside. We couldn't believe our luck. We only stayed two nights but we would have been happy to stay there for months.

First of all, the hotel is very well placed. There were very few hotels I could see that were so close to the main city square, within easy walking distance across the Stone Bridge, and easy walking distance of the Old Bazaar as well. A good base for shops and restaurants/cafes and also a lot of Skopje's sites, depending on how much you want to walk. (When we travelled the city was still in the midst of the Skopje 2014 construction plans, so getting around involved skirting a lot of work sites, but hopefully this will clear up soon). There was also a restaurant situated right next to the hotel, Shkupi, which is convenient and where we had decent coffee and people watched in the evening.

The rooms were very prettily decorated and had good quality furniture. We stayed in standard rooms (a triple bed, and a double + single bed), depending on what you expect from a hotel, you might find the rooms cosy but they are a perfectly adequate size for a tourist who wants comfort and who will be spending most of the day out and about anyway. Larger and better appointed rooms seemed to be available. The rooms had balconies, but rooms at the back of the building didn't have a view of anything, rooms at the front would get a great view of Kale Fortress. Also, there was a convenient wifi hotspot just outside the hotel, which you could get from rooms at the front of the building or sitting outside the restaurant downstairs.

Beds were comfortable, TV reception not great but I don't know whether that was the hotel's fault, and one of the rooms came with a fridge. The bathroom was good, although the shower in one room could have used a screen rather than a shower curtain. What was most important was that everything was impeccably clean and the rooms were cleaned again while we were out and everything tidied. The little touches were appreciated, such as the mini sewing kit for emergency repairs, a little shoe polisher and a strange object in the bathroom that turned out to contain a toothbrush, in case you forgot yours.

Breakfast (included) was served on the top floor (elevator or stairs) in a sort of attic space with skylights and a big window with a great view of the city, which was light and very pleasant first thing in the morning. The breakfast buffet was lovely, with a fair choice of sliced meats & cheeses, scrambled and boiled eggs, fruits, muesli, yoghurt, bread & toast, cakes, juice, a good selection of teas (although, if you prefer your tea with milk, bring your own teabags with you when you come to the country or you won't find any), and a nifty Nescafe coffee machine with a variety of options. As we were eating, one of the ladies staffing the buffet came around to every table to offer us a chocolate-covered baklava which I will dream about for years to come. As we were leaving, she wrapped up several of these desserts in tinfoil and pressed them into our hands, and also insisted we take essentially a bunch of bananas with us. The second morning, she insisted we take muffin bars with us.

This brings me to one of the best reasons to stay at the hotel, which was the welcoming atmosphere and the friendliness of the staff. The young man at reception when we booked in was very polite, as we sorted out what configuration of beds and rooms our party needed. He also spoke several languages, including very good English, so foreign travellers will be able to manage fine. The hotel just felt like somewhere you wanted to stay and were happy to get back to after a long day touring and shopping.

We had a really lovely stay and definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front may cost more, but you get a good view of Kale Fortress. Rooms on the other side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angelika N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

The highlight of my stay at the Super 8 was the breakfast, this was a very nice buffet, served on the top floor of the hotel with the staff bussling about topping dishes up instantly. The room may have been a bit small for the number of guests staying, but everyone got a seat.
The hotel room was clean, just rather strange, we hadn't booked and asked for a double, this was not available and we were offered what I believe was called a suite, now I either miss heard or maybe a suite equates to a twin in Skopje, but to room was definately no where close to a suite.
I believe that rooms were being squeezed into every available space. It would appear that a bathroom had been removed to allow access to an outside wall and therefore windows, but the tiles and pipe fittings remained right next to the side of the bed. The flooring changed at odd places so it would appear that some of the room used to be the hall (pale tiles), the old bathroom (blue tiles), what must have been an original room (carpeted). The new bathroom was so small that you had to leave the door open to sit on the toilet.
I have no idea what hotel prices are like in Skopje, we were just passing through so hadn't really planned where to stay, but at €60 mid Sept, this room was more expensive than other areas of Macedonia and didn't have any great qualities, you could plainly hear people in the next room, the fridge didn't work and you definately had to be very comfortable with the person you were sharing with due to the afore mentioned bathroom size.
It was OK, but even with the breakfast not somewhere I could recommend, perhaps we were unlucky with the room we were allocated.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lI0ve2h0liday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skopje hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel De KOKA
Hotel De KOKA
#10 of 71 in Skopje
205 reviews
0.5 mi away
Skopje Marriott Hotel
Skopje Marriott Hotel
#1 of 71 in Skopje
203 reviews
0.1 mi away
BH Hotel Hamburg
BH Hotel Hamburg
#22 of 71 in Skopje
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Leonardo
Hotel Leonardo
#19 of 71 in Skopje
69 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alexandar Square Boutique Hotel
1.5 mi away
View Inn Boutique Hotel
View Inn Boutique Hotel
#7 of 71 in Skopje
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Super 8? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Super 8

Address: Bul. Krste Misirkov no.57-3/1, Skopje 1000, Republic of Macedonia
Phone Number:
Region: Republic of Macedonia > Skopje Region > Skopje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 71 Hotels in Skopje
Price Range: £33 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Super 8 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Super 8 offers modern and comfortable accommodation in the heart of Skopje, 100 metres from the The Old Town and The Old Bazaar, and 200 metres from the city square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Super 8 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing