We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“super food and views”
Review of Pelister

Pelister
Ranked #2 of 272 Restaurants in Skopje
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The food is absolutely delicious prepared with spices specific to the Macedonian recipes. Portions were quite tremendous and our server had prior experience in the US industry, therefore, our requests were met in anticipation; we were very impressed to see that our bill for two persons was only Euro 19.57 which included the service tax of 18% but not the tip. We had an entree and a main course each in addition to the sparkling water and tea. Table was too small for the big plates brought to service. Excellent conversations with the staff, most of them speak English. We were also introduced by our server to the local history based on the displayed photos of the mats. Highly recommend this restaurant in such a modern E European city located within 2 min walking distance from the memorial of Mother Teresa.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“super food and views”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We ate at Pelister's as a birthday treat. It was a good choice. As the evening was warm we ate outside, the steak was succulent and the pizza s enormous and as we ate we had super views of the iluminated fountains around the statue of Aleksandar the Great. After a great meal washed down with a couple of Ckopkos the very reasonable bill was settled. The friendly staff were very attentive and efficient. Pelisters enjoys an enviable position just off Macedonia Square which is right at the heart of Macedonia's capital Skopje.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mibagentsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    320
    254
    91
    27
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Safe bet with good food, great location”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

This restaurant is pretty good. I disagree with others that it was "mass produced" food The pizza we had certainly wasn't. The neighboring table had salmon, which looked excellent. We also had a dessert, which was quite tasty. Was this the best restaurant I've ever been to? No, but it decent food. The location was great -- right on the main square with views of the Alexander the Great statue. You can walk to anywhere interesting in the city in a few minutes. It also would be a great central location if you are meeting people.

The place is large, so it was a bit loud. We went there twice -- once for dinner and another time for drinks. Service was ok for dinner, but the waitress wasn't that attentive when we just had drinks.

Would we go there again? Yes, but after trying a few other places.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pasha2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Been there for Business in May 2014”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This restaurant has the most central position in Skopje. The service is not the best.. we had to ask to clean our table and they didnt have any litle snacks with our morning coffe. The staff was not very friendly.. Anyhow we enjoyed our stay at this place.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Meti S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Mass Produced meals, could have been better”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Maximum 3 star place was thinking of giving it 2, very large & loud.
Ordered a Spaghetti Carbonara & a Pizza. The Carbonara was almost dry & the Pizza was under cooked. It gave the impression that the meals are mass produced & just warmed up to order.
Very disappointed on what I was expecting to be a best of breed restaurant in a wonderful position in the centre of town.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EastofEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great service with a view”
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

It is not a coincidence that I am writing this while having dinner at the subject of my review. We regularly eat at Pelister every time we visit Skopje. While we have tried many other local restaurants, Pelister stands out on several fronts.

The location is unbeatable - at the main city square, Macedonia, with the towering statue of Alexander the Great at its doors. For years Pelister, under various names, has been the place where locals go to be seen. It is no surprise that sometimes it can be hard to get a table outdoors, even when the weather isn't the best.

The ambience is pleasant, the wrought iron chandeliers are reminiscent of the grand establishments of the Austrian-Hungarian Empire. The atmosphere is lively, with live music on weekend nights and recorded pop/jazz music playing in the background at other times.

The food is fresh and tasty, portions generous. The restaurant is best known for its thin crusted pizzas and 'meze' - Middle Eastern version of tapas or hors d'oeuvre. Pasta is also a popular choice, but the selection of food and drinks is extensive. You may wish to try some of the very good Macedonian red wines.

Prices are very reasonable, in fact quite cheap.

Most importantly, the service is one of the best in Skopje - attentive and fast.

There is free wi-fi, just ask for the code.

My only criticism would be the furniture - it was great few years ago, but is now showing its age - those tub chairs ought to be replaced!

Helpful?
Thank Saltywords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pelister also viewed

Skopje, Skopje Region
Skopje, Skopje Region
 
Skopje, Skopje Region
Skopje, Skopje Region
 
Skopje, Skopje Region
Skopje, Skopje Region
 

Been to Pelister? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing