We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a Budget Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Centar Skopje
Ranked #5 of 71 Skopje B&B and Inns
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good for a Budget Stay”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We spent one night at the Hotel Centar, which was recommended to us by someone at the bus station. It was about a 20 minute walk from the bus station, and we initially had trouble finding it. The hotel itself is located in a dimly lit area off the main street in town, however it is within easy walking distance (10 minutes) to area attractions and dining options. We walked in late at night with no reservation and found a room to accommodate our group of three. The hotel itself is no frills, which is reflected by the price. The Holiday Inn 10 minutes away was double what we paid at the Centar, so if you are looking to save some money, this is the place for you.

The bathroom was spacious and appeared to have been recently updated, however the living space and hallways appear to be older. Wi-fi connectivity in the rooms was unreliable, but a strong signal was found in the lobby area. The included breakfast was limited but adequate to start our day.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 30_by_thirty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
navigsk, Manager at Hotel Centar Skopje, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Sir,

The outside is completely lightened now and there are major renovations outside. Thanks for your stay we would welcome you again.

Best regards,
Hotel Centar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    30
    17
    3
    0
See reviews for
15
9
8
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southern Wales, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Just returned from Hotel Centar in Skopje.

The hotel has a decent location(10 mins walk from City centre) and only 5 mins walk to a host of bars/resturants alongside the river.

First impressions of the hotel when we arrived at night were terrible.The hotel is covered in graffitti and there were groups of youngsters outside on the steps!!

Once we got inside the hotel takes on a whole different look. Its very clean although somewhat basic.
The rooms were spotless and had TV and mini bar. We asked for more pillows and staff got us some.

The hotel has been built in an old 70,s Olimpic Swimming pool staduim.Which is still open to the public and free to hotel guests.Although they have some strange opening times!!

Breakfast was plentyful with fresh fruit,toast,cereals,coffee,tea,yogarts,meats etc

All in all a decent enough hotel in a decent enough location.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ccfceuropesNO1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Presov, Slovakia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Outsuide doesn´t look very good but inside is lovely hotel. Air condition, nice bathroom and room, flat TV, minibar and free Wi-Fi in room. Breakfast was good. Very close to center of Skopje. We stayed one night.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MajuskaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dryanovo
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Don't be misled by the shabby appearance from the outside. The Hotel Centar inside is lovely! We stayed for 6 nights and chose this hotel because of its proximity to the center of Skopje and its numerous attractions. It was a leisurely 10-15 minutes walk! Nearby is also a big indoor shopping mall. The staff at the hotel are very friendly, there is free parking and wi-fi and they produce a good breakfast. Attached to the hotel is a big swimming pool which is free to hotel residents. Skopje is a marvelous city with lots to see and do. We will be back for sure!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank turkinchagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
navigsk, Manager at Hotel Centar Skopje, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Madam,

We really appreciate your kind words and we are proud to have you as our guest
again.

Best regards,
Hotel Centar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan, KS
Level 6 Contributor
397 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Close to center of town, clean and basic, it has functional internet, great swimming pool and nice breakfast (excellent fresh bread). The staff is very friendly. The person who brought my suitcase upstairs refused the tip (he was actually slightly offended by it). They decided to keep my passport at the reception during my stay which, in some ways, felt safer.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Witoldzio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
navigsk, Manager at Hotel Centar Skopje, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you about the nice opinion.

Hotel Centar Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhodes Town, Greece
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Best value for money hotel. It is located in the center od Skopje close to the main square and the shopping center. The rooms are big, the staff very friently and the price is very good. The breakfast is also very good.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
navigsk, Manager at Hotel Centar Skopje, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Sir,

We really appreciate your opinion and you are welcome to come again.
Thanks for the nice words.

Best regards,
Hotel Centar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gulfport, Mississippi
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

I was in Kosovo for 4 years with the UN mission and made several trips to Skopje enroute to other destinations or just for a day or 2 to get away. The hotel was in a great location, a short walk to the river, restaurants, and shopping. It was a basic but comfortable hotel. Beds were ok, a few basic TV stations, CNN International for the English speakers, and a small but nice bathroom. The hotel staff were also very polite and helpful and could arrange transportation to/from the Skopje airport or Kosovo border. The restaurant was small and basic and I only had breakfast there. At night I would head to the main square to either the Italian Restaurant or St. Patrick Irish pub. Excellent food at both. Lots of Brits at the pub. Lots of internationals and pretty ladies at the Italian restaurant. Its also a good place to "people watch" as its in the square. Don't let the outside looks of the hotel or the location scare you away. Its a great place for a great rate. Remember, its Skopje, Macedonia and not a Holiday Inn in the US. But if you are interested, there is a Holiday Inn a short walk away. My suggestion, save some $$$ and stay at the Centar.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gpd132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skopje hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel De KOKA
Hotel De KOKA
#8 of 71 in Skopje
188 reviews
0.5 mi away
Skopje Marriott Hotel
Skopje Marriott Hotel
#1 of 71 in Skopje
139 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Senigallia
Hotel Senigallia
#2 of 71 in Skopje
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Solun Hotel & SPA
Solun Hotel & SPA
#7 of 71 in Skopje
192 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel City Park
Hotel City Park
#4 of 71 in Skopje
205 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Super 8
Hotel Super 8
#11 of 71 in Skopje
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Centar Skopje? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Centar Skopje

Property: Hotel Centar Skopje
Address: Boulevard Koco Racin nr.33, Skopje 1000, Republic of Macedonia
Region: Republic of Macedonia > Skopje Region > Skopje
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in Skopje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Centar Skopje 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Providing city views, Hotel Centar is located in the very heart of Skopje. It offers elegant rooms, an on-site restaurant serving rich buffet breakfast and an Olympic indoor swimming pool. Free WiFi is available throughout the hotel. Free coffee or tea is offered upon arrival. All rooms at Hotel Centar offer a king-size bed, a minibar, a flat-screen TV with cable channels, a phone, a desk, a wardrobe and soundproofed windows. Bathroom provides a shower and hairdryer. Hotel facilities include a 24-hour reception desk, a safety deposit box and laundry/ironing service upon request. Parking is free for all guests. The location of Hotel Centar offers closeness to many major attractions. Main city shopping centre is 100 metres away, while the biggest museum can be reached in 200 metres. The National Parliament is 250 metres away. Main Bus and Railway Stations can be reached in 150 metres. The hotel offers shuttle service to and from the airport for an additional cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Centar Skopje reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing