We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Hotel Anja

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Anja
Ranked #38 of 72 Skopje B&B and Inns
Forster, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 4 November 2011

From the greeting upon arrival to checkout Guesthouse Anja could not have done any more for us or made our stay in Skopje any better. As Malev (airline) has lost our suitcases we arrived with nothing and they were SO helpful, they even took us to the supermarket so we could buy supplies for the night. The room was clean, spacious, bathroom a good size, we even had dinner in the attached restaurant and the food was delicious and very reasonably priced, overall excellent location for a stay in Skopje.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fiona W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    40
    24
    5
    12
See reviews for
12
29
24
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

The location of the guest-house is just perfect. It's located just near the Macedonian Square and the Stone Bridge. Don't expect a hotel. The guest-house does not have a reception or sth. It's located just above the Anja Restaurant, run by the same owner. The waiters in the restaurant also work as the guest-house staff.

The rooms are OK, quite clean. Not that new and not that old. We stayed two times in two different rooms. One of the rooms had a better shower than the other.

You can have the breakfast at the café/restaurant, which is included in the price. The café is quite nice, well decorated, and clean.

It was Igor, one of the waiters, who turned our experience into an extraordinary one. Since he lived 5 years in Turkey, he was speaking Turkish perfectly. And he was extremely friendly and helpful. He did all his best to make our stay comfortable. Many thanks to him. The rest of the staff was OK. So if he was not there, I think I would rate the staff as "average".

The walls of the rooms are quite thin. One of the nights we really had difficulties sleeping because of the noises coming from next room.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank okgago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

The hotel was a little hard to find as it was above their restaurant but the taxi driver helped us with our bags and located a member of staff to help us. The room was clean and comfortable, my only problem with it was that we could hear everything from the neighbouring rooms at night, every conversation, every cough could be heard like it was next to you.

The location if the hotel could not be faulted and the restaurant served good food (better and cheaper than the ones in the main square by the Alexander the Great monument).

The staff were so friendly and the owner kept offering us free drinks, desserts and coffees throughout the day, even when we protested and tried to pay!

Overall I'd highly recommend this hotel (but remember to bring earplugs for the night)! Can't fault the staff or the location, deservedly number one on TripAdvisor.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kit-on-the-move
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Unlimited8
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

When you book a room online, especially for a first time stay at location you do not know much about, I guess you hold your breath to find out what you're going to end up with. Same here since we haven't travelled through the Balkan area before, but we just found the hotels on the web including this one in Skopje and took a gamble. When arrived we didn't know what to expect, however this little gem did exceed all our expectations.

Regarding the accommodation, service and location - comfortable, tastefully furnished, bright, perfectly clean and soundproof rooms / zero noise from the very lively street, with a numerous restaurants, bars and cafés; accommodating and knowledgeable staff; downtown location and next to the riverbank (there is a small artificial beach nearby, no swimming though); delicious food in their lovely café restaurant with a huge alfresco area, located just below the rooms; everything from what was recommended for viewing/visiting just steps away, location walkable to absolutely every important site in the town; behind the hotel is the biggest shopping center in city, with enough variety and shops to suite many different tastes.

Although without any knowledge about the country industry standards for hotel category, in my opinion there is a considerable discrepancy. I do wonder why the hotel is officially determined as 2-star category, when it is at least a higher 3-star. Anyhow, it is a great value for money and I highly recommend this little gem for a short or extended stay to anyone visiting Skopje, Macedonia.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Unlimited8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Well located in the very centre of Skopje close to all attractions, a large shopping centre and main street with many bars/restaurants.
Our taxi driver had some trouble locating it, however after a quick phone call it was no problem. The rooms are located above a busy restaurant which was just closing as we arrived very late at night.
The offered us complimentary drinks in the bar while we waited for someone to show us to the rooms.
There was no check in procedure, we were just handed a key and shown into a room by a gentleman who didn't really speak English and left in the room - at no stage of the trip did we see anyone in the reception area!
As there were no staff on reception, we weren't sure where to go for breakfast. On the first day, we visited the restaurant below for lunch and ordered meals and drinks. When requesting the bill, we were told that this was all complimentary as we were guests of the hotel so obviously this is where breakfast was available!
The room was very pleasant, clean and had everything required, including fridge and well functioning air con.
The wifi worked with no problems.
We heard no noise at nights from the busy street below.
We wanted a late check out on departure day and left a note at reception requesting this, however the cleaning staff tried to enter the room early on that day - presumably they could not understand this note, as when we then left the room to clarify, an English speaking staff member arrived who told us the late check out was no problem and also took our payment.
I would definitely recommend this to anyone visiting Skopje.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lou_s99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skopje hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Leonardo
Hotel Leonardo
#19 of 71 in Skopje
64 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn - Skopje
Holiday Inn - Skopje
#11 of 71 in Skopje
332 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel De KOKA
Hotel De KOKA
#8 of 71 in Skopje
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Turist
0.5 mi away
City Hostel Skopje
City Hostel Skopje
#29 of 73 in Skopje
60 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Vila Silia
Hotel Vila Silia
#33 of 72 in Skopje
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Anja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Anja

Property: Hotel Anja
Address: Kej 13 Noemvri bb, Skopje 1000, Republic of Macedonia
Region: Republic of Macedonia > Skopje Region > Skopje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in Skopje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Anja 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently opened, Anja is a nice hotel in Skopje. Centrally located, it is a good accommodation for leisure travellers in Macedonia. The hotel is situated on the upper floor of the Anja Cafe, renowned as one of the best cafes along the river Vardar and beloved by the fashionable people of Skopje. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Anja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing