We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I stayed at Apartment (Not hotel)”
Review of Hotel Anja

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Anja
Ranked #42 of 68 Skopje B&B and Inns
Singapore
Level Contributor
291 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 560 helpful votes
“I stayed at Apartment (Not hotel)”
Reviewed 19 April 2012

There must be cheaper accommodations in Skopje, but I am happy that I spent 30 euros for a night here.
As I was not aware that breakfast was included, it was a super nice surprising to have had a breakfast there without paying.

On my arrival, I was served a cup of drink and a bakery while waiting for my room :-)

Location-wise, I like both.
Anja Hotel - Behind Holiday Inn
Anja Apartment - Closer to city center
( 2 places are close to each other, though )

There are bunch of bars, restaurants between Holiday Inn and Anja Hotel. It must be very active at night.
There are zillions of shops near apartment, which is convenient to shop all day.
There is wifi at Anja Hotel, but I could not find any signal at apartment. Said that I was using someone's when staying at apartment !

The apartment is maintained very well and looks pretty new. Hair dryer is also equipped. There are doubly doors, which makes me feel secure.
( There is not a fridge in the room )

As of April 2012, taxi costs 20 euros from airport to Skopje City center, but if you ask Anja Hotel a pick up, it is 15 euros.
( I did not know it, so please someone try and confirm ! ) Alternatively, take a public bus from the airport which started around March 2012. Holiday Inn will be the closest stop for Anja hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mamacita1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    38
    24
    5
    12
See reviews for
12
29
24
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

For the price: The room was nice, the food good, the location perfect and the service excellent. The friendly staff showed genuine interest in the guest and gave and excellent friendly service. I was very glad to have choosen this place to stay!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jarle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

I was looking for a reasonably priced option in the center of Skopje. This is it! As others have stated this is a guesthouse above a restaurant on a pedestrian street along the river. The rooms overlooking the street had a nice view. Although currently construction mars the view a bit.

My room was spacious with a nice size flat panel television with multiple channels. There was a nice desk, a fridge, and a large closet. I was a bit disappointed that the window didn't seem to open.

The cons are that there was a sewage smell emanating from the bathroom for the whole stay. I tried to cover the drain to see if this was the problem, but it didn't seem to help. Closing the door kept it from the room, but entrance to the bathroom was shocking when you did.

Also the free, internet wi-fi signal didn't seem to quite reach the room. Although at night it seemed to work at least occasionally. It seemed that the free internet, which was shared by the restaurant would have received very heavy use in the daytime.

Overall, a very good value for the center of town.

Room Tip: Good view from the rooms in front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gopackjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

The Anja is really well placed on a pedestrian-only street by the river and close to Macedonia Square. Rooms (or our room, at least) are compact and it helps if you're a contortionist in the bathroom, but it was reasonably clean and warm. It would have been difficult to find but we arranged for the hotel to have someone meet us at the airport so we were whisked to the centre, greeted and escorted to the room.
The attached restaurant is good with a great breakfast and plenty of choice for the evenings (lovely pizza!) and the people are extremely friendly and welcoming - in fact, some of the nicest staff we've ever encountered.
It's not luxurious. It's not overly spacious. but it's friendly, great value and a brilliant base for exploring a city.

Room Tip: Room 1 has a difficult bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Texas
Level Contributor
153 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

I stayed one night in January and paid 39€ which included a welcome drink, small en-suite room with double bed, and simple breakfast. The hotel consists of seven rooms in a relatively sequestered and quiet wing of a major downtown shopping and restaraunt center--a great location for tourists. Note that you must check in and out at the restaurant (same name); a staff person then will escort you to your room. I will return the next time I visit Skopje.

Room Tip: If you are traveling as a twosome (or more), you should request a more spacious room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidMcTier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Provincetown, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Once again I am asking myself why did I come back to this place, since I always get a horrible service. This time was the last, they have definitely seen the last of me. Not only did we have a very awkward conversation with the waiter, who was the only waiter on the floor, but he gave us attitude every single time he passed by.

When we got the bill, we got overcharged for 3/4 of the things we ordered: he just assumed we ordered the more expensive ice tea, the big portions of food, and they just assumed the price of the additions. Also, the special offers do not apply apparently, so we got charged full price for the pizza that was supposed to be cheaper on Sundays.

The service in this restaurant is the worst I have experienced in the world, I was treated really badly and I will not go there again. They do not take care of their customers the way they should, and probably the staff has some issues between themselves, since they looked understaffed and frustrated, occasionally fighting among themselves on the floor. Not a pleasant site.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marius N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Skopje hotels

Novi Beograd, null, Serbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 December 2011

Due to the nature of my business trip, i needed a hotel in city the centre,and in my experience, city centre hotels are either overpriced for diecent service, or they suck. This is definatelly not the case with hotel anja. My room was spacious, confortable and very well kept. Cable tv and internet connection worked perfectly, there is no reception, you actualy check in the restaurant on ground floor, but staff is so helpfull that you dont feel lack of service. Meals were fantastic, and i can wouche for pizza anytime. I was supposed to move for a night to a different hotel and i almost cried right there in the restaurant, so the good people of anja actualy managed to keep my room for me. Fantastic experience, and def. my choice if you are staying on budget in Skopje. Love You Layla <3

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zvezdana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skopje hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Leonardo
Hotel Leonardo
#18 of 69 in Skopje
60 reviews
0.3 mi away
Solun Hotel & SPA
Solun Hotel & SPA
#7 of 69 in Skopje
186 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Vila Silia
Hotel Vila Silia
#31 of 68 in Skopje
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
City Hostel Skopje
City Hostel Skopje
#29 of 60 in Skopje
58 reviews
1.1 mi away
Urban Hostel
Urban Hostel
#4 of 60 in Skopje
100 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Orange Inn
Hotel Orange Inn
#3 of 68 in Skopje
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Anja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Anja

Property: Hotel Anja
Address: Kej 13 Noemvri bb, Skopje 1000, Republic of Macedonia
Region: Republic of Macedonia > Skopje Region > Skopje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Skopje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Anja 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently opened, Anja is a nice hotel in Skopje. Centrally located, it is a good accommodation for leisure travellers in Macedonia. The hotel is situated on the upper floor of the Anja Cafe, renowned as one of the best cafes along the river Vardar and beloved by the fashionable people of Skopje. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Anja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing