We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic hotel, good central location”
Review of Hotel Anja

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Anja
Ranked #44 of 74 Skopje B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Hotel Anja is well located on the promenade by the river Vardar, just next to the central square and within walking distance from the bus station. It can anyway be a bit tricky to find the first time, as it's inside a shopping center. When you see the statue of two playing figures (see the pictures) you've arrived. The check-in is in the restaurant Anja, and to go to the hotel you should enter to the shopping center (there's sign "Hotel Anja") and then go the steps up and turn to the right.
The rooms are basic but clean. The music and other voices from the street might disturb. Reserve enough time for the breakfast, it's not a buffet but you should order it. There're a couple of alternatives in the menu. Specify what you want; you'll get your coffee automatically with milk unless you ask it black.
The hotel can arrange you transportation from/ to the airport by request. The fixed price is 20 € and you pay it at the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meryem66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2013

This hotel has nothing particular in it, the room we had was basic but clean, the bathroom was ok and we had hot water and clean towels. There isn't much in way of decoration but it's ok.
The staff was polite and helpful, they speak english good enough and we had laughs at our misunderstandings.
The breakfast is good if simple and we tried the restaurant once wich was good enough for simple fares.
The major point of this hotel is its location, you are within walking distance of some of the major tourist site of skopje and there are quite a few shops and restaurants too.
We enjoyed staying here because it was very convenient for visiting the town and the price is good.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spetmilan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2012

We booked a room online for 2 nights and asked for the best. We were shown 2 rooms, both very small but clean and modern. The biggest problem is that neither room had proper curtains - they only had thin light fabric which would allow privacy but not keep out any light. We decided against staying here and moved to the Pelister instead. Ivan the owner was most disappointed so gave us a free guide and tour of Matka Gorge to compensate. We did eat in the restaurant and the food was basic but tasty.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariannehoyymanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

We booked into Hotel Anja back in July - no problem as no money would be taken until we checked out. The rooms were delightful -spotlessly clean with all the usual amenities, not all the en-suites are the same size, but all our group were fully satisfied, some had stayed there before and recommended it to us. The food was good and very reasonable. The staff were polite and very helpful -delighted to practice their english and recommend sights to see. The location is in a prime position opposite the new impressive state buildings on the other side of the river, Museum of Archaeology, ANother Museaum and the Macedonia Office of the Foreign Minister. Just the other side of the Stone bridge (2 minutes) was the National History Museum and the Holocaust Museum and a little further the old bazaar. Everything walkable. Statues abound, anew one to Alexander the Great, King Phillip the second his father and many more. Two more new bridges going up across from the hotel to the Museum, adorned with many statues of national figures. Justinain and St Clement by the Stone Bridge. If you go there visit the Caravanserrais, one a resuarant and one a historic centre as well the Turkish baths. There is also the Museum of historic Macedonian Cultural history. Word of warning - night club nearby so can be a little noisy until midnight Tuesday - Saturday.

Room Tip: There is no swimming pool and no fitness centre. This is a no frills excellent value budget hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicholas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

The hotel is located in the city center, 15 minute walk to the bus station, 50 feet from the famous bridge and statute of Alexander, 5 mins walk to the old town bazaar, and on the river banks across from the new government building. Great price for the room.

Room #1 was directly above the Anja restaurant which meant you would hear the music till the restaurant closed at 1am. Furthermore, there was some sort of generator in the restaurant that hummed very loud and made it virtually impossible to sleep until it was shut off at 1am each night when restaurant closed (930pm on Sunday). The room was a little dirty, and very cold and the bathroom was tiny. The hotel runs sort of like a hostel, so keep this in mind when you arrive and check in at the restaurant or if you have any concerns during your stay as staff are difficult to locate. Yes, checkout is annoying also because you have to walk around the restaurant trying to find someone involved in hotel. A real annoyance if you checkout at 5 am when restaurant is closed and there is nothing but the security guard in restaurant. The rooms are all on the 2nd floor and the main entrance to these rooms did not appear very secure, the door handle itself appeared to have been recently pried and had not yet been repaired. This entrance is also connected to the shopping mall, so not secure and accessible to anyone. I was forced to leave a day early because i needed to get sleep.
I would not recommend this hotel unless you are on a strict budget, but even in that case i would say don't risk staying at the Anja.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Leslie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

The loud music and partying in the street at night made it impossible to sleep, so I wont come back. Apart from that it was very central and decent if you don't expect more than a clean bed and shower, wifi worked well.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HMJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

My room at Guesthouse Anja was very special. It wasn’t situated in the hotel complex, but at the gable of the building at the first floor with a door straight out to a pedestrian street. The room was only finished for 2 months ago, so it was very fresh and well equipped and the internet worked very well. They had no reception, so the check in was at their bar downstairs and the room bill was paid to a man in the bar with the office in his pocket. The staff was very friendly. For the breakfast at the restaurant you could choose from a menu with several fixed alternatives, maybe a little poor, but OK. Guesthouse Anja is situated in the Centre of the town, near to the Stone Bridge with the Old Bazaar at the other side. The Macedonia Square with the giant Alexander the Great statue was only a minute away. If you want they can pick you up from the airport and take you back after your stay for 15 Euro per journey.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank leffex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skopje hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel De KOKA
Hotel De KOKA
#10 of 71 in Skopje
205 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Leonardo
Hotel Leonardo
#19 of 71 in Skopje
69 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kapistec
Kapistec
#23 of 71 in Skopje
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Rose Diplomatique
Hotel Rose Diplomatique
#17 of 71 in Skopje
85 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rekord Hostel Skopje
Rekord Hostel Skopje
#18 of 79 in Skopje
30 reviews
0.7 mi away
City Hostel Skopje
City Hostel Skopje
#32 of 79 in Skopje
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Anja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Anja

Address: Kej 13 Noemvri bb, Skopje 1000, Republic of Macedonia
Region: Republic of Macedonia > Skopje Region > Skopje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Skopje
Price Range: £15 - £22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Anja 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently opened, Anja is a nice hotel in Skopje. Centrally located, it is a good accommodation for leisure travellers in Macedonia. The hotel is situated on the upper floor of the Anja Cafe, renowned as one of the best cafes along the river Vardar and beloved by the fashionable people of Skopje. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Anja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing