We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the Best Part of My Stay in Skopje”
Review of Urban Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Urban Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I had a very nice experience with Urban Hostel. I arrived late on a Saturday afternoon and was unable to exchange money to pay for my stay on arrival, and they were cool about letting me pay later, as many of the money changers in Skopje close early on Saturdays and are not open on Sundays. The breakfast was really good. When I notified them that I was leaving early in the morning, they even let me take some breakfast to go the previous evening.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shifonfon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2014

I stayed in one of the apartments of the Urban hostel for almost two weeks at the end of 2013. The service I received was impeccable, more of a hotel type service, rather than a hostel. The apartment was clean, quite, had a good location and it is definitely a good value for money. The reception staff is very polite and well trained, and always ready to help. I recommend the place to any traveller to Skopje.

Room Tip: choose one of the apartments if you are a larger group.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanja_St2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I stayed in the Urban Hostel in one of there apartments. i booked a normal bed but on arrival i received a free upgrade to an apartment without asking. the guys at the desk were brilliant. they had all the answers and made the stay a pleasant one. no request was to hard for them. Fantastic service, clean, spacious, everything needed at a hostel, good breakfast and value for money. Do yourself a favour, and book with these guys without hesitation.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cieran2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I stayed at this hostel for four nights earlier this month and was very impressed. My three friends and I had booked the apartment which is located at the top of the main building. The accommodation was clean, modern and spacious and was excellent value at around £13 per person per night. As an added bonus, the hostel also served a light breakfast (museli, boiled eggs, bread pastries etc) for most of the morning.

The staff on the desk were very friendly and provided a free map of Skopje, and perhaps more importantly, talked us through where the best places to go were. We were even given a bottle of Macedonian white wine on the house, and there were a few cold cokes in our fridge when we arrived too!

Room had free WiFi which was very useful.

The only (slight) downside was the distance to the centre, which was about a 15 minute walk from the Hostel, however it was a pleasant enough walk and there were several nice bars and restaurants along the way so it wasn't a problem fur us at all.

All in all, we had a fantastic stay and wouldn't hesitate to recommend this Hostel to others.

Room Tip: If travelling in a small group, go for the apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iws74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

I stayed in the Urban Hostel twice on my recent Balkan trip: the first time I booked in advance, and then came back because I couldn't think of anywhere else I would rather stay. Really lovely and friendly staff, always on hand to sort out any problems, and also happy to sit and drink coffee and ponder life. The place was clean and well-kept, the kitchen facilities were great (I cooked every night), and everything was organised and homely. For me, the best thing was the bicycles, which I made good use of, and brought the city centre much closer (two-three minute ride instead of ten minute walk). I hope to return one day!

Room Tip: the upstairs bathroom is super-fancy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

this hostel was amazing. from beginning i felt really good in this hostel, it has really nice relaxed atmosphere. 3 guys working on 24h reception were very polite and helped us with everything. they have big living room, garden and terrace where u can just relax or talk with other travellers. rooms were clean, bed comfortable and breakfast sufficient. hostel is situated in quiet location little bit out of the centre (15 minutes walk) but taxis are cheap.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
Thank trikoza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

This place is nice. It has everything you need and great staff. The problem is that the pictures make it look amazing. Its not. Its average. It is a house in a semi inconvenient area compared to other hostels furnished with aging furniture. Therefore it can be disappointing.

Private room was clean and had own bathroom.
wifi worked everywhere for IPAD, not phones
brekkie varied a change a bit and had fresh fruit :)
staff was extremely helpful
There are a few restaurants in the area

the location is not ideal. it is only ten minutes from the center but on the opposite side of the bus/ train station. There are better options if you use the capital as a base.
Price is higher than other hostels around.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 07Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skopje hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel De KOKA
Hotel De KOKA
#10 of 71 in Skopje
213 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hi Skopje Hostel
Hi Skopje Hostel
#3 of 79 in Skopje
162 reviews
1.6 mi away
Shanti Hostel
Shanti Hostel
#1 of 79 in Skopje
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Lounge Hostel
Lounge Hostel
#5 of 79 in Skopje
43 reviews
1.3 mi away
Get Inn Skopje Hostel
Get Inn Skopje Hostel
#2 of 79 in Skopje
72 reviews
0.8 mi away
Skopje Marriott Hotel
Skopje Marriott Hotel
#1 of 71 in Skopje
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Urban Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Urban Hostel

Address: Adolf Ciborovski 22, Skopje 1000, Republic of Macedonia
Region: Republic of Macedonia > Skopje Region > Skopje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 79 Speciality Lodging in Skopje
Price Range: £13 - £33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Urban Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
About Urban Hostel & Apartments Urban Hostel is the perfect starting point for every traveler who is ready to explore the city. We are a brand new URBAN hostel in Skopje and we are already known for our warm and inviting atmosphere, superior accommodations, and great pricing. We have a mufti-purpose room with a WI-FI internet access, laptop, a fireplace,an aquarium, a piano, books and Cable Tv to relax and enjoy your self after a long day of having fun.There is a fully fitted guest kitchen equipped with kitchen stove (range oven) with burners, a microwave oven, fridge (refrigerator) where you may store your food and drinks in personally identified individual baskets. The kitchen is fully equipped with kitchen ware and tableware. All rooms have WI-FI access and air conditioning. There is full central heating in the building, and plenty of hot water.Our young and multilingual team is available 24/7 to welcome you and provide all the necessary information you need.So, start your day with our free hot continental breakfast and a hot cup of tea/coffee from 7 a.m. to 12:00 a.m.Also included:Free clean and fresh sheets, blankets, a pillow, and a towel,Free, save parking,Free Wi-Fi Broadband Internet, Computer Use and access to printer,Food delivery service,Free coffee and tea all the time,Guests kitchen,Hot showers 24/7,Laundry and drying service, by request,Credit cards accepted,Safe luggage storage,Cable TV,Hostel is open 24/7 with friendly, professional service,Cleaning daily service indoor and outdoors of the hostel.Traditional Macedonian wine and snacks free of charge are served every Wednesday and other surprises! Accommodation Information: Our hostel can accommodate a total of 54 guests. It offers rooms for 1,2,3 or 4 people and has 4 floors, there is full central heating in the building. The rooms are clean, convenient, comfortable and highly affordable with proper spring mattress beds and overlays, lockers for every bed and individual bed light.Urban hostel has three dorm types available: 2 beds, 3 beds and 4 beds.The private room types available are: single, double/twin and an apartment.The single room comes with a comfortable single bed and Cable Tv.Double/twin rooms come with a double bed/ two single beds.The apartment can accommodate maximum five guests.All rooms have WI-FI access and air conditioning. There is full central heating in the building, and plenty of hot water. Showers and toilets are found on each floor, two of them equipped with jacuzzi.We are a new hostel, which means everything in our URBAN hostel is fresh and clean.Location InformationThe hostel is located in a secure, urban and quiet neighborhood, within a 10 minutes walking distance from the main square of the city and 3 minutes by bus. The area is called Debar Maalo, where the most visited coffee bars and restaurants are situated, also you can find bakeries, supermarkets and pharmacies.The Universal Hall is the famous orientation building near our hostel. Everything the city has to offer in terms of attractions and entertainment is within a walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HostelWorld, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Urban Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing