We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome place in Skopje” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Urban Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Urban Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Pinsk, Belarus
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome place in Skopje”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

This hostel needs to have 5 stars instead of those which has now. It is impeccable and definitely worth for the money. I have stayed in one of the dorms for a couple of days but later the friendliest staff at the reception desk gave me a perfect deal for the apartments, which was even better. It is only 15 min walk and 1 min ride with bus to the main city square, which means you will have peace and tranquility. All in all, if you ever go in Skopje (you should do it asap) you have to stay in Urban Hostel since it is the BEST place to be while in Skopje!!!

Room Tip: See for some offers from the reception desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Volodimir T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    30
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
17
35
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stayed in Urban Hostel for couple of nights - one night in the twin room, and another night in one of their apartments.
Well, it's a hostel - in all aspects that comes with it: the most friendly staff (which is there 24/7 and has great knowledge), nice communal areas including small but well-equipped kitchen for the guests' use, and a dull breakfast served on your own. I think I've also seen that they provide free bikes, though we didn't use it.
The twin room was pretty small but clean and had all we needed -but definitely felt like a 'hostel twin room' and not a 'hotel twin room'. The apartment was extremely spacious, with a nice bedroom, large living room with sofa, small dining table and a good kitchenette.
The most problematic issue of this place is the location. Whereas the are itself felt very safe, also at night, it's still a bit far from the center (~15-20 minutes walk to the main square). Nevertheless, it is well connected with public transportation (note that it can be difficult to identify the right station to get off while you're on the bus, and usually you don't have any helpful sign). Additionally - there are many restaurants and cafes nearby (about 5 minutes walk).
Overall - it's a good value place to choose in Skopje, as long as you're fine with its location.

Room Tip: The apartments are extremely good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Omri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

I admit I didn't get out much in December when I was there as it was just too cold for me and the hostel was nice enough to stay inside. The wifi didn't quite get to my room but otherwise everything was perfect. Staff was always helpful and it's down the street from a nice very affordable restaurant. There is a taxi driver affiliated in some way with the hostel who is very qualified to take you on a day trip. Ask reception if you want to take a tour, he's very knowledgeable about the area and honest. Don't forget if you are coming from Serbia to Macedonia to exchange your money into euros or dollars because there seems to be some sort of embargo on currency exchange from Serbia. I took a 25-30% hit on currency exchange in Skopje which was annoying but everything else was great.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michael g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Egypt
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

I had a very nice experience with Urban Hostel. I arrived late on a Saturday afternoon and was unable to exchange money to pay for my stay on arrival, and they were cool about letting me pay later, as many of the money changers in Skopje close early on Saturdays and are not open on Sundays. The breakfast was really good. When I notified them that I was leaving early in the morning, they even let me take some breakfast to go the previous evening.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shifonfon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

I stayed in one of the apartments of the Urban hostel for almost two weeks at the end of 2013. The service I received was impeccable, more of a hotel type service, rather than a hostel. The apartment was clean, quite, had a good location and it is definitely a good value for money. The reception staff is very polite and well trained, and always ready to help. I recommend the place to any traveller to Skopje.

Room Tip: choose one of the apartments if you are a larger group.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanja_St2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

I stayed in the Urban Hostel in one of there apartments. i booked a normal bed but on arrival i received a free upgrade to an apartment without asking. the guys at the desk were brilliant. they had all the answers and made the stay a pleasant one. no request was to hard for them. Fantastic service, clean, spacious, everything needed at a hostel, good breakfast and value for money. Do yourself a favour, and book with these guys without hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cieran2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

I stayed at this hostel for four nights earlier this month and was very impressed. My three friends and I had booked the apartment which is located at the top of the main building. The accommodation was clean, modern and spacious and was excellent value at around £13 per person per night. As an added bonus, the hostel also served a light breakfast (museli, boiled eggs, bread pastries etc) for most of the morning.

The staff on the desk were very friendly and provided a free map of Skopje, and perhaps more importantly, talked us through where the best places to go were. We were even given a bottle of Macedonian white wine on the house, and there were a few cold cokes in our fridge when we arrived too!

Room had free WiFi which was very useful.

The only (slight) downside was the distance to the centre, which was about a 15 minute walk from the Hostel, however it was a pleasant enough walk and there were several nice bars and restaurants along the way so it wasn't a problem fur us at all.

All in all, we had a fantastic stay and wouldn't hesitate to recommend this Hostel to others.

Room Tip: If travelling in a small group, go for the apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iws74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skopje hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel De KOKA
Hotel De KOKA
#9 of 69 in Skopje
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Senigallia
Hotel Senigallia
#1 of 69 in Skopje
5.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kapistec
Kapistec
#22 of 69 in Skopje
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Solun Hotel & SPA
Solun Hotel & SPA
#7 of 69 in Skopje
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ibis Skopje City Center
1.3 mi away
Get Inn Skopje Hostel
Get Inn Skopje Hostel
#1 of 58 in Skopje
5.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Urban Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Urban Hostel

Property: Urban Hostel
Address: Adolf Ciborovski 22 (Old Name: Mother Teresa 22), Skopje 1000, Republic of Macedonia
Region: Republic of Macedonia > Skopje Region > Skopje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 58 Speciality Lodging in Skopje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Urban Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
About Urban Hostel & Apartments Urban Hostel is the perfect starting point for every traveler who is ready to explore the city. We are a brand new URBAN hostel in Skopje and we are already known for our warm and inviting atmosphere, superior accommodations, and great pricing. We have a mufti-purpose room with a WI-FI internet access, laptop, a fireplace,an aquarium, a piano, books and Cable Tv to relax and enjoy your self after a long day of having fun.There is a fully fitted guest kitchen equipped with kitchen stove (range oven) with burners, a microwave oven, fridge (refrigerator) where you may store your food and drinks in personally identified individual baskets. The kitchen is fully equipped with kitchen ware and tableware. All rooms have WI-FI access and air conditioning. There is full central heating in the building, and plenty of hot water.Our young and multilingual team is available 24/7 to welcome you and provide all the necessary information you need.So, start your day with our free hot continental breakfast and a hot cup of tea/coffee from 7 a.m. to 12:00 a.m.Also included:Free clean and fresh sheets, blankets, a pillow, and a towel,Free, save parking,Free Wi-Fi Broadband Internet, Computer Use and access to printer,Food delivery service,Free coffee and tea all the time,Guests kitchen,Hot showers 24/7,Laundry and drying service, by request,Credit cards accepted,Safe luggage storage,Cable TV,Hostel is open 24/7 with friendly, professional service,Cleaning daily service indoor and outdoors of the hostel.Traditional Macedonian wine and snacks free of charge are served every Wednesday and other surprises! Accommodation Information: Our hostel can accommodate a total of 54 guests. It offers rooms for 1,2,3 or 4 people and has 4 floors, there is full central heating in the building. The rooms are clean, convenient, comfortable and highly affordable with proper spring mattress beds and overlays, lockers for every bed and individual bed light.Urban hostel has three dorm types available: 2 beds, 3 beds and 4 beds.The private room types available are: single, double/twin and an apartment.The single room comes with a comfortable single bed and Cable Tv.Double/twin rooms come with a double bed/ two single beds.The apartment can accommodate maximum five guests.All rooms have WI-FI access and air conditioning. There is full central heating in the building, and plenty of hot water. Showers and toilets are found on each floor, two of them equipped with jacuzzi.We are a new hostel, which means everything in our URBAN hostel is fresh and clean.Location InformationThe hostel is located in a secure, urban and quiet neighborhood, within a 10 minutes walking distance from the main square of the city and 3 minutes by bus. The area is called Debar Maalo, where the most visited coffee bars and restaurants are situated, also you can find bakeries, supermarkets and pharmacies.The Universal Hall is the famous orientation building near our hostel. Everything the city has to offer in terms of attractions and entertainment is within a walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Urban Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing