We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The First hostel in my life”
Review of Hi Skopje Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hi Skopje Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Yerevan, Yerevan, Armenia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The First hostel in my life”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Hi Skopje is an excellent hostel in Macedonia, Skopje. That was the first hotel which I visited in my life and I have positive memories from there. It has a very comportable yard, wich chairs and table. The administrator is a wonderfull person. I lost my mobile accidentely and she did her best to find it and returned it to me. That was wonderful) Visit it you will like it a lot)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    16
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
27
52
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Larnaka City, Cyprus
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Where do I start? Went to Hi Skopje Hostel just for a week with my friend and ended up staying for 5 weeks!
Such a friendly, warm and welcoming place with reasonable prices. The second I walked in, I fell in love with the place! Very clean rooms and clean towels can be provided everyday free of charge for your use during your stay.
Was welcomed by the ladies who run the hostel (Marina and Sandra) and I knew that it would be a good experience! And Ole and David who also run the hostel has been very helpful and friendly with us along with Marina and Sandra. Many days we didnt even bother to go out as our nights at hostel have been full with joy and laughters, considering there are always new people coming in everyday from all around the world. AHH I have to mention the little boy of the hostel, Zhile! Such an adorable, friendly doggie of Marina, he can just take all your stress away within seconds with this adorable gaming tactics! The hostel staff can order you food as you wish and call you the safest and cheapest taxis in town and also can arrange you transportation to airport and to other towns in Macedonia. From my personal experience, the Hostel is for everyone, ie, couples, single travellers and group of friends. It does not matter where you from and what you are, the staff will welcome you and do their best to make sure that you are happy and satisfied during your stay. I highly recommend Hi Skopje Hostel without a single doubt. I can not wait to go back to Skopje, Macedonia again!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elias1994Cyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Bunk beds were clean and extra blankets were provided (it got quite cold at night). Lockers in the dorm room are big enough that I fit my Jansport backpack in with room to spare.

David, the owner's husband, was helpful in describing how to get to the city centre (a 15-min walk away) and what to see. He also called taxis for me from the cheaper companies, although all taxis in Skopje are cheap by North American standards.

Breakfast was simple (coffee, tea, pastries, cheese and some fruits) but filling. Serve yourself and wash your own dishes.

Room Tip: If you're travelling in the off-season, book a bunk bed (9 EUR) and you may get the full dorm to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msgee39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 30 November 2013

The hostel environment has been created with a lot of heart and character from the managment. It's clean, comfortable and imaginatively decorated - it's no wonder that the nice open areas are so sociable and lively!

The management treat each and every guest like a friend, and go out of their way to ensure that you are happy and enjoy your stay. They are all genuine "people persons", very positive, and this really makes the place invigorating to stay. I stayed in thick winter, and would love to come back in the summer to hang out in that lovely garden!

The only downside of it being so comfortable, and there being so many nice and interesting people to chat to is that I saw less of Skopje that I expected, as I barely left the hotel!

10/10, I really hope that I get to come back here.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poznan, Poland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Fantastic place with great staff (both David and his colleague). Warm welcome, great knowledge and advices about Macedonia and Skopje. Hostel is situated in quiet, residential area about 15 minutes walk from city centre, everything is clean and nice. Hostel has big and nice garden! I can't wait to visit Hi Skopje and Skopje itself in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PawelMaciejewski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

This hostel is fantastic, one of the best I've been in. It's super clean and new, the staff are all really nice, the internet is fast and stable, there's a nice common room, the kitchen is clean and fully stocked and there's two supermarkets close by. The only downside is that it's a little bit further from the centre than other hostels but taxis are so cheap (or you can walk) that it doesn't matter.

Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank slabz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

As soon as we arrived we were given a very warm welcome by the lady on the front desk (I'm not going to be able to spell her name correctly but she's a writer and an expert in Macedonian literature!!) who was very helpful and answered our many questions about Skopje and the surrounding area.

Brilliant and very large room with a really comfortable bed! We slept so well that we woke up really late almost every day! When we did get out of bed, we discovered what Skopje had to offer and were very impressed.

Skopje is, without a doubt, one of the most unique cities I have ever visited. The central square definitely makes an impact! Lots of bright, bold and colourful statues and some really interesting architecture. So much to see and do. Skopje Museum (the old rail station) is fascinating and we were very lucky to meet an amazing tour guide who we spoke to for nearly two hours!!!

Would definitely recommend a day out to Canyon Matka which has some superb walks and views. A visit to the Millennium Cross is also worth doing and the Holocaust Museum offers a fascinating but sobering insight into what happened to the Jewish population of Skopje and Macedonia.

Finally, we had some lovely evenings chilling out in the garden finding out more about Skopje from the hosts. We also got to meet the extremely cute Gille (probably spelt incorrectly) a very friendly golden retriever who visits the garden every now and again!

All in all a great stay. Thanks for everything guys!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tempusfugit29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skopje hotels
0.9 mi away
Solun Hotel & SPA
Solun Hotel & SPA
#7 of 68 in Skopje
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa Vodno
Villa Vodno
#5 of 68 in Skopje
5.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.9 mi away
Skopje Marriott Hotel
Skopje Marriott Hotel
#1 of 68 in Skopje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Super 8
Hotel Super 8
#10 of 68 in Skopje
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
1.2 mi away
Shanti Hostel
Shanti Hostel
#1 of 59 in Skopje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.7 mi away
Get Inn Skopje Hostel
Get Inn Skopje Hostel
#3 of 59 in Skopje
5.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hi Skopje Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hi Skopje Hostel

Property: Hi Skopje Hostel
Address: Crnice 15, Skopje 1000, Republic of Macedonia
Region: Republic of Macedonia > Skopje Region > Skopje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 59 Speciality Lodging in Skopje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hi Skopje Hostel is located in the comfy zone, at the base of Vodno Mountain, outside hustle and crowds, yet 10 min walk from center of Skopje. It’s location on a hill, makes the place secure and perfect for the fresh air, for the sunrise side and the wonderful panoramic view of the city. We are two girls that own and run this hostel, and after lot of traveling, we make a hostel like Skopje deserves.With its own garden of 600m2, Hi Skopje is one of the few places in the city, where you can relax, have nice stay and meet new people and cultures. The warm atmosphere in the garden is enriched with summer cinema and lounge parties.Its own natural beauty, with hundreds of plants, inspired us to describe the 4 elements of the nature, within the hostel. Hi Skopje has clean and comfortable mix dorms and private rooms, and each of them has element that represents the natural beauty of Macedonia. There is a large multi-purposed room, with PC , Wi-Fi internet access and a cozy fireplace, where you can share your traveling experiences.Every morning we serve free breakfast, and a free tea and coffee during your stay at our hostel.We’re expecting you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Hi Skopje Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing