We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, A Bit Worn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn - Skopje
Ranked #12 of 71 Hotels in Skopje
Reviewed 13 June 2014

The hotel could not be located in a better part of the city. You can walk to just about everything. The town of Skopje isn't that big to begin with. It is an interesting town none the less and this hotel is the best place to stay if you are a tourist. A bit worn out and older as it was there during all the fighting in the region back in the early 90's when it was a socialist country, still has pot marks on the building from being shot at. The entire city is that way. But it gives the place character. The rooms are a bit dated as well as the bathrooms. They have WiFi and a good restaurant. The price is extremely reasonable. Just don't expect much and you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry8241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnSkopje, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn - Skopje, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

We thank you very much for having chosen our hotel and for taking time to share your rating with us. We are glad that you liked the great hotel location - close to the main city attractions and shops. We also value the negative comments, because they give as a motive for improvements in order to make our guest happy and feel like home when they stay at the Holiday Inn.
Thank you again for your rating and we looking forward to welcoming you back in our hotel next time you visit Skopje.
Sincerely,
Assistant FOM Boris Janev
Holiday Inn Skopje

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (351)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 351 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

This is an old hotel from Yugoslavian times, refurbished about 10 years ago. It is a bit run down and has very small lifts. The wi-fi is so slow it had been better if it wasn't there at all. The food in the restaurant is OK, but not fantastic. The location is good, but at the outside of the center, so there are other better choices. All in all - average.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLC-1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnSkopje, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn - Skopje, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you for taking time to share your comments regarding your recent experience with our hotel.We are truly glad that you enjoyed the room and the hotel’s location. We are truly sorry if the hotel did not meet your expectations at some issues, but also hope that we will be given a second chance because we take the guest comments very seriously and use them as a motive for improvement. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in our hotel when we can complement a free upgrade of the room.
Sincerely,
FOM Tomislav Kotevski
Holiday Inn Skopje

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This hotel is close to the city center. Good restaurants and shopping, the river front, new city buildings and the old city are all within an easy walk. Skopje is a fascinating city. The rooms are nicely appointed.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuneSunset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnSkopje, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn - Skopje, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your comments regarding your recent experience with our hotel. We are truly glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and hope to be your venue place next time you visit Skopje both for leisure or business.
Sincerely,
Assistant FOM Boris Janev
Holiday Inn Skopje

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Comfortable hotel in the center of Skopje. Good restaurant and bar. Wifi of very good quality. Hotel suitable for pleasure and business visits. Right outside the hotel you are in the center of the city with lots of restaurants and terrrasses. Prices are very affordable. Very close to the hotel is a large shopping mall. Meeting faclilities: audio/video/rooms/halls ( >300 persons).

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank JoopGoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnSkopje, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn - Skopje, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your comments regarding your recent experience with our hotel. We are truly glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and hope to be your venue place next time you visit Skopje both for leisure or business.
Sincerely,
Assistant FOM Boris Janev
Holiday Inn Skopje

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

The way I see it, this is probably the best option in the city. The location cannot be beaten, as it is really in the middle of it all.
Service is generally good - check in was fast and easy, and we were quickly in our room. As an IHG Platinum member, got upgraded to their Junior suite - and this was one hell of an experience! These rooms were recently remodeled - everything was new and sparkling, all possible amenities were included (and even had a great blacony overlooking the river!), and it was simply huge.

The biggest diadvantage of the hotel is that apart from the room, it is very very dated and all public areas (lobby, bar, breakfast room, hallways, elevators) require urgent renovations.
Also, breakfast could be improved - the selection is okay, but bread is not always fresh, and service (especially on Sunday) was very lacking. Generally, the quality of most items was rather poor and could be improved. It's worth mentioning that the very dated setting of the breakfast room might have also had an effect on my general breakfast experience...

Also, it's worth mentioning that the quality of towels ould be improved (both towels and bathroom amenities, like soaps, were still labeled with the old "holiday Inn" mark - just shows you how old they were...)

Even got to meet the lovely manager - just shows how much they care, and how much they want to improve.
So generally, a very good choice in Skopje!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank primitivepios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnSkopje, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn - Skopje, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you for taking time to share your comments regarding your recent experience with our hotel.We are truly glad that you enjoyed the room and the hotel’s location. We are truly sorry if the hotel did not meet your expectations at some issues, but also hope that we will be given a second chance because we take the guest comments very seriously and use them as a motive for improvement. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in our hotel.

Sincerely,
Assistant FOM Boris Janev
Holiday Inn Skopje

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The hotel is located just a few steps from the Skopje's Alexander Square, restaurants and bars, and shopping. From the front door you can be in the city's wonderful bazaar in a couple of minutes - unless the monument and sights along the way slow you down.
As for the hotel itself, the rooms are clean, comfortable, and well maintained. The staff is excellent; very helpful and friendly. I find some of the comments about the breakfast perplexing; breakfast for the several days I was there was quite good.

Room Tip: Rooms that face the pedestrian walkway along the river can be noisy at night when there are people a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnSkopje, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn - Skopje, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

We thank you very much for having chosen our hotel and for taking time to share your comments with us. We are truly glad that you liked the excellent location, the cleaninless of the rooms and the satisfaction fom the staff.

Thank you again for your rating and we looking forward to welcoming you back in our hotel next time you visit Skopje.

Sincerely,
Assistant FOM Boris Janev
Holiday Inn Skopje

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Modern hotel in the center of Skopje, close to allo the important monuments in town. On the bank of the river, and near many riverside restaurants and caffes.
I enjoyed the atmosphere and the cosy room, which despite the fact it wasn't very large, was pleasantly furnished and gave the feeling of "home away from home". There is a mini-bar and coffee making facilities in the room.
Breakfast was good, evderything was nperfectly clean and the pillos and mattress were of very good quality.
Recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TzviaO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnSkopje, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn - Skopje, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear TzviaO,

We would like to thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Skopje and for taking time to share your recent experience with our hotel and to write such kind words.

We hope we will have the honor to welcome you back at our property next time you visit Skopje.

Sincerely,
FOM Tomislav Kotevski
Holiday Inn Skopje

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skopje hotels
0.3 mi away
Skopje Marriott Hotel
Skopje Marriott Hotel
#1 of 71 in Skopje
208 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bushi Resort & Spa
Bushi Resort & Spa
#8 of 71 in Skopje
166 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel De KOKA
Hotel De KOKA
#10 of 71 in Skopje
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Alexandar Square Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
ibis Skopje City Center
0.9 mi away
Park Hotel & Spa
Park Hotel & Spa
#13 of 71 in Skopje
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn - Skopje? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn - Skopje

Address: Mosa Pijade Street 2, Skopje 1000, Republic of Macedonia
Phone Number:
Region: Republic of Macedonia > Skopje Region > Skopje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Skopje
Price Range: £63 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Holiday Inn - Skopje 5*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Skopje is situated in the heart of the city, next to the most important Government and administrative offices, shopping centres, theatres, museums and cinemas. The hotel is only 25 km far from the international airport Aleksandar Veliki and is most convenient for business as well as for leisure travellers.Holiday Inn Skopje offers 178 comfortable rooms and suites on 9 floors.Each room is equipped with bath, air conditioning system,mini bar,direct telephone line with voice mail system,computer sockets, internet access, satellite and pay TV.One room is specially designed and equipped for disabled persons.Feel the pleasant atmosphere of the restaurant Iris and enjoy the tasty international dishes or try the Macedonian meals and wines at the national restaurant Ogniste .The Aperitif Bar is ideal meeting place offering a variety of domestic and international beverages, coffees and snacks.The Meeting Network Programme has been developed to make your meeting run as smoothly as possible.The hotel has 8 different conference halls with capacity for up to 700 persons,with natural daylight and excellent technical support.The business centre is open 24 hours, offering workstations, printers, fax machine and HS Wirreless internet access After a long business day, you can relax at the Hotel sauna or gym. Or you can try your luck in the magic world of Le Grand Casino! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn - Skopje reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn - Skopje Hotel Skopje
Skopje Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing