We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid but not impressive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn - Skopje
Ranked #11 of 70 Hotels in Skopje
Graz, Austria
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Solid but not impressive”
Reviewed 15 June 2010

Of the nicer hotels in Skopje, this has the best location, it is very convenient for meetings or just to have a drink or dinner on the Vardar river or anywhere in the center. The hotel is bland and although well-maintained seems already a bit dated. 10 Euros for wireless internet seems to steep (considering that all cafes around it have free internet). The breakfast is pretty terrible for the level of the hotel (i.e. just toasts, no other bread).
The business center has free computers, but they are 10 years old and not very fast--it would be good for the hotel to update these kinds of services, new computers, free wi-fi and a bit more inviting breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karabiber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    123
    137
    17
    2
See reviews for
10
42
35
214
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2010

Extremely disappointing, smell coming out of bathroom was awful, room looked tired (same comment fo hotel in general). Never again!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gascondomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Skopje hotels

Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2010

Rooms were clean, although decor was dated. Service was great. The front desk staff spoke good English and was always very helpful: I lost my room key and when one of the staff happened upon me emptying my purse in front of my hotel room trying to find the key, he brought me up a new key after politely verifying that I actually was staying there. Maids always did an impeccable job cleaning my room, and even folded my pajamas that I forgot to put away one day. I generally didn't have a problem with noise. I could occasionally hear someone walking above me in the room above mine or passing in the hall. Breakfast was included in the price of the room, but I'm not an early riser and did not have an opportunity to eat in the restaurant except to grab a piece of fruit on the run. Breakfast buffet looked like typical European fare. I didn't take advantage of the pillow menu in my room, either, which apparently would have allowed me to swap out my pillow for something more amenable than a standard polyfill pillow... Internet access in the room was very expensive, but the lobby has a small business office hosting two archaic computers with free (but slow) internet access, which is good enough if you just want to check your email since it was rarely busy. Hotel is in a good location; it's only a five minute walk to the Old City (I had a view of the old stone bridge from my room). The hotel is located next to a number of restaurants and bars, so I didn't use the hotel's restaurant/bar.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wagnerchelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2010

Good location, close to shops and bars on riverside. I would recommens the Irish bar and Cuban bar close by on the waterside.
Although the room was on the small side had all amenities required.
It is worth knowing that all bars have to provide internet for free in Macedonia, so don't pay for an internet connection. Just get a drink and ask for the internet password.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrahamN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
477 reviews
158 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2009

Hotel is fine for what it is. Nothing special and the rooms were fine (was upgraded to a Deluxe Room).

Location is excellent - as previous reviewers have said. Not sure if Macedonia have yet to experience 'No Smoking' signs, but the whole place reeks of stale tobacco. That includes the hotel. You do get used to it, but its not very nice.

Check in/out was fine. Internet at €10 a day was a little steep, but hey...this is Europe! Price of room was expensive. I don't think there are enough western 'chain hotels' in Skopje so I guess they can charge what they like.

Am sure there are worse places to stay in Skopje.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malim27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2009

Hotel was OK for a business hotel in Skopje.

Negative point:

Internet: 10EUR!!!

Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank BerndW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2009

I spent one night in this hotel and was regaled with tales of woe by colleagues staying elsewhere in Skopje.
The hotel is clean, bed is comfortable, food is pretty acceptable and the service is very good. The staff speak excellent English and are very helpful.
The location is very central and I had a view over the river with mountains off to the distance.

Internet access was OK via the hotel WLAN but like most in Europe it was chargeable.

Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skopje hotels
0.3 mi away
Skopje Marriott Hotel
Skopje Marriott Hotel
#1 of 70 in Skopje
137 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Senigallia
Hotel Senigallia
#2 of 70 in Skopje
101 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alexandar Square Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ibis Skopje City Center
0.3 mi away
Hotel De KOKA
Hotel De KOKA
#8 of 70 in Skopje
187 reviews
0.4 mi away
Solun Hotel & SPA
Solun Hotel & SPA
#7 of 70 in Skopje
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn - Skopje? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn - Skopje

Property: Holiday Inn - Skopje
Address: Mosa Pijade Street 2, Skopje 1000, Republic of Macedonia
Phone Number:
Region: Republic of Macedonia > Skopje Region > Skopje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Skopje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Holiday Inn - Skopje 5*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Skopje is situated in the heart of the city, next to the most important Government and administrative offices, shopping centres, theatres, museums and cinemas. The hotel is only 25 km far from the international airport Aleksandar Veliki and is most convenient for business as well as for leisure travellers.Holiday Inn Skopje offers 178 comfortable rooms and suites on 9 floors.Each room is equipped with bath, air conditioning system,mini bar,direct telephone line with voice mail system,computer sockets, internet access, satellite and pay TV.One room is specially designed and equipped for disabled persons.Feel the pleasant atmosphere of the restaurant Iris and enjoy the tasty international dishes or try the Macedonian meals and wines at the national restaurant Ogniste .The Aperitif Bar is ideal meeting place offering a variety of domestic and international beverages, coffees and snacks.The Meeting Network Programme has been developed to make your meeting run as smoothly as possible.The hotel has 8 different conference halls with capacity for up to 700 persons,with natural daylight and excellent technical support.The business centre is open 24 hours, offering workstations, printers, fax machine and HS Wirreless internet access After a long business day, you can relax at the Hotel sauna or gym. Or you can try your luck in the magic world of Le Grand Casino! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn - Skopje reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn - Skopje Hotel Skopje
Skopje Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing