We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Restaurant with authentic food”
Review of Old House

Old House
Ranked #5 of 266 Restaurants in Skopje
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Central European
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant with authentic food”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

The a very nice Restaurant in Skopje, the best we tried during our 5 nights stay. The food was excellent and the service was impeccable. They also offer a good selection of good local wines. We would for sure visit again

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth_Pedersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    105
    34
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Excellent Traditional Food”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The food here was amazing, although we were surprised when the main course came before we had finished our starter and the waiter told us to move our plates over. After this had happened, we noticed other people ordering only their starter and then ordering their main course at a later point, so we assumed that it was customary....although we didn't encounter it any where else in Skopje. The meat dishes are priced by weight, but it was no problem to order smaller portions than the menu showed, as my husband did with the traditional sausage dish . Restaurant had lots of character and was deceptively big. Other than the starter/main course timing, the service was good. It was our favourite meal of our trip.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnaNickB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delft, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
598 reviews
227 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Traditional Macedonian food in a traditional Macedonian House”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Inner design reproduces the atmosphere from the old times (XVIII century or so). You will see traditional Macedonian clothes, wooden tables, icon-lamps. We tried Shepard's salad and Turli tara (lamb), both are delicious.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shimnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurants in Skopje”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

This is undoubtedly one of the best restaurants in Skopje. It has a great ambiance whether you choose to sit outside or inside. The food is fresh and tastes amazing.

It serves amazing fresh salads, freshly baked break or 'furnarini', traditional 'stew' type meals, all types of meat, fish....the desert menu is lacking but after the main mean we had no room for desert.

Will definitely be back here.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lilly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Spacious restauramt in traditional house.”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

They served good, traditional food for our group! Nice service. Cozy atmosphere. Next time in Skopje I will go there again.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Klaus_Aarhus_Denmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old House also viewed

Skopje, Skopje Region
Skopje, Skopje Region
 
Skopje, Skopje Region
Skopje, Skopje Region
 

Been to Old House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing