We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Macedonian experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old House

Old House
Ranked #7 of 250 Restaurants in Skopje
Cuisines: European, Eastern European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
153 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great Macedonian experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We arrived here in the afternoon after a nice walk and a drink on the quay next to the water.
The restaurant was almost empty, it seemed we just missed the lunch service in which they served 200 persons ...
Nevertheless, there was no proble in giving us a seat and serving us, we asked our friendly waitress to surprise us with traditional macedonian dishes.
I must say she did a great job, she served us (of course) the skopje salad but also much more then that including a sublime macedonian wine of 2007 - Vranec.
Many small dishes, one even more nice then the other and after all that, a lovely lamb stew.
A great afternoon experience which I would certainly recommend to anyone going to Skopje.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom_Hadee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    99
    29
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“traditional Macedonian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Its a very nice renovated old macedonian house with real macedonien cuisine. You have to try "mezze" which is a traditional arrangement of starters.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gernot R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
129 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Excellent local food!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Located in the oldest building of the city. The restaurant is located close to the center. The interior is very beautiful, with it's terrace it must be a great place during summer as well. I had a steak with mushroom sauce as main dish and some garlic bread. It was delicious, the meat was so tender it melted in my mouth. The service was very good as well. I recommend this restaurant to everyone. The only minus point is, that it might be too touristy, but don't let that scare you off.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank TheFlyingLundi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good authentic food that comes with a charming atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

This restaurant serves some very good authentic dishes at reasonable prices (though not cheap). The setting and atmosphere is very charming, as it has couple of levels, it's not getting noisy, and has some nice decorations such as traditional costumes.
We've had a light lunch which included Ajvar (delicious peppers and aubergine paste, a Serbian dish in its origin), a nice green salad with turkey strips (was nice but I wouldn't repeat that choice), and roasted lamb that comes with some potatoes and carrots (the meat was extremely good, but its portion was a bit small comparing to the potatoes and carrots). The service was good too, as you'd expect from such a restaurant.
I'd recommend this restaurant, as it definitely has good food and atmosphere. It does worth the minor detour from the center.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Omri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
229 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Overrated I would say”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Had a meal here recently and was unimpressed. It is a type of restaurant found in every major city where locals (possibly on expense accounts) bring visitors from other countries to experience the "real" cuisine of the country. The decor, location and the professionalism of the service is good. The food, however, is mediocre and uninspiring and while, I think, it aims to provide authentic Macedonian food in a "typical" Macedonian atmosphere it is stagey. The wait staff push the table towards a starter of a selection of dishes and advise that you try this and then see how you feel for main courses and if you need them. A good idea perhaps. To summarise a place to visit once and go elsewhere thereafter.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BrianCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old House also viewed

Skopje, Skopje Region
Skopje, Skopje Region
 
Skopje, Skopje Region
Skopje, Skopje Region
 

Been to Old House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing