We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Local Food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old House

Old House
Ranked #7 of 250 Restaurants in Skopje
Cuisines: European, Eastern European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Groups, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Fiddletown, California
Level Contributor
608 reviews
240 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Good Local Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We had a late lunch here and really enjoyed the food and service. Our waitress spoke very good English. We had some local fare that I couldn't pronounce. The only down side is they still allow smoking inside the restaurant. Would go back again.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank scvrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    99
    29
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Grateful for the tip of a national treasure...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

We only found about this place, due to our hotel receptionist giving us a handy tip on a great restaurant serving traditional Macedonian food which was only 5 mins walk from our hotel (super 8).
Was a great honour to have eaten in the oldest traditional house that is still in use. So much more than just food in a restaurant. The house oozes character and style, that should be recognised from the moment you walk in.
Looking at the restaurant from outside, it looks nothing special, in fact you can just about make out its open. We were welcomed the moment we walked in, whilst we admired the traditional fine decor.
Both our main dishes were the beef and ribs, and both dishes were cooked with great emphasis, ensuring the meat was cut without putting hardly any effort into the knife. Also a broad selection of herbal teas was an added bonus for my wife who is a huge herbal tea fan!
The price we thought was reasonable, but let's be serious, if this is one of the best restaurants in Skopje, then it's very much doubtful that your going to grab a bargain. If your looking for quality in all departments, then this is your place..

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Daniel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Authentic Macedonian ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

We ate here two nights while in Macedonia, the first night we all ordered separately. I had the chicken and prosciutto with cream sauce... Amazing!!
The second night we ordered traditional family style... Amazing!!! You can't go wrong here this paired with local wine and the prices... This is a must try if you ever come to Skopje.

Helpful?
Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
202 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, very good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Beautiful house (with a good story) and it makes for a wonderful atmosphere, very relaxed yet elegant. Good service, appropriately attentive. Food contains some excellent dishes. The dried plums in prosciutto (kebabs) were the best. The tavche gravche was fine but no different or better than what you can get at any number of taverna-style lunch restaurants in town. There were other nice dishes in casserole dishes. But the baklava dessert was really terrible--it was a Sunday night, and maybe it just wasn't fresh, but it was just weak. Still, the overall dinner was really nice, and a very good price (as expected in Skopje). Dinner for two (two glasses of wine and a bottle of mineral water), two starters, two mains, a dessert (suitable for sharing) and a coffee, with a tip (very American) = 1800-ish denars, or about $38.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pdwschmidt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice atmosfer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

we had 3 diners in Skopje and 2 of them was in Old House. They had best shopska salad in all Balkan countrys. Prices are reasonable and foods are good you can also try their own made wines. 2 people dines for like 10-20 Euro for 1. Enjoy...

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Burak A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old House also viewed

Skopje, Skopje Region
Skopje, Skopje Region
 
Skopje, Skopje Region
Skopje, Skopje Region
 

Been to Old House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing