We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bizarre”
Review of Macedonia Square

Macedonia Square
Book In Advance
More Info
US$12.59*
and up
Half Day Walking Tour of Old and New Skopje
Legnano, Italy
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Bizarre”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The statue in the middle is certainly imposing, but overall this square leaves a strange feeling. I didn't decide yet if I liked or not, but is defenetely bizarre.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ziopelo85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    285
    270
    139
    40
    53
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
152 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Brand new kitch”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

It is brand new which makes it kitchy, nevertheless they did a great job in creation a nice attractive square for the tourists visiting Skopje.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tom_Hadee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Impressive peoples place.”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The main square in Skopje has as main atraction a huge fountain with dancing waters. When the music is on , on the public speakers the climax is perfect. The statue with Alexander the Great with a horse send you back in time,

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank MarcosHans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
200 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Quite Impressive”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

If you like big statues you will find more than enough here. But it is quite attractive & there are many cafes to people watch.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank EastofEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Thanks for the Cross that overlooks your city!”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I like the cross that overlooks the city. I had been here a number of years ago and maybe it wasn't there then, but was a welcome sight for me. It was cold and raining when I was here in Skopje, but it seemed like a lot changes have been made since 2003. I was impressed with the beautiful bridges and great sculptures of art. The old Turkish bazaar seems like it has undergone some changes as well. I only wish the weather was nicer but I know Skopje can't change that.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank happy60798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Macedonia Square also viewed

Skopje, Skopje Region
 

Been to Macedonia Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing