We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Training at hotel Solun” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Solun Hotel & SPA

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Solun Hotel & SPA
Ranked #7 of 69 Hotels in Skopje
Certificate of Excellence
Estepona, Spain
Level Contributor
158 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Training at hotel Solun”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

The staff at the hotel are very nice and always very helpful.
The rooms are big, new and nice just missing a comfortable chair. The bath rooms are very nice and a great shower.
The meeting room facilities are nice, but the room is small and the staff is not yet fully up to running bigger meetings
The breakfast and lunches are ok, but no more than that and the space is small so with 30 participants there are always queues.
The hotel is very centrally placed, 5 minutes walk from the central square.

In total a positive experience to stay at the hotel, but to run trainings etc they need more experience

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank FOSheye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    84
    13
    2
    5
See reviews for
8
43
17
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

First off, had to leave a day early because the AC was broken I can't sleep in 25 degrees Celsius.

Decided to give it a second chance since the design and location is great and one of our clients told us they can get a good discount. I put my colleague in there (I refused to stay) and apparently we were charged double then what we thought we were going to.

No more referrals, no more staying at Hotel Solun. Bad experience, twice.

Room Tip: Find a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana H, Guest Relations Manager at Solun Hotel & SPA, responded to this review, 18 July 2016
Dear Mr. Chris
First to apologize for the delayed reply and , are very sorry that you had a bad experience during your stay
At the time that you stayed the hotel just started with work, but that is no excuse for everything that you have to pass thru .All those anomalies that we had they are already repaired . the extra payment that you mentioned can you please explain to us and we will check with our bank
I hope you accept our apology and will visit us .We will give you the best discount and service

Thank you for understanding

With Best regards
Aleksandra
Hotel Solun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

I only stayed for a flying visit before a flight back to London however the hotel was in a great location in the centre of town. They have a good lobby area with nice background music, coffee/bar area and the all important very fast WIFI (perfect as well for Skype video calls) which worked just as well in the room. The reception staff were super helpful and gave me a breakfast bag as I had an early morning flight. Only opened for 5 months and they will do well. The front office team on the desk did a great job and asked all the right questions to ensure I was looked after. Double bed for me was fine and a good shower/wet room.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davidjlawrence354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Everything about this hotel was wonderful. Any negative in the previous reviews seems to have been addressed and corrected. The staff was the best I have ever encountered. The room was well appointed and extremely clean. I loved staying here.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RJM124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawaii
Level Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

Beautiful, new, modern hotel run by friendly, interesting staff who go out of their way to make you feel welcome...Maya & Igor, we mean you! Rooms are beautiful (ok...a few quirky things like a window looking into the shower, a glass closet...), but a great shower with big, fluffy towels, large breakfast, nice wine selection, free wifi & big flat-screen tv and perfect location close to Macedonia Square, but in a quiet area! Small desk & chair in our room...perfect for work! We love this place!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SKYITALY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

Booked here for two nights after issues with a place around the corner. The basic room we booked was unavailable, so we were upgraded for free to a suite-type room. Nice start.

Room was HUGE with a balcony (though the bird poop needs to be cleaned up). Also has a separate bathroom with an odd full-height window covered in blinds which are controlled from inside the sleeping area. Weird. Rainfall shower was nice.

As another reviewer said, we found the air conditioning suspect. Set it around 22, but the temperature didn't read less than 25 all night. Told them the next morning and it was better that evening, though it still appeared to be struggling to cool the room. Luckily it wasn't particularly warm, but I could see trouble at the height of summer.

Decent breakfast in the hotel restaurant. Loved having BBC channel. Solid wifi. Great location. Not the greatest value at $200+ per night. Also a negative, room doors which don't have knobs or levers to turn. The doors basically have to be slammed or pulled shut and they make a good bit of noise doing so. The front desk guy told us someone screwed up and they're supposed to be fixed.

Summary--looks amazing, but needs some closer attention to basics (doors, AC, etc).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wasaga Beach, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

The AC does not work at this place. I asked them to fix it, they said they did. I woke up sweating the next morning. Room was 26.4 Celsius. I'll never stay here again. Also the rooms are so small you can barely walk around the bed. And there is not even 1 chair I'm the room. Don't expect to get any business done here.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WasagalifeDOTcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana H, General Manager at Solun Hotel & SPA, responded to this review, 18 July 2016
Dear Sir,

We are very Sorry that you have bad experience during your stay.
The problem with the temperature been solved
As measurement for the safety of our guests, Hotel Solun had installed
Fresh Ventilation System (heating and cooling)
- Electrical installation – Halogen free
- Sprinkle System (in every guest room and public surfaces)
- EVAC System (in every guest room and public surfaces)
We have all the necessary certificates

And about the problem with the room size hotel Solun have 10 different types of room. You were accommodated in the Standard Single Room that is the smallest room in the hotel.
On our web site you had the all information for every rooms type - square meters , facility's
We are aware that there's room for improvement, and constantly work on providing better service for all our guests. The feedback from our customers plays an essential part in doing so. Hope to be Your hosts again in the future.

You can contact us via e-mail or phone and we be our pleasure to give you the best offer and make sure you have a wonderful stay.

Thank you !
With best regards
Hotel Solun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skopje hotels
0.1 mi away
Skopje Marriott Hotel
Skopje Marriott Hotel
#2 of 69 in Skopje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bushi Resort & Spa
Bushi Resort & Spa
#8 of 69 in Skopje
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Senigallia
Hotel Senigallia
#1 of 69 in Skopje
5.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Alexandar Square Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel De KOKA
Hotel De KOKA
#9 of 69 in Skopje
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
1.0 mi away
Villa Vodno
Villa Vodno
#4 of 69 in Skopje
5.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solun Hotel & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solun Hotel & SPA

Property: Solun Hotel & SPA
Address: Nikola Vapcarov Str. no. 10, Skopje 1000, Republic of Macedonia
Phone Number:
Region: Republic of Macedonia > Skopje Region > Skopje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 69 Hotels in Skopje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Solun Hotel & SPA 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Solun Hotel & Spa**** Superior welcomes you to the first ECO hotel on the Balkans. Situated at the city major square: an inspired fusion of art elegance with contemporary energy. Perfectly located for sightseeing, shopping and socializing, Solun Hotel&Spa four-star superior hotel has opened its doors for a new experience.Enjoy a warm welcome by the hotel staff and relax in one of the 10 different types of rooms and two new open Apartments . Experience the green energy throughout the hotel. Start your day with a perfectly served breakfast buffet. Schedule your meetings in one of the conference rooms and meet up with your colleagues for a drink in one of the bars or the restaurant. After the busy day, maintain your exercise routine with a workout in the fitness center or swim laps in the indoor swimming pool and have massage . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Solun Hotel & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing