We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely city centre hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Solun Hotel & SPA

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Solun Hotel & SPA
Ranked #7 of 69 Hotels in Skopje
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely city centre hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

Great hotel, in the centre of this very walkable city. Friendly staff and a small but perfectly formed room made the stay very pleasant. Seems slightly more expensive than many hotels is Skopje, but worth it as a treat. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nevillebartok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    86
    13
    2
    5
See reviews for
8
44
17
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Iasi
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

I stayed at Hotel Solun in February 2014 and it's been a really nice experience especially because of the people who work there- from the reception, waiters and people who clean the rooms.
Nice fresh breakfast,clean rooms a bit small but convenient if you're in Skopje for a short term; sound-proof windows, very nice gym as well. It's very convenient as it's 2 mins from Skopje Square and 5 mins walk from the Old Bazaar.
I recommend this hotel especially for its hospitality.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aionitoae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta
Level Contributor
105 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

400 m from the central square, located just of the road, this design hotel is fine for business.
Rooms are very much ok (could have done with 1 chair), bathrooms too.
Macedonian breakfast is high calorie normally, but fruits & yoghurts were available too
staff is very friendly and accomodating

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank djcbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

Hotel Solun is a very pleasant and comfortable hotel. Don't let one much-reviewed incident of broken AC stop you from staying here.

Positives: Very helpful staff, decent breakfast, very fast WiFi, extremely comfortable bed, soundproof windows, easily programmable heat and AC, fantastic location just off the main square of Skopje.

Negatives: They definitely value form over function; the closet had two glass panels blocking the closet rods and shelves in between them, making it hard to use the closet, and the shower was separated from the bathroom by only a narrow glass panel with no door, meaning the bathroom basically flooded completely every time I showered. Also, I paid for an upgrade to a business room, and the only "business" aspect to the room was a desk rendered useless by a insanely uncomfortable and un-ergonomic chair made from very hard and cold metal. Save your money; you won't want to use the desk.

Overall: A comfortable and enjoyable place to stay for tourists and business travelers who don't have to get work done in their room. I'll definitely be staying here again, as will all out of town visitors to my company. Four stars.

Room Tip: Save your money on the upgrade to the business room; the desk chair is so uncomfortable the desk is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erin2510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estepona, Spain
Level Contributor
158 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

The staff at the hotel are very nice and always very helpful.
The rooms are big, new and nice just missing a comfortable chair. The bath rooms are very nice and a great shower.
The meeting room facilities are nice, but the room is small and the staff is not yet fully up to running bigger meetings
The breakfast and lunches are ok, but no more than that and the space is small so with 30 participants there are always queues.
The hotel is very centrally placed, 5 minutes walk from the central square.

In total a positive experience to stay at the hotel, but to run trainings etc they need more experience

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank FOSheye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

First off, had to leave a day early because the AC was broken I can't sleep in 25 degrees Celsius.

Decided to give it a second chance since the design and location is great and one of our clients told us they can get a good discount. I put my colleague in there (I refused to stay) and apparently we were charged double then what we thought we were going to.

No more referrals, no more staying at Hotel Solun. Bad experience, twice.

Room Tip: Find a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana H, Guest Relations Manager at Solun Hotel & SPA, responded to this review, 18 July 2016
Dear Mr. Chris
First to apologize for the delayed reply and , are very sorry that you had a bad experience during your stay
At the time that you stayed the hotel just started with work, but that is no excuse for everything that you have to pass thru .All those anomalies that we had they are already repaired . the extra payment that you mentioned can you please explain to us and we will check with our bank
I hope you accept our apology and will visit us .We will give you the best discount and service

Thank you for understanding

With Best regards
Aleksandra
Hotel Solun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

I only stayed for a flying visit before a flight back to London however the hotel was in a great location in the centre of town. They have a good lobby area with nice background music, coffee/bar area and the all important very fast WIFI (perfect as well for Skype video calls) which worked just as well in the room. The reception staff were super helpful and gave me a breakfast bag as I had an early morning flight. Only opened for 5 months and they will do well. The front office team on the desk did a great job and asked all the right questions to ensure I was looked after. Double bed for me was fine and a good shower/wet room.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidjlawrence354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skopje hotels
0.1 mi away
Skopje Marriott Hotel
Skopje Marriott Hotel
#1 of 69 in Skopje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Senigallia
Hotel Senigallia
#3 of 69 in Skopje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bushi Resort & Spa
Bushi Resort & Spa
#8 of 69 in Skopje
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Alexandar Square Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel De KOKA
Hotel De KOKA
#9 of 69 in Skopje
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Skopje City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solun Hotel & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solun Hotel & SPA

Property: Solun Hotel & SPA
Address: Nikola Vapcarov Str. no. 10, Skopje 1000, Republic of Macedonia
Phone Number:
Region: Republic of Macedonia > Skopje Region > Skopje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 69 Hotels in Skopje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Solun Hotel & SPA 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Solun Hotel & Spa**** Superior welcomes you to the first ECO hotel on the Balkans. Situated at the city major square: an inspired fusion of art elegance with contemporary energy. Perfectly located for sightseeing, shopping and socializing, Solun Hotel&Spa four-star superior hotel has opened its doors for a new experience.Enjoy a warm welcome by the hotel staff and relax in one of the 10 different types of rooms and two new open Apartments . Experience the green energy throughout the hotel. Start your day with a perfectly served breakfast buffet. Schedule your meetings in one of the conference rooms and meet up with your colleagues for a drink in one of the bars or the restaurant. After the busy day, maintain your exercise routine with a workout in the fitness center or swim laps in the indoor swimming pool and have massage . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Solun Hotel & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing