We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice city center hotel”
Review of Solun Hotel & SPA

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Solun Hotel & SPA
Ranked #7 of 71 Hotels in Skopje
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Stayed here for a night with my partner. Its very near Macedonia Square, therefor, near all the action. Its a modern hotel with good decoration and quite stylish in its design. The restaurant/bar is quite small (I guess they expect people to dine out) so is mainly used for breakfast, which is a very good continental style offering. the room we stayed in was on the small side, but had everything we wanted in, except that the curtain was hanging off its rail (never got sorted out despite me asking). They allowed us to stay until early evening at no additional cost. The staff here are professional, efficient, friendly and helpful. Recommended.

Room Tip: Make sure you book the parking and know where the hotel is before you try to find it!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TFH04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (195)
There are newer reviews for Solun Hotel & SPA
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 195 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014

Very nice and modern hotel in the center of Skopje. Rooms are extremly small, and I would not recommend it for a longer stay. Parking was not finished yet. Rooms are perfectly clean, the staff is nice. Breskfast is very nice. WiFi was working perfectly in the rooms. Not a very nice view as it is between the buildings. I had some problems with AC (some of my colleagues in other rooms too)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darko M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Very modern and stylish hotel in the city center of Skopje. This seemed to be the newest and only hotel with nice looking rooms during my recent stay in Macedonia. It is situated in a backyard and the view from my room was not so nice. The room itself as well as all hotel facilities were very nice. The breakfast was really good with a wide choice of high quality dishes and omeletts to order. It's only a 2 minutes walk to the city center with all the new buildings and statues. If you are looking for a nice hotel with western standard in the city center, this should be your choice.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Fritz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Very friendly and helpful staff (especially Alexandra from reception).
Excellent buffet breakfast, modern rooms and close to the downtown.
For sightseeing tours as well as business travel recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krijezi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Some aspects of our stay here were good, but in some other ways they really fell short of the mark.

On the plus side:
-The location is fabulous, very close to the main square and just a few moments from the Warrior on a Horse Statue/fountain.
-There is a taxi rank just out side the hotel
-The hotel has a wonderful modern feel
-Spotlessly clean throughout
-great toiletries
-Good breakfast
-absolutely excellent Wi-Fi - very fast; including in the bedrooms
-free safe in room
-fab raindrop shower

However, they fall short on service at times
-On arrival we were not offered any information about places to visit, they asked us where we wanted to go (thank goodness for trip Advisor)
- We had just four hangers in out room, I asked at reception and they sent us an extra 3! (Seriously not catering to tourists at all, there were two of us with a weeks worth of clothes)
-We had just one set of towels, when I told reception they said oh and picked up the phone. I had to ask what would happen and then they told me that some would be delivered, they apologised and it was rectified, but I wasn't too happy with being just left stood by reception.
-Nice idea that they provide slippers, but just one pair between the two of us, I couldn't be bothered to request more
-We wanted to visit Matka Canyon and having read on Trip Advisor, that it was possible to take a bus, we told the receptionist the bus number and she even took the trouble to walk out side and point to exactly the right spot for the bus stop. unfortunately it turned out the bus ran infrequently and the receptionist didn't know/check. We were left stood in the hot sun for over an hour. Another receptionist then booked us a taxi, for the following day, but didn't clarify the price, and never told the taxi driver we needed to go to the airport afterwards. We ended up with a badly timed trip, which costed up considerably more than it would have done with good information. (The full story is below if you want it)

The room looks pretty but is impractical.
- the hinge of the safe is closest to you and the door opens towards you which means you have to crouch on the floor and reach around it
-no drawers in the room for your smalls

The detail of mis-info situation

When the first receptionist showed us the bus stop, we asked if we could pay on the bus and the response was she thought we might be able to, but she didn't know anything about buses!
We waited for 1 hr and 15 mins at the bus stop, we never saw that bus number go either way. My partner has stage four cancer, and standing up for an hour is really tough for her, let alone standing for an hour in hot sunshine. Later we discovered (from another receptionist) that this bus only runs once or twice a day. If the receptionist had told us that the bus ran so infrequently we would have been able to plan to arrive at an appropriate time. Why didn't the receptionist check instead of leaving us inconvenienced.

The other receptionist offered to set up a taxi for us instead the following morning before we left for the airport. ( A bit disappointing in that the bus journey would have cost us 1 Euro each return, instead we paid equivalent to £21.00 or 19 Euros.) However at least we would be able to see Matka.

Unfortunately, she did not tell the driver we wanted to go to the airport afterwards, so we ended up with confusion and price confusion. We had even asked her about this and she had told us we would need to pay the standard airport fee in Euros, but actually he would have accepted a smaller amount combined with the Matka taxi fee, but as we had taken her advice and not got the extra out of the cashpoint machine, more costs were incurred. He offered us a combined price for going to Matka and the airport, but we couldn't take it. She told us he would ait with us at Matka, but this wasn't the case, he left us there, in fact a different person picked us up so some other person ended up with out cases. On arrival at Matka he wanted to drop us at some random spot with a steep slope to climb. ( Not viable for my unwell l partner)

If the hotel had given us the correct information we could have visited Matka at our leisure on the final full day of our holiday, instead the morning before we flew was very stressful, with lots of extra costs. Only when I complained to them over the phone did they try and resolve some of it We told the person from the hotel what time we needed to be at the airport; and they told us the time we needed to be collected, which left us with little time at Matka but bizarrely enabled us to have a bonus 45 minutes at possible the smallest airport in Europe. (We certainly didn't need the two hours we had allowed let alone the extra time) If they had explained that we needed a shorter check in time, we could have had longer in a wonderful beauty spot.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TMTLTBMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Itz a very good and convenient hotel. in the heart of the city very close to the main square of Skopia.Althought it is surrounded by old buildings and it is hidden behind them ,the hotel is worthy of staying.It is very clean,thestaff very polite,very quite and with a very good breakfast.Finally its a short walk to the main sightseeings and the old city as well.

Room Tip: :All the. rooms are quiet the size depending on the type you choosec
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christos V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Although it has a less than pre-possessing entrance gate and the immediate surroundings appear to be a work in progress, the Solun has a perfect location in Skopje and the standard room is comfortable and well maintained. It is a two-minute walk to the main square and a selection of river-side cafes and bars, and perhaps 5 minutes to the old town via the stone bridge. Despite this, the area is very quiet in the evening. The staff were friendly and helpful during my visit, and the buffet breakfast selection was generous and varied. At 100 Euros the room was expensive by Macedonian standards, but reflects the quality of the hotel and its prime location. For a longer stay you might want a larger room, but for one or two nights the Solun is ideal.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henry229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skopje hotels
0.1 mi away
Skopje Marriott Hotel
Skopje Marriott Hotel
#1 of 71 in Skopje
174 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bushi Resort & Spa
Bushi Resort & Spa
#9 of 71 in Skopje
156 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel De KOKA
Hotel De KOKA
#8 of 71 in Skopje
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Alexandar Square Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Senigallia
Hotel Senigallia
#3 of 71 in Skopje
109 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Skopje City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solun Hotel & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solun Hotel & SPA

Address: Nikola Vapcarov Str. no. 10, Skopje 1000, Republic of Macedonia
Phone Number:
Region: Republic of Macedonia > Skopje Region > Skopje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 71 Hotels in Skopje
Price Range: £60 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Solun Hotel & SPA 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Solun Hotel & Spa**** Superior welcomes you to the first ECO hotel on the Balkans. Situated at the city major square: an inspired fusion of art elegance with contemporary energy. Perfectly located for sightseeing, shopping and socializing, Solun Hotel&Spa four-star superior hotel has opened its doors for a new experience.Enjoy a warm welcome by the hotel staff and relax in one of the 10 different types of rooms and two new open Apartments . Experience the green energy throughout the hotel. Start your day with a perfectly served breakfast buffet. Schedule your meetings in one of the conference rooms and meet up with your colleagues for a drink in one of the bars or the restaurant. After the busy day, maintain your exercise routine with a workout in the fitness center or swim laps in the indoor swimming pool and have massage . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Solun Hotel & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing