We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic hotel, residential area, need transport to city sights”
Review of Hotel Mramor

Hotel Mramor
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Mramor
Ranked #42 of 71 Hotels in Skopje
Phoenix
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Basic hotel, residential area, need transport to city sights”
Reviewed 15 June 2012

We stayed at this hotel as part of a group tour. The hotel is clean with basic amenities. The service at the front desk was actually quite good. It is located well out of the city on a very narrow residential street. There are places to eat within walking distance - primarily pizza places. The room we had was quite small and the bathroom also very small. I would describe the beds as posh mattressed cots and the room was small enough to require putting one's suitcase under the beds. We were told the hotel does not have an elevator and I believe all the room require going up stairs with your suitcase.

Breakfast is basic and held on the lower level of the hotel. Since we were with a group, I am not sure about the price of the hotel. From our perspective, it was a bad choice since we would have far preferred a hotel with a central location and since we had paid for a group tour, we got no financial benefit from staying at this more remote location. So, if you are travelinig on your own, you will need to make your own decision as to whether you prefer to be in a suburb or in the main town.

If I were traveling on my own and visiting as a one-time tourist, I would choose a hotel in the city center and pay a bit more if needed. Then you are free to come and go as you please and simply walk to attractions. We are likely to only visit this area one time in our lives, so convenience is a definite issue since we had limited time there.

There is a public bus that goes from the city center and stops about 5-10 minutes away from the hotel. Some people in our group took cabs from the city center and I do not know how much they spent for that service. When I showed the hotel card to someone in the city to get help catching the correct bus, the general comments were that this hotel was very far away.

The hotel was relatively quiet but again, I would rate this is a basic hotel. I am rating the value as average because location is part of the value for me.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank budgettraveler8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    6
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
1
8
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

The place is located in a really safe and quiet neighbourhood, gave us an offer that we couldn't refuse, visit it, deserves!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 3Luminous11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

Hotel staff was friendly and helpful. Room was spacious. They have a heater in the room, what looks like a picture on the wall, after turning the heating on you just realize, it is the heater itself... marvellous :-) Good value for the money.

Didn`t have my reservation on arrival... but had free room, so it was sorted out straight away. Cold colours of the room, tiles on the floor, but nothing too bad really.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HoZso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston UK
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2009

We arrived in Skopje with no hotel booked. The Holiday Inn wanted 142 euros! I looked on tripadvisor and saw the good reviews for the Mramor. I got one of their larger rooms for 37 euros so I saved more than 100! The Mramor is 3km outside the city centre but a taxi was only 3 euros. The rooms are large and clean. Once again very helpful, english speaking reception staff who were delighted to help in any way they could. This hotel is a really good option. The surrounding area is not particularly nice but our taxi driver was happy to come and collect us on each occasion.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vermeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2009

Stayed at this hotel on two occasions in July 2009. The first occasion was for two nights as part of a road trip around the Balkans; the second occasion was prior to departing Macedonia via the airport.

This hotel is perfect for exploring Skopje; it's located about 10 mins by taxi from the City Centre, so is far cheaper than staying somewhere central.

Hotel Mramor is located in a quiet residential street with plenty of parking. Staff are very welcoming and helpful and will do everything to make your stay comfortable. Breakfast is very basic and you will have to make your own arrangements for evening meals (there are a few eateries - pizza, fish, grills etc) within 5 minutes walk of the hotel which are great value for money - I spent about £5 for two meals and a few drinks, which I thought was really cheap.

Highly recommended hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Haven123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2007

I just returned from 15-days travel and eight different hotels in Ancient Macedonia - and this one stands out positively a head-above the rest mainly due to the very friendly, helpful, and nice front desk staff. My stay here greatly exceeded expectation and was a joy.

The property is circa six years old and a 15-minute (2.5 km) taxi ride from the center of Skopje; but given the cheapness of taxis (150 local currency) and large taxi rank near the hotel, this was not an issue.

Located within a residential area; though close to shops and restaurants and services. I was pleasantly surprised at how well English was spoken by the locals.

I recall in addition to advertised wireless internet they had a PC with internet access for use by guests.

  • Liked — Very friendly, helpful, and nice staff.
  • Disliked — The rough Bathroom towels.
  • Stayed June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Finrep001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2007

Short taxi ride from centre (£1.50/$3).
Very good value (50/70/100 euro's - single, double, triple).
Excellent staff could deal with any enquiry.
Any trips organised.
Nice fish restaurant a short distance away.
Free internet.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Swansonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skopje hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel Aristocrat & Fish Restaurant
2.2 mi away
Hotel Vlaho
Hotel Vlaho
#15 of 71 in Skopje
63 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Arka
Hotel Arka
#22 of 71 in Skopje
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hotel De KOKA
Hotel De KOKA
#8 of 71 in Skopje
190 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Leonardo
Hotel Leonardo
#19 of 71 in Skopje
64 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Skopje
Hotel Skopje
#36 of 71 in Skopje
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mramor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mramor

Property: Hotel Mramor
Address: Klenoec 11a, Skopje 1000, Republic of Macedonia
Region: Republic of Macedonia > Skopje Region > Skopje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 71 Hotels in Skopje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mramor 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mramor" was built in 1995 in Skopje, the capital of Republic of Macedonia, in the immediate vicinity of the River Vardar meaning that the guests have a wonderful scenic view of the slopes of the mountain Vodno, clean air and peaceful sleep far away from the city clamor. Our Motto: "The guests are our priority, and their contentment - our best recommendation." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mramor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing