We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Imperial, Skopje”
Review of Hotel Imperial

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Imperial
Ranked #47 of 71 Hotels in Skopje
Reviewed 2 September 2012

This is a good hotel that is well worth a stay when seeing the sights of Skopje. It is quite a way out of town and certainly is not walk-able during the very hot summer, but a taxi only costs 120 denar (about £1.50), so it makes little dent in the cost of the break. The hotel itself is in a quiet residential area on the hill towards Mount Vodno and is therefore very quiet. Staff are very friendly and accommodating and the rooms, whilst slightly dated in decor, are clean, spacious and more than functional. The balcony that we had was fantastic, with a panoramic view over the city.

There was a varied breakfast on offer with great coffee (always judge a hotel breakfast by its coffee is my motto), and a range of cereals, bread, meats and cheeses, honey, spreads, etc.

The pool, whilst small, is refreshingly cool and a great way to redress the balance after walking the hot and dry streets in the middle of summer!

It is reasonably priced and is a great little place to stay when exploring Skopje and the surrounding area. Don't forget to visit Lake Matka when in Skopje- a 30 minute journey out of town but well worth it!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor facing Hotel Sun- gives you a great view of the city!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M_1889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (20)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 20 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2012

We were a group of 8 people who had come over to Macedonia for a friends wedding. We struggled to find a hotel in Skopje that had both a swimming pool, and good reviews - but we found this place and were not disappointed.

The hotel is just outside the city centre, but a taxi to the main square takes 5 minutes at most and only costs approx £2 (130 Denars) so the location is not a problem. The fact that the hotel is outside the centre means it's much more peaceful!

We found the staff very friendly and helpful and they looked after us really well - even when one of our friends broke his bed! Every morning breakfast would be set out downstairs in the restaurant area with a variety of choice from cereal, toast, yogurts and fruit to cheeses, meats and make your own toasties!

The hotel was clean and very good for the standard of Macedonia. The pool is one of the few in Skopje and it's so hot you'll need it! Its not a huge pool, but it was big enough to house 8 adults playing volley ball, and was perfect to cool off in the sun. The only drawback was that they did not have any sun loungers when we visited, just table and chairs.

If you are visiting Skopje then this is safe choice. As I have said, it's not in the centre but it's so easy to get too it's not a problem. We had such a great time, having a pool really helped as did nice rooms and friendly staff. It would be really good for a family as the rooms have double and single beds and are very spacious with air conditioning. For a couple, the hotel is fine but it doesn't have the vibe of a boutique hotel (but not many hotels in Skopje would).

As a group we all are really keen to go back to Skopje, not only for the city but to stay at this hotel again as we had so much fun!!

We will be back next year!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KHatcher85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Excellent hotel with free WIFI and free laundry and large, comfortable rooms. My only lament would be to have a more varied breakfast. However, otherwise, it was near perfect.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mark V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2011

Basic hotel that was good value for money. Can't really complain much. Rooms were nice and spacious, pool was clean but not heated. Location was ideal for us and the surrounding area was really quiet.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BellaCay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2010

The hotel is nice, clean and big rooms and good locations. But the stuff is very rude. My husband and I were on business trip. We had very unpleasant experience with female stuff member . We intentionally asked for her name. Her name was Gordana Latinovik (I did not catch her last name), but she was very rude and barely spoke any English. Something was wrong with that woman and her attitude was horrible. My husband said we are never going back there.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bbbaby31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2010

Staff very friendly, good value for money. The room was big and clean. It is a long walk to the centre of Skopje but taxi cost less than 2 euros. Being away from the centre it means is quiet which is great. Swimming pool, was great to cool down!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aglover011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2009

I can racommend a few day stay. Very frindly staf. Big and comofrtable rooms

Stayed: December 2009, travelled on business
Thank KamilK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skopje hotels
1.3 mi away
Skopje Marriott Hotel
Skopje Marriott Hotel
#1 of 71 in Skopje
203 reviews
0.5 mi away
City Hostel Skopje
City Hostel Skopje
#32 of 79 in Skopje
59 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kapistec
Kapistec
#23 of 71 in Skopje
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel De KOKA
Hotel De KOKA
#10 of 71 in Skopje
205 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Leonardo
Hotel Leonardo
#19 of 71 in Skopje
69 reviews
1.2 mi away
Motel Le Village
Motel Le Village
#46 of 71 in Skopje
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Imperial

Address: Blagoja Gojan 24, Skopje 1000, Republic of Macedonia
Region: Republic of Macedonia > Skopje Region > Skopje
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 71 Hotels in Skopje
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Imperial 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Skopje

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing