We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family hotel”
Review of Hotel Skopje

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Skopje
Ranked #36 of 71 Hotels in Skopje
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Family hotel”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Not sure if it is a family hotel but it feels that way and everyone was friend and helpful to us. Was a wee bit out of the city centre but taxis only cost 100dr – just make sure they are going to Hotel Skopje not Hostel Skopje which is up on the mountain!
Rooms were clean and decent with AC – which is required for the heat of Macedonia. If I was going back to Macedonia I would book here once again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SmidgeTeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    10
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
1
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

This is a small hotel about 25 minutes walk from city centre. Did not notice any public transport options near the hotel but a taxi only cost 100 dinar. Hotel itself was clean and the rooms of a good size. Breakfast was good with staff only to happy cook up more if anything ran out. Staff were always very helpful with any queries.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scots1903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here when Wales played in Skopje. Perfect as less than a mile from the ground. Very warm welcome rooms basic but have everything you need. Shower room dated and needs modernising but clean and just about functional as far as the shower went. Free air conditioning. Good breakfast and willing to rustle up bits and pieces not already put out. Typical continental breakfast. Bar open all day, no restaurant but owners have a very good one down the road that you get 15% off in if you stay at hotel. Flight back was 5 in morning so did not book hotel for night of game, no problem storing our bags well beyond midnight.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank welshpeej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Small pleasant hotel, great staff and great location. Not the most modern but do you need that?
Have used it for nearly 8 years, always a great welcome and very obliging. Close to all amenities but out of the centre so quiet at night with plenty of local bars and restaurants.They have just opened a new restaurant a short walk away, very good food.

Room Tip: Ask for Jacuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Digger58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoorn, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

I was in Skopje for business and the booking in this hotel was made for me without my involvement. During the last few minutes of the drive to the hotel, we were moving away from the mean streets which caused my colleague and I to exchange expressing our thoughts.......there is no way that a business hotel will be in this area.
Upon arrival our initials fears became reality: a small hotel in a back street. The first impression of the lobby was: this is old and outdated, a feeling which was continued when I entered my room. I believe the best description was from my colleague who sent me a text message from his room. It said: Yikes!

However there are also good things to say about the hotel: It is cheap, clean, there is AC and free WiFi in the room but most of all, the staff is great! Very friendly and helpful.

So for people looking for value for money, this might be a good option.

If you are looking for a business like hotel, I would like to recommend that you look for something else. (which is also what I will do the next time)

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 100NightsPlus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2009

I wasn't sure what I'd booked when the taxi arrived at the hotel, as the entrance is down a side alley and not clearly signposted.
When I checked in and then got to my room, first impressions weren't great either, as room was basic and the first night I had I was kept awake by a noisy air conditioning unit. However, after mentioning this to the staff in the morning, they changed my room without fuss.
Breakfast was very informal, I was asked what I wanted and they brought it, you can't ask better than that!
As I was getting an early flight home, they arranged a breakfast package for me and also mmade me coffee and orange juice in the morning, which was really appreciated.
A quick tip re location, the hotel is a fair distance to the Old Town. However, a taxi is less than 1 Euro, as the walk is a good 20 minutes otherwise.
Overall, a nice little hotel, just don't expect to much and made better by the staff.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Passportstamp967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2009

You will get bed and breakfast, as this is the main purpose of this type of hotels. Especially in Skopje where more expensive hotels doesnt provide value for money. You will get nice clean room, not too spacy but acceptable with internet access and great stuff that will show you what Macedonian hospitality means :)

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goranbujic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skopje hotels
0.9 mi away
Kapistec
Kapistec
#21 of 71 in Skopje
60 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ibis Skopje City Center
1.2 mi away
Hotel De KOKA
Hotel De KOKA
#8 of 71 in Skopje
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Senigallia
Hotel Senigallia
#2 of 71 in Skopje
106 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Aristocrat & Fish Restaurant
1.2 mi away
Hotel Arka
Hotel Arka
#22 of 71 in Skopje
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Skopje? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Skopje

Property: Hotel Skopje
Address: St Anton Dukov 27, Skopje 1000, Republic of Macedonia
Region: Republic of Macedonia > Skopje Region > Skopje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 71 Hotels in Skopje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms in hotel Skopje have the following equipment: central elevator for the whole hotel, bathroom with shower or Jacuzzi bath, climate device, cable television and wi fi - free of charge ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Skopje reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skopski Merak Skopje

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing