We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must be 3 stars instead 4 stars”
Review of Continental

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Continental
Ranked #54 of 68 Hotels in Skopje
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Must be 3 stars instead 4 stars”
Reviewed 7 October 2010

Problems with the lift.2 days without acess 2 floor

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank José S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    24
    29
    26
    39
See reviews for
5
17
13
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2010

Anyone who has had a positive experience here is a fortunate person. Our two week stay has been horrible!
Where do I start? Here with a youth sports team (females 15-16 years old) for a large international tournament. I arrived one day early and given the information I had read and heard about the hotel, asked to see all the rooms for our group. We were on the 8th floor, which I knew was bad news to begin. After checking all rooms I found that 8 of 10 had at least one problem in the bathroom, some with shower, toilet and sink! Also the beds were very old, many with springs poking out.
In my room the toilet would not flush, cold tap in the bathroom would not work and the tap for the hot water in the shower came off. After speaking with front desk I was told someone would come and look at it. They sent a 'porter' up to take a look, not a person with any technical ability. He was as helpful as possible (one of the few at this place), but could not fix it and told me he would go down and talk to them. One hour later no contact, so I go back to the desk and they ask me how things went, pretending that the guy had not been back. Got nowhere on the first day despite 2-3 hours of trying. The manager left for the day without speaking to me, knowing there was a problem.
Next morning before the team arrived I try again, this time the manager comes to have a look at the rooms (after I gave them a written list of all the problems). After a couple of rooms she made the classic comment "You expect too much". Of course I politely let her know that it is not too much to ask for toilets and showers that work.....
So she moved us down one floor to rooms 701-710. These were better, with newer beds and less plumbing problems, They still had to send someone to put new shower heads on in many rooms (this guy was great, very helpful....probably should run the place!).
We had further plumbing problems as the tournament went along, some toilets would not stop running (was told they are very old!), in another bathroom the roof started leaking and it took several hours to get any help and the problem fixed.
As some people wrote in earlier reviews, the upper floors have not been renovated. 7 has not been fully, but at least the beds were ok. Not sure to what level they have renovated, but nothing had been done to our 10 rooms on level 8.
On 7 we had some internet, but not to all rooms, the further from the stairs/lift the worse it got).
Then there is the food. Half our team had health problems, and talking with other teams most had at least a couple of people get sick. The health department turned up with about 4 days to go and closed the kitchen, so all food had to be brought in from outside. Either way the food was bad, often cold. Perhaps it is better for people ordering off a menu, or not in such big groups, but for us it was shameful.
The cleaning staff have no idea of privacy either. Two times they walked into my room without knocking. From this point I kept my Do Not Disturb sign on at all times, yet three times while I was away from the room they came in and replaced towels.
Location is not the best, fair walk to anything interesting, but at least taxis are cheap. There is a great vegetarian restaurant (Harmonija) not too far away (20 minute walk), see my review in the Skopje section.
There is no excuse for the problems, the hotel had been booked for the 16 teams (around 16 people for each country!) at least 6-8 weeks before we arrived.
Should be renamed to 'Hotel Incontinent'.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OzCoupleBandB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Skopje hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
london
Level Contributor
94 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2010

hardened travellers of eastern europe will find this quite palatable and comfortable, if not really a business hotel cant really imagine working in the rooms for example , a clean and comfortable place to sleep if nothing else

staff were ok and helpful with various things

have to agree in large does with the review of 'rpignat' lower down the page, i couldnt put his descriptions better myself so i recommend his review wholeheartedly especially the soviet style bar areas with big pimp daddy leather sofas, lovely to sink into them quaff a cognac and take yourself on an imaginative time journey of the mind

on the other hand if your travel usually takes you to continentals prefaced by the word 'inter' you will be horrified im sure

PS
as usual for this part of the world totally disregard the number of stars the hotel claims or at least divide by 3 or 4

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IRBaboonLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Channel Islands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2010

I had this misfortune of staying at this hotel for 3 nights recently. The hotel was probably nice at one time with some nice features, but there has been no investement for a long, long, long time and it really should be pulled down now. The first room I was offered was terrible - I only got offered a better room once I agreed to stay the full 3 nights and to be honest, by a better room I mean this one didn't have holes in the sheets (but it did have big holes in the curtains), and did have a broken toilet, broken shower, a bath with no enamel it was so old and constant noise from the motorway as the windows are useless. That's about as good as it gets. What made this all more unbearable was the attitude of the staff at reception - they couldn't care less. When I made a simple request for an Iron to iron a shirt, I was told it was impossible as I ran the risk of burning the hotel down.....hmmmm, let's not even go there! The food in the restaurant was pretty good and only one lady in the restaurant was friendly - that's It!!. Breakfast was terrible.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scotch-on-the-Rock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubrovnik, Croatia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2010

I took my clients to this hotel and realy embarassed myself. The rooms were noisy, very dirty, have not been refurbished in decades for sure. I found dirty socks behind the a/c and a ton of dirt. Avoid this place, since Macedonia is such a paradize, so you dont wanna spoil the exprience with such a rip off hotel.

ps the service is not that good either.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mir17ja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
246 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2009

Stayed there for a business trip in September 2009.

The first room I got on the 11th floor was terrible - window did not close, camping beds with holes in the sheets, toilets broken, no wireless ... A colleague told me that they were (slowly) renovating the building and that rooms on floors 2-6 were more 'modern'. I asked to change rooms (they accepted reluctantly) and got another room on 4th floor, which was indeed acceptable.

Breakfast is ok, dinner is simple but ok (no choice - fixed meal dinner). The building is ugly, next to a sort of highway (noisy rooms) and far from the center. Try to avoid this hotel, there are better ones in town.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank makapon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 October 2009

It was my second stay in Skopje but my first at the Continental, The first time I stayed at the Ambassador in the center, 50€ "special price" and it was a ripoff.
The continental is outside the city center, on the way to the airport, 20' walk or 5' by taxi. there are always taxis outside and everywhere you go costs around 60 denars (1€). Taxi drivers don't usually overcharge, they have meters and will give you a receipt.
ok, the hotel: the hotel is a classic, but you have to bear in mind where you are and what to expect or demand.
If you are looking for a full western/american/sterilized experience, go to the Big western or the Holiday inn, they are really close to McDonald's too so you'll feel at home all the way.

The Continental keeps that soviet mystique, the big foyer, the mirror walls, an amazing single piece concrete staircase, the bar.. the amazing bar with the glass works and glass chandeliers dripping from the ceiling, surrounded by these massive black leather sofas placed around small tables. Black wooden wall with lamps here and there, white stone floors and massive windows on the sides give this lounge an incredible atmosphere.

Breakfast is plain but eficient (eggs, self-toast-toast, cereals, coffee, juice and so on), if you're lavishing for those 32 types of fruit breakfast go to Brazil not Macedonia. Waiters are friendly and helpful.
The rooms are plain, big windows that actually open, some signs of age specially in the toilet, air conditioned, but overall comfortable. How much time do you spend in your bedroom anyway?
Front desk service is "bureaucratic", I read in a previous review, yes it is, but no more than in any other hotel. Apart from that they were amazingly helpful and friendly.

Other things, there is free wireless in rooms up until the 4th floor and the bar closes at 10pm, so if you were thinking in having that late night drink before going to bed, have it in town or have them fill the mini bar on your arrival, because there is nothing close that is open late.

Apart from that, loved it. If you go try and go up those concrete stairs from the ground floor to the 1st floor, there you will find an amazing selection of "abandoned" conference rooms and bars, all in that amazing soviet style, full of atmosphere and nostalgia. Sit down, have a cigarette and a drink (bring it from the bar downstairs) and imagine the place 30years ago, when it was probably The hotel in Skopje where people would have meetings and go for business dinners. If you are a sucker for eastern block's details, I'm sure you will love it.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rpignat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skopje hotels
1.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Turist
1.2 mi away
Alexandar Square Boutique Hotel
0.7 mi away
BH Hotel Hamburg
BH Hotel Hamburg
#21 of 68 in Skopje
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
TCC Grand Plaza Hotel
TCC Grand Plaza Hotel
#27 of 68 in Skopje
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel De KOKA
Hotel De KOKA
#9 of 68 in Skopje
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Glam
Hotel Glam
#33 of 68 in Skopje
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continental

Property: Continental
Address: Aleksandar Makedonski bb, Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
Region: Republic of Macedonia > Skopje Region > Skopje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Skopje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Continental 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Hotel Skopje

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing