We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special at all”
Review of Karpos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Karpos
Ranked #40 of 72 Hotels in Skopje
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Stayed here on business therefore this hotel was not my choice. Some evaluations I found on the internet were scary others reported about a decent hotel. Truly must declare not as bad as it seems at first glance. Definitely not!
Hotel staff is nice, some even speak English,
Personally I had to change my room because the box where room card needs to be put for electricity gave strange noise which was annoying.
The beds are comfortable, rooms big & quite clean. The best thing at the place is the wifi (even viber works perfectly).
However, one of the weak points is the catering. The breakfast is just average (f.i. no toaster available), very limited range of food which are not or rarely filled up.
The food served at the restaurant is better, but this is only average.
If you choose to stay here, make sure you eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Krisztina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2013

Hotel Karpos is a decent hotel in Skopje. All members of staff were kind and helpful.

In terms of accommodation, it is very comfortable. The room assigned to me was large, and it had all the amenities that I expected, including a refrigerator, TV (but no international channels in English), plus free wifi. The bed and the bathroom were spotlessly clean. The one drawback was a slight hissing sound originating from the power slot next to the door, where the card is placed to switch on the electricity power in the room.

The downside to this hotel is the distance to the centre of the city (about half an hour on foot), particularly if one is reluctant to catch a bus or fetch a taxi.

This hotel was the venue where a seminar was held. Unfortunately, the number of persons participating at this meeting was far too large, considering the size of the meeting room. Ideally, the hotel should establish a maximum number of persons who can be accommodated at the meeting room, and it should decline to accept bookings for large numbers. Apart from this, lunch was varied, and the self-service buffet arrangement allowed for many of us to eat quickly.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mario F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Just back from a business trip to Skopje and stayed at the Kapos Hotel. It is about two kilometres outside the centre and Macedonia square. The hotel is listed as a four star which is a little optimistic but it is clean and comfortable with good beds, essential if you are travelling on business. Very good breakfast with plenty of variety.
TIP; don't bother eating in the hotel in the evening book a taxi to the centre and try one of the many restaurants there, a taxi should only cost you 1.5 Euro so enjoy.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Hotel Karpos for one night and I must admit I've never been in such ugly hotel. First of all the man at the front desk was not polite at all and he was chewing something while he was talking. 100 euro for what? They are over rated! The room was old and dirty , the carpet hasn't been cleaned in ages and slippers were not provided aswell. Cracks in the wall, dust,spots on the pillows.... I would never recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MARIAKBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

It has big ,comfortable and clean rooms.. Quite noisy though, not very hot water and the bath tub out of service (almost broken)...People are gentle and willing to assist the guests... The breakfast is decent. Recomended for short term accomodation

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandros K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Situated approx 2 km from the center it's location is ok for business. The rooms are clean and well equiped but not special. You have what you need but that's it. In my opinion there is no "special private touch", but for me it is OK; The breakfast is ok and you have a wide choice, but nothing special. I didn't try their restaurant but in the environment there a lot of excellent opportunities. The people in the hotel are helpful, friendly and polite

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johan51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

The hotel is situated some 2 km out of the centre of Skopje, next to the main road in a residential neighborhood, so you cannot expect an astonishing scenery when looking out of the window. As a smoker, I appreciated that there are some rooms for smokers in the hotel. My room was quite large with semicircle window wall and terrace. I liked it very much. What I liked less was the early ´90 "luxury" outlook of the room, wallpapaers dirty from a dust coming out of noisy A/C which woke me up several times every night. The hotel definetely needs substantial renewal. I have nothing to say against cleaning service as well as front desk staff - they both worked professionally. But still, taking into account the look of the hotel, I must conclude that as it is now it is definetely not worth even half of the price they charge their guests.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valdezCZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skopje hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Aristocrat & Fish Restaurant
1.2 mi away
Solun Hotel & SPA
Solun Hotel & SPA
#10 of 72 in Skopje
204 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bushi Resort & Spa
Bushi Resort & Spa
#8 of 72 in Skopje
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel De KOKA
Hotel De KOKA
#9 of 72 in Skopje
219 reviews
1.2 mi away
Skopje Marriott Hotel
Skopje Marriott Hotel
#1 of 72 in Skopje
233 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Arka
Hotel Arka
#23 of 72 in Skopje
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karpos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karpos

Address: Sekspirova bb, Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
Region: Republic of Macedonia > Skopje Region > Skopje
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 72 Hotels in Skopje
Price Range: £39 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Karpos 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Karpos is a four-star hotel with 59 spacious rooms and suites. All rooms have self control air conditioning, direct telephone line, internet access, fire protection system, mini bar, coffee/tea facilities, satellite TV, bath and hairdryer. The hotel has restaurant, two conference rooms, fitness center/sauna and underground parking garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Karpos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing