We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit expensive for these facilities and the country”
Review of Stone Bridge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Stone Bridge
Ranked #24 of 70 Hotels in Skopje
Haro, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A little bit expensive for these facilities and the country”
Reviewed 22 June 2011

Generally, the hotel, service and the restaurant are good, but there are details that deducts points. For instance, if you try to book the hotel from the travel agency, it will be more expensive that from booking. I was paying more than one week a higher price, when there are other good hotels and cheaper in the city. After complaining about the price, hotel staff told me to book the room for the next week from booking. besides, the furniture are a bit old for a 5star hotel and the location is good, close to the center, but also close to the stone bridge where albanian children are usually asking for money to foreign people, and sometimes trying to stole.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank txejolabas_rioja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    35
    31
    14
    4
See reviews for
9
30
12
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

FOOD WAS GREAT! ROOM WAS LOVELY< STAFF ARE EXELLENT!!
I would just like to say thank you, on behalf of my family and I :)

We had a fantastic time on holiday to the stonebridge hotel, coventry
You ALL really made our holiday!!

Thanks to our requests,
we couldnt have been treated any better. :)
They were all fullfilled.

Your Hotel, makes ALL their guests feel very special!

We appreciated the staffs DEDICATION AND HARD WORK!
into making ours and other holiday makers, a most memorable occasion.


The kindness that they show is outstanding!
and NOTHING is too much!
We have very special memories to keep.

Thank you very Kindly
for all your effort in making this holiday trouble free
and all your thoughtfullness................
will not be forgotten.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moomin095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2011

Considering other hotels I have visited in Post-Yugoslav countries, this is actually not that bad.

I stayed in hotel Stone Bridge for one night in May 2011, and it was, overall a pleasant experience.

Priced at 85 Euros, the room wasn't expensive. The location is as central as it gets in Skopje, which may be an important consideration considering how small the city center is and how run down all other districts are.

The hotel is a modern building surrounded by new constructions in their final stages. With the exception of screaming workers at 8AM, this wasn't bothersome. The hotel has sufficient parking at the entrance.

Service is not perfect, this is a poor post communist country, and it shows. I saw a party heavily debating their room charges in the morning, it seemed that the reception wasn't particularly proactive about trying to settle the debate.

The deco of the hotel and the rooms is just about 5* worthy, certainly better than expected. The rooms are well sized, have a well stocked MiniBar, Kingsize bed and Safe. The only truly negative point was the über-ridiculous pseudo-hightech shower cabin that was too small for me by height (1m92) and completely dysfunctional.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexeikarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
285 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

This hotel is dead in the centre of town, right at the historic stone bridge and located right at the old town, which is the most charming part of Skopje.

The check in was friendly and efficient and the bell staff were very helpful. The hotel is old school inside, it is all crushed velvet and marble, almost from another era, but in a more recent building.

The room was comfortable, the bed was great and we had a view of the Kale fortress. The bathroom was excellent and clean.

The AC was difficult to operate and it was a little warm. We came home from dinner and it was very cool in the room and we had to then turn it off.

If I were to return to Skopje, this is where I would stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Feyenoorder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worcs
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2010

we toured the country and this was the last and most expensive hotel we stayed in.Claims to be 5 star.Currently completely surrounded by building sites.We arrived after a long journey and tried to have a bath.No hot water.We rang reception and they said it would be fixed.Eventually we insisted they came to our room to check for themselves,as they said the hot water was working.They then said one of there four boilers was broken.When we checked out(still not having had a bath or shower)we asked for a reduction to the bill.The receptionist said they did not have the authority but would speak to the manager and make an adjustment on our credit card.They have not and did not respond to chase up e mails even though they were very quick to respond when we initially booked the hotel!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank patbrownett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2010

Very bizzare hotel, very low quality, kind of shady, but all in all not more then a 2 star hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moncic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Skopje hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Langhorne, PA
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2009

I recently spent a single night at the Stone Bridge Hotel. We read that it was a beautiful hotel and indeed it is. the building is an old bank according to the staff there. The hotel is clearly geared towards business travelers and those on expense accounts in my opinion. It is elegant and well appointed, but not a "cozy" hotel.
there is a small pool and weight room in the basement, but both looked completely unused. The hotel offers a gift shop and a bake shop on premises but very high end.
Its location is at the end of the Stone Bridge at the end of Skopje's main square, so its location can't be beat for a central city visit. There are nice views of the Kale, or fort overlooking the city and of the bridge too. The pictures in my review were taken from the upper floor breakfast room. The breakfast was nice as well. The service was very helpful and English was flawless from the staff.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank relambjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skopje hotels
0.3 mi away
Solun Hotel & SPA
Solun Hotel & SPA
#7 of 70 in Skopje
190 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alexandar Square Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Opera House Hotel
Opera House Hotel
#27 of 70 in Skopje
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Senigallia
Hotel Senigallia
#2 of 70 in Skopje
101 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Duvet
Hotel Duvet
#17 of 70 in Skopje
84 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Skopje City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Bridge

Property: Stone Bridge
Address: Kej Dimitar Vlahov 1, Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
Region: Republic of Macedonia > Skopje Region > Skopje
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Skopje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Stone Bridge 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experiencing unforgettable moments and pleasure, in the mix of the cultures from the Orient, Mediterranean, Balkan and Europe, is the privilege to experience the unique Stone Bridge Hotel. Superiorly authentic, in the heart of the city, where the past meets the present and the tradition touches the contemporary living. With its sophisticated architectural and designer appearance, aristocrat gracefulness and luxury it has achieved the right of the expression - the pride of Skopje. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Stone Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone Bridge Skopje
Stone Bridge Hotel Skopje

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing